Unique Colorado Style Log Cabin - Amazing Views, Hot Tub,...

4 br West Jefferson Cabin


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Cabin

Bed/Bath:  4 / 3

Sleeps:  10

Pets:  Yes

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$295 - $310 per night

$1,770 - $2,100 per week

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Unique Colorado Style Log Cabin - Amazing Views, Hot Tub, Totally Private

"ABOVE THE REST"

? 5 Minutes to Three Top Creek and Buffalo Creek for Trout Fishing

? 15 minutes to West Jefferson

? 20 minutes to Todd NC

? 35 minutes to Boone

? Hiking Trails on Property

Love to feel on top of it all? Then you?ll love ?Above the Rest? situated high in the North Carolina Mountains. Appreciate the beauty of this totally private, unspoiled retreat surrounded by thousands of acres in preservation with wooded trails that beckon for a hike or picnic. This remarkable log cabin offers you a premium location within minutes of Todd, West Jefferson, Boone and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Spend your day fishing the nearby stocked trout stream. Explore the High Country and all its recreational and cultural pleasures. Take a stroll through nearby West Jefferson with unique boutiques, shops, galleries and restaurants. Or head to historic Todd famous for its mountain music, storytelling and scenic bicycle route. Winding throughout the area also is the New River, go canoeing, kayaking or tubing; rentals are available or bring your own. There are so many opportunities available to enjoy your vacation and the area.
The winding drive through gleaming hardwoods along the bold creek welcomes you to the vacation of a lifetime. From the moment you arrive you?ll be captivated by this rare property and beautifully crafted log home with luxury throughout. On the main level you?ll be in awe over the two story great room with floor to ceiling stone fireplace, massive beams with architecture splendor, wrap around windows that highlight the mountain scenery and double doors that lead to the oversized deck. You?ll enjoy the sun sprinkled deck where you can end the eventful day gazing at the mountain or rejuvenating after a long day of play in the hot tub. There is also a kitchenette with fridge, cook top and charcoal grill if you prefer an outdoor BBQ. Or create your meals inside in the gourmet kitchen with all its amenities. Here you?ll find a gas cook top, wall oven, warming oven, bar seating and a sunny dining room large enough for all your family and friends. The spaciousness makes this the perfect venue for large gatherings. The main level also features two bedrooms each with a cozy queen size bed and separate full size bathroom.
On the upper level you?ll find the master suite with king size bed for pure relaxing comfort, private balcony and lavish full bath with tiled walk in shower, heated ceramic tile flooring and jetted tub. Adjacent to the master suite is a separate loft area for those lazy days when you just want to curl up with a good book.
The lower level features a bedroom with queen size bed, separate full size bath and media /game room. Take advantage of the media room with TV and DVD player, kid size game table with foosball and air hockey and a comfy sleeper sofa for guest overflow.
PLEASE NOTE STEEP AND WINDING DRIVE, RECOMMEND 4WD OR FRONT WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLES ONLY, NOT RECOMMENDED FOR MINI-VANS, SPORTS CAR OR LOW TO GROUND VEHICLES. WINTER MONTHS 4WD ONLY

If you love nature?s beauty get away to this sprawling four bedroom, three bath home with unmatched amenities, hidden in the woods with long range mountain views and conveniently located to Todd, West Jefferson and Boone.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 2 Queen, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Full

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Entertainment: DVD Player, Satellite TV, Premium Movie Channels
* Geographic: Secluded, Close to West Jefferson
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Toaster, Dishwasher
* Living: Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Sun Deck, Covered Porch, Rocking Chairs, Outdoor Furniture, Fireplace - Wood Burning, Local Phone, Hot Tub, Charcoal Grill, Wi-Fi Internet, Pack and Play (No Linens), High Chair
* Outdoor: BBQ Grill, Hot Tub, Covered Porch

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/26/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Air Conditioning
  • ·Charcoal Grill
  • ·High Chair
  • ·Full Kitchen
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Phone
  • ·Toaster
Activites
  • ·Fishing
  • ·Hiking
  • ·River
 
