Dowd House--R258 Waldport Oregon High bank vacation rental

4 br Waldport Ocean Front Home


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Home

Bed/Bath:  4 / 3

Sleeps:  8

Pets:  Yes

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$175 - $225 per night

$1,050 - $1,350 per week

$4,550 - $5,850 per month

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Rustic, older, ocean front home south of Waldport built in the 1930's. Two units may be rented together or separately. Large, rock fireplace in the main home which has three bedrooms, one with king, one with queen, both upstairs with a full bath on the upper level. There's a small study room with a queen on the main level with small bath wtih shower only. The adjacent unit (B) side has a master bedroom with queen bed and full bath, with fireplaces in both bedroom and family room. Fully equipped kitchens in both units although the older "A" side does not have a dishwasher. Both units have stack washers and dryers. Beach access very close by. The "A" side now has a smart Apple TV Wifi. Now dog friendly with 1 dog limit.

See all of our Oregon coast vacation rentals

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 3 Queen

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office
* Convenience: Golf Course, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services, Video Rentals
* Culture: Hatfield Marine Science Center, Library, Oregon Coast Aquarium/Newport, Visitor's Center
* Entertainment: Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Internet Access, WiFi, Apple Smart TV
* Geographic: Close to Beach Access, Close to Town, High Bank Ocean Front/No access, Ocean View
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Toaster
* Living: Fireplace, High Speed Internet, Ironing Board, Jacuzzi Tub, Linens, Washer & Dryer
* Outdoor: Balcony, BBQ Grill, Beach, Deck

Owner/Manager last updated on 11/22/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Fireplace
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Jacuzzi
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Balcony
  • ·Deck
Appliances
  • ·CD Player
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
  • ·Golf
 
Property Reviews 
DOWD A&B FIRST TIMERS
Daniel C. from Bellevue, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014
Once we cleaned up DOWD A and remedied electrical issues and slow draining kitchen sink, the stay was pleasant. My 93 year old father and 88 year old mother loved the view. The weather was extremely good with little heavy wind.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Relaxing Stay on the Coast
A guest from Middletown, NJ recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014
We spent three idyllic nights in the Dowd cottage. The view is beautiful and the cabin is charming. We will return!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

fun loveing Vacation
Renay T. from Salem, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013
My four development mentally delayed boys had a great time. My boys want to return soon, the vacation staff was very friendly, helpful.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Place
A guest from Homosassa, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 15 days in August, 2013
This older, but nicely refurbished home was a wonderful place where we connected with our spread out family. Everyone loved the location with its beautiful views. The only negative was the early rising squirrels that had taken up residence inside the bedroom wall in unit b.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Charming Atmosphere
Gayle C. from Ogden, Utah recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013
My family booked both sides for a fun getaway, and this place was great--they just need to add better pots/pans to the kitchen and it would get 5 stars across the board. The home is quaint, with stellar views and a good feel to it. Additionally, the beach access is an easy walk down the hill. If a person likes a warm atmosphere over modern amenities, this is the place to stay.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Super good time
A guest from Kuna, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
The View was amazing. My group stayed in both houses. There were 7 of us which both sides of the house accommodated just fine however the living rooms were a little crammed if we all wanted to be in one. The beach was great because you had the crashing waves to your left and a calm swimming area in the harbor to your right. All in all great vacation and if I ever went with a big group again I wouldn't hesitate to pick this house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Only Okay
Reviewed by: Caroline B. recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013
Reserving the house online was a little confusing because we ended up reserving the entire house (Dowd A and Dowd B) without realizing it.Dowd A is larger, but older. The kitchen is really outdated, with an ancient stove and cabinets and drawers that can sometimes be difficult to open and close. It is also quite dark, with little natural light from the outside.Dowd B is newer, but smaller. My only real complaint here is that the bedroom has too much natural light. Even after closing all of the blinds, the patio door still lets in so much light that I could not sleep once the sun was up.Also, if you rent just one side of the house, parking may be a bit tricky. Both sides of the house park single file along the Dowd A side. So it would be a bit of a challenge if you were staying next to an unfamiliar group next door, as you may have a stranger's car blocking in your car.My main issue with the Dowd house (and Bayshore Rentals) was that the house not as clean as I would have liked. When we arrived, there was a used wine glass left outside on the patio, a large dead insect left in the middle of the bathroom floor, and a strange hair in the bathtub. Then, before checking out, we were required to wash all of the used linens and do the dishes, in addition to paying a $145 cleaning fee. Cleaning fees are typical, but in my experience, this fee is about 3 times higher than other homes I've rented.All in all, our stay was okay, but next time I'm in Waldport, I'll look for another place to stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC
I just read your review and I am so sorry you had sucn a bad experience at the Dowd house. In the summer months we do only offer the entire house as an option for renting as the owner likes to maximize rental income by having the entire home rented. I do want to emphasize that we never rent out both sides so separate parties. If the A side is rented to a guest we block out the B side because of the reasons you mentioned, parking and privacy issues. If you rent the whole house or either one of the separate areas you have both sides to park in. We will certainly speak with the cleaners, there is no excuse for those oversights and I will be refunding you cleaning fee money. We do not ask that you do all the laundry, we do have a sign to please start a load of towels, and start the dishwasher. (Since the A side does not have a dishwasher, washing the dishes would be a nice gesture. Thatnk you for your honest review. Please give us another chance.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Dowd House- A rustic gem with Million $ views
A guest from Corvallis, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012
This is our second stay at the Dowd house. It is a special getaway- rustic, but extremely cozy. The nearly 180 degree views of the Pacific over the Alsea River outlet and South beaches cannot be described properly with my limited vocabulary- AWESOME, SPECTACULAR etc...
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lots of character, great views and easy beach access
Ann R. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
Management company was great. House was old, but "cool" with lots of character and we liked renting both sides. Kitchen in "a", the older side was not great, but "b" was good. great location and wonderful views.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely location - run down property
Tim C. from Pullman, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
The Doud house sits on a bluff above a lovely beach. Unfortunately, the house is in serious need of repairs. The floors are uneven, the showerhead on the main floor doesn't work properly, there's a hook and eye closure on the bathroom door that seriously scratched one of our party and ruined two t-shirts. The steps on side A are narrow and slippery, the carpet may be loose. One of our party almost fell down the stairs. There are no window coverings in the living room of side B and the master on side A. There seems to be an animal stuck somewhere within the walls of the house as well.Finally, all of the notifications about keeping the furnishings in the proper side and that forgotten property wouldn't be returned were off-putting and offensive. I felt like a college kid in a really restrictive dorm not a guest who had paid over $1,000 for the privilege of staying in the Doud House.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Dowd A smells awful
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2012
We rented both Dowd A and B to accomodate our family and out of town guests. Dowd B is nice and clean (although you can hear everything in Dowd B, so I wouldn't stay there without renting both). Dowd A smells terrible. The carpeting in the living room and dining room smell of mildew and urine. The downstairs bathroom is disgusting and ought to be condemned. We didn't hardly