Property Reviews 
A wonderful retreat in the woods
Elizabeth S. from Nashville, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
Spent one week with our family of five, including three kids under five, and a weekend with some extended family. Had a great time walking on the property, hiking in the surrounding area, and enjoying West Jefferson. Quiet, clean, peaceful, and altogether enjoyable. The hot tub was icing on the cake. Had to contact management once or twice with a question/concern, and they were VERY responsive and so easy to work with. Will definitely rent with them again in the future.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Summer time Vacation
A guest from Boca Raton, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
The log cabin style house is beautiful and well built. It is very remote and you are about 30 minutes away from any grocery store or restaurants. Overall, it was very peaceful and enjoyable, but I was surprised for the amount I paid for the week, that the towels/linens were so cheap and the pots, pans, glasses in the kitchen were all mismatched. Other than that, we had a good time!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
The closest grocery stores are in downtown West Jefferson, there is Lowes Foods, Food Lion, Super Walmart and Ingles. 8 miles from the cabin or about 15 minute drive. All this information is provided in the information binder located at the property. We're always glad to make recommendations and suggestions, just call us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

mediocre at best
A guest from Raeford, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014
The town that the cabin was located in was not that desireable. With the types of vacation rentals available I would not pick this one again for multiple reasons. The company was great to deal with, very prompt and helpful. The cabin itself, was not convenient. I had to do my own laundry and take my garbage with me or I would have to pay $10 a load for laundry. I have never had to do this. The master bedroom was nice, except that the bathroom did not have a door on it, and the toilet was right at the entryway. The shower leaked into the bedroom underneath. The extra bedrooms in the cabin didn't have walls that connected to the ceiling so, you either listened to people in the bathroom, the entryway, living room, or kitchen. Just not the greatest getaway. I wouls stay somewhere else.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome property! Recommended to everyone I know!!!!!!!!!!!
Aaron B. from Huntersville, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2014
Beautiful views, gorgeous home and perfect location!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fantastic Vacation
Dakota L. from Matthews, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in January, 2014
Above the Rest was a beautiful cabin to stay at for our weekend getaway. We were a little far away from the ski resort, but we knew this ahead of time and were okay with it! The house itself is just absolutely beautiful. The kitchen was fully stocked (appliance wise), we made a huge meal the first night we were there. The views are breath taking, you feel as if your in a story book inside and outside the house! To anyone who is going during winter you are going to need a 4x4 or chains, we rented a 4x4 and thank goodness we did because we had a friend who had to park their car half way up the driveway because it wouldn't make it in the winter conditions. The property manager was great while booking and even the house keeper was so nice, she lead us down the mountain a faster way so we could grocery shop. We had a great time in this stunning cabin and would recommend it to anyone.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Above the Rest
A guest from Chapel Hill, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2013
Great experience in the mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Above the Rest
A guest from chattanooga, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2013
Very nice cabin with all the conveniences of home, great kitchen. Very secluded and quiet. The back up batteries were missing out of the CO2 detector and a couple of the smoke alarms as well as the TV remote in the kitchen. May have been the timing as we stayed on the time change weekend. The driveway is very steep and curvey at the top and loose gravel so even in good weather you need decent tires but its worth the trip. One of the main floor bed frame legs had been taped with painters tape and came undone but was still a usable bed. Beds were comfortable.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
Thanks for the feedback, all batteries have been replaced and bed frame is being replaced this week.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Above The Rest
Anita B. from Danville, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
It is a beautiful property rental. Breath taking. If there was a TV in the other Bedrooms it would have added the icing on the cake. Enjoyed our stay and would go back with out a doubt.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Gorgeous Cabin
gail m. from jacksonville, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
The cabin was very clean and absolutely gorgeous! Extremely private area. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is your place. The driveway was scary and steep (i recommend a 4 wheel drive). Trash carry off was annoying. Wish all the bedrooms had TVs and locks on the doors. But overall this house was amazing!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
Front Wheel Drive, Four Wheel Drive, All Wheel Drive Vehicles Recommended for Parking at the House. There's an additional, level parking space at beginning of driveway if you need to shuttle up and down. Sports Cars and Mini Vans may have some difficulty.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Great Experience---But Know What You're Getting
A guest from Greensboro, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013
This is a lovely, immaculate home--well-built, decorated, and it has all the features (amazing kitchen) you'll ever need. And if your vacation is primarily to "get away from it all," it's perfect: okay view (removal of about 10 trees for firewood would make it even better) , quiet, nice waterfall on property. BUT-- if you're looking for a place that's a reasonable distance to civilization, you may want to consider somewhere else. This place is WAY out there (about 15-20 mins from W. Jefferson, 35 mins from Boone.) There are four ways to get there, two of which involve unpaved, gravel roads, all of which involve narrow, winding roads on which you can only travel 30 MPH or less. Yes, I know it's Ashe County. (I've rented property in Ashe County 4 times before!) I also respect the fact some people like this sort of thing. We, however, like to go into town frequently to watch movies, shop, eat out, etc. Also--you need AWD or FWD to get up the long, winding gravel road/driveway. There has been a lot of rain, the gravel's loose and our Toyota Prius BARELY made it up. The wheels were spinning on the rocks so much I ended up gunning it to get to the house. In fact, we parked the car all week b/c we were afraid of the road. Thank goodness our other car was FWD! Also, take bug repellant with you. The summer mosquitoes about carried us off the deck. HOWEVER--we had a great time, enjoyed the home, and will probably go back---but probably for a long weekend---in the fall.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful Property
A guest from New York, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2013
Location is in quiet, remote location. Property is clean and ample space. The view is also very nice. Great place to relax.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Retreat
A guest from Winston Salem, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013
A lovely oasis in the mountains. Waterfalls along the driveway, beautiful, large cabin, and great view of mountain. And the hot tub is the icing on the cake.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful stay
Anna G. from Bluffton, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013
We stayed in the cabin during a weekend in July. It's very impressive upon entering, with heavy wooden log construction. Aside from 4 bedrooms, the main living areas are generously proportioned and so the house easily accommodated a family of 7 adults. It felt like staying in an enchanted tree house and the property was lovely and secluded. Some notes: a house large enough for 13 people should have a dinner table that accommodates more than 4. The 4 chairs at the bar means sitting with your back to the rest which is fine for an informal setting but I find this unacceptable in a formal dinner setting. A similar situation occurs in the great room which contains one sofa and two chairs barely seating 5. It feels in that sense that the group is encouraged to disperse to different parts of the house which defeats the purpose of spending time together as a family. So be sure to bring folding chairs if you want to sit with a larger group! Also, don't underestimate the steepness of the driveway leading to the cabin from the road as well as the effect of the altitude at 3000 ft. We live near the ocean so the change in altitude made us all a bit light-headed. But enough of my musings... all in all we had a great time!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Independence Day retreat
A guest from Chesapeake, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2013
The cabin was beautiful and just what our family was looking for to getaway for the holiday. The property manager was great and any questions or concerns we had about the property were handled promptly and very professionally which will lead us to use this property manager company again for another family vacation. The only concern was the home stero system which was advertised so much and apparently had been damaged and disconnected for some time which was still advertised in the property and once we got there found out it was out of service. The property manager was kind to offer a slight discount to make up for the misrepresentation and it was only a slight downfall for our vacation as we were looking forward to enjoying music during cooking out etc in the cabin but we purchased a small stero to replace for our stay. Overall it was beautiful and just what our family needed, being that we are all military we wanted to escape for the holiday and be able to reset and recharge and this cabin and setting gave us just that and more as we were able to see the sights and do alot of outdoor adventures that were close by in the local communities. Our family would recommend this propery manager company again and we are already considering staying again at a similar propery for the winter months.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family Time
Marcia W. from Stoneville, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2013
We had the most wonderful time together as a family. The cabin is amazing. The view, the hottub, the snow, the heated floors, the kitchen, etc. Could not have ask for anything more. We all agreed that we want to come back again next year. It was so nice to drop out of the real world and have time to relax.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice Place for family vacations
A guest from miami, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in January, 2013
In General, the cabin was great. beautiful memories.The only suggestion: Have a hair blow-dry for guest. Thank you.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Cabin w/Great Views
John D. from Concord, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2012
This was our first cabin rental in Boone area and we were not let down. The place was beautiful, well appointed and the ammenities were fantastic. We are already looking forward to next years trip. Prop Mgmt company was great deal with.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The comfortable floor plan..
joan g. from Chapel Hill, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2012
We appreciated the rental schedule which allowed our family to celebrate being together as a family the days that the children were out of school and adults were off of work for the Thanksgiving holiday.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Novemeber 16, 2012
Joyce W. from Franklinton, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2012
The house was awsome,we really loved the large fully equiped kitchen, and the large deck on the back. Everything was beautiful! We would for sure rent this one again. Jerrita was very helpful, we rented from her before and would use her again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

wonderful million dollar cabin
Sheila B. from Wake Forest, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
This place was absolutely fabulous!!!! Beautifully furnished, very secluded. Hot tub was so nice, kitchen very well stocked, comfy beds. What else can I say. It was the perfect getaway home and I am very particular!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Relaxing
Karen M. from Lexington, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2012
The cabin is beautiful and had a wonderful layout for the 6 of us. The kitchen was well stocked for our cooking needs. It would have been nice to have 6 chairs at the kitchen table instead of 4, but we worked around it.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great way to beat the heat
A guest from Cornelius, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2012
My husband and I were looking to escape the city heat and we did it "Above the Rest". Great house, great location, no problem with the driveway. Very private and the house is the nicest cabin we have ever stayed in.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Love this place!
A guest from Winston-Salem, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2012
This was our second visit to this property and it was again fantastic. Beautiful home, very secluded. Awesome kitchen for cooking. Only downside was this year the stereo system was not functioning.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
Surround system has been removed, it was such a difficult system for vacationers to work we had not choice. We hope to have another one installed soon.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Gorgeous Log Cabin
A guest from Leonardtown, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2012
Overall, our stay was awesome! We can see how the steep and winding driveway could be a concern and possibly intimidating for some renters ... definitely recommend 4WD. The cabin itself has a luxurious ambiance. It is quite roomy and very well-equipped. Hot Tub on the deck is awesome as well. For folks not familiar with the area, recommend not relying on GPS ... you will find yourself on very narrow and winding roads that can be interesting to navigate. Once familiar with the area, we found amentities very convenient. The entire area is filled with very picturesque views of the mountain ranges!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Tranquility
Larry D. from Wilmington, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2012
Beautiful property that we will surely visit again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

McMullen
Jonathan M. from Mooresville, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in December, 2011
Wonderful! Thank you so much. Particularly loved the very fictional kitchen.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mountain Weekend
A guest from TBD, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2011
This property is BEAUTIFUL, and Jerrita was a pleasure to work with. Unfortunately the hot tub was broken for our entire stay, and the stereo & TV system is incredibly complicated and difficult to operate/use. While these things definitely made the stay a bit less relaxing than anticipated, it was nice to work with someone like Jerrita who was incredibly responsive (despite it being her weekend), and eager to help make our trip as successful as possible.Just as a heads up, the site description says Boone is 20 minutes away, but it's actually 40. This was a big difference considering we had planned several outings there. Keep that in mind if Boone is a priority for you!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
Hot Tub has been repaired and a discount was given for the inconvenience. TV system has also been simplified.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mountain Trip
Donna M. from Goldsboro, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2011
We loved the house- absolutely beautiful. The big deck was great with hot tub and grill!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Above the Rest
A guest from Walton, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2011
The cabin is beautiful but the driveway is an adventure. Steepest section needed some attention. Never could get the televsion in the master or kitchen to work. A user's manual for the media system would be helpful.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Above the Rest Review
A guest from Huntersville, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2011
We recently came back to the cabin for a second stay after the winter was not a friend ot us. Overall, the cabin is beautiful and we had a good time. The views are amazing and the place is very spacious. The drawbacks are we still had a car with issues getting up the driveway. It is steep at parts and with it being gravel, it makes it hard for some cars to gain traction. The television in the upstairs bedroom did not work (and was told it did) and the TV downtairs was limited.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mountain trip
Ian B. from Charlotte, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011
Hi.....The property was generally clean in the obvious places but a dead mouse under one bed and sofa`s has food and debris underneath only spotted when furniture removed while watching T.V.Both B.Q were filthy and damaged and we came to grill and had difficulty completed our cooking . The T.V was a nightmare and had to ring office for guidance and even then we had trouble viewing .The home was nice but the above issue`s disappointed us.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
Little critters are part of nature and the great outdoors. We do our best to check everything over before renters check in. New charcoal grill at the property. Upstairs TV's only have Satellite Access. DVD Player is in lower level only. Everyone raves about this house and location!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Place
anthony c. from Cary, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in August, 2011
Huge, very nice, upscale cabin. A few minor complaints: *The gravel driveway is an adventure even in the summer if you don't have 4WD. We got stuck and had to be towed out. *there was a huge wasp nest on the sat dish. not really a problem, but wow. *taking the garbage and recycling was kind of a hassle. *single unit A/C didnt work well for a 3 story house. other than that, the place was great. Would come back again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

LIke it but could've been better.
Gretchen H. from Chapel Hill, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2011
Poor quality kitchen equipment and not enough variety in serving dishes. Air filter was totally blocked with dirt. Deck sink didn't work and hose water not available for filling hot tub. Hot tub not working when we arrived, spent time on phone getting things straightened out. Told there were paper supplies but ran out and had to go buy some. There were NO board games or cards available. The front door /area of this beautiful home was uninviting and dirty. Needs a few extra touches. EVERYTHING should be in working order. Last but not least, the kitchen table chairs were HORRIBLE!!!! Please replace them with real chairs. Real size pool table would've been nice also. This home is strikingly beautiful so it wouldn't take much to put it "over the top" for renting. The home was gorgeous!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Jennifer S. from Apex, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2011
I only wish the trash would be collected or a dump was much closer. And a warning about the steep driveway would haveneen helpful!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Clayton, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2011
We thought that the upper part of the driveway needed to be drug as it was hard to get up that part of the hill. Also, the washing mChine took a lot of time to run thru the smallest cycle and there was no manufactures book to read re using the machine.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A great place!
A guest from Winston-Salem, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2011
Property is absolutely beautiful. Has many wonderful amenities including a beautiful, well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, a sound system throughout, and a lovely porch to relax on. Jerrita was incredibly helpful and responsive even to our calls during off hours. Only issue was with the hot tub not functioning, though the staff did attempt to fix the problem. Otherwise it was practically perfect for us!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
LauraThanks for the nice words and for posting a review. The Hot Tub was stuck in summer mode, the problem has now been resolved!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Absolutely lovely place. Only worry was the downstairs bathroom had major issues but the manager said it would be repaired. It
Karen R. from Jefferson, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 1 days in May, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cabin Retreat
A guest from Homestead, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in May, 2011
The place was perfect. There are only two things to note, 1. The gas grill doesn't work2. Warning about the STEEP driveway.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
Thank you for posting a review. The property has a charcoal grill on the deck. There is a gas grill in storage which does not work, that's the reason it's not placed in a location where renters can use it. The driveway is steep in one section however summer travel for most renters is not a problem. To get the killer views you have to go up but it's so worth it.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Barbara P. from paragould, AK recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2011
it was a very nice place to stay, peaceful, could use lights up the drive, not easy to find, overall we had a nice stay, would like something closer next time, home was beautiful worked very nice for three couples

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
Thank you for the information. From this cabin to Wilkesboro for Merlefest this cabin is a bit of a trip however if you're looking to be close to Todd and West Jefferson you're only 10 to 15 minutes away. We provide exact driving directions to the property from West Jefferson, most folks have no problem locating the property however you guys were coming in from a different direction so I tried to provide you with the shortest route.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cabin and setting were absolutely beautiful! Perfect for our weekend getaway and plan on returning again soon.
Stacey J. from Mooresville, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our stay was GREAT!
olena m. from fort campbell, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2010
Thank you so much for making our vacation PERFECT. We definetly will recomend this property to all our friends, and may be will be back ourselves. Thank you again and Happy Holidays!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pictures don't do it justice!
A guest from Rougemont, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in December, 2010
This cabin was amazing! The huge timbers that construct this home make it so warm and inviting. The fireplace does a fantastic job of keeping the upper two levels toasty warm and the gas heat makes sure the first level is just as comfortable. We had a slightly "hick up" in the heating but Jerrita responded quickly and everything was back to normal within a few hours, on Christmas Day no less. The fireplace was enough to keep us nice and warm until the heat was fixed. The whole house sound system was great for filling the entire place with Christmas music to really get everyone cheerful. I guess the only negative thing was the hot tube was not too clean. It had a lot of large dead flakes of skin floating around in the water. It seems to need to have the water completely changed out.Other than that the place was very clean and made for a perfect family Christmas vacation.Just be careful of the steep driveway in the snow. We left with 12" of snow on the ground and it was intimidating.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
We fully clean the hot tub between eac
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

confused
A guest from Ridgeway, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2010
confused on how no one could check the property on the day that we were going to check in to make sure that we can get to the cabin based on the weather. we could not stay in the location the first night and was only able to stay in it for the next 2 nights.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Above the Rest
John L. from Summerville, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2010
The property was even more beautiful than the photos. Jerita was great to work with. In terms of a vacation rental, I was disappointed that the surround sound in the house did not work, the Master TV and TV in the kitchen did not work, the hot tub never really got to "hot tub" temperature. Also, we had several issues with the washer and zero water pressure in the main bathroom and brushed our teeth in the kitchen. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A 4 by 4 to get up the driveway, we got stuck in a Honda Odyssey.Overall, the place was awesome but when paying for a place, you expect everything to be in tip top shape and not have any issues. That wasnt the case
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Gorgeous home and wonderful view
Teresa N. from Monroe, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2010
I will be back. it was a wonderful stay...close enough to other areas to visit like Boone, blowing rock, Grandfather mountain...
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Home Audio
Sean O. from Holly Springs, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2010
The home has a complete home audio system installed, with no instructions how to run. Nice TV in the master that when turned on would turn off the TV in the family room. Wounderful place, but some directions on how to run the elctronics would be nice. Other than that, this house is a solid 10!!! A dream home for sure!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Walt review
Walt D. from Cary, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2010
The house was fun. The driveway is a little scary going up. I would suggest some reflectors or lights to mark the driveway as going up after dark would be difficult. It was a bit frustrating to not be able to use the upstairs TV as well as what looks like a great sound system.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from New Hill, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2010
Needed to have instructions available for appliances, for example how to control the TV, Sattelite, etc.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A vacation to redo, again and again!
Reviewed by: Karen W. recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2010
Really like being in a tree house designed by an adult. View was great, location was great, house was unbelieveable and the service from Jerrita was second to none. We've been alot of places and cannot believe we had such a magical time so close to home and yet seemed so far away!We'll be back again, again and again!~Karen Weston
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Grey Vacation
Shelia G. from Davidson, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2010
We enjoyed our stay at "Above the Rest" and would loved to have stayed longer. Our complaints were not having a dryer for laundry and the kitchen had left over food in cabinets & refrigerator, and the refrig shelves needed to be wiped down. Hope this helps.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very nice stay...but...we thought we would have a gas grill...we did but not where we could find it...used charcoal grill on por
Bob R. from Chapin, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We had a great time !!!
Yvette T. from Salisbury, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2010
The house is beautiful. It was very comfortable, clean. Had all of th amenities one would need. The property manager was great to work with. Overall it was a wonderful experience - cannot wait to do it again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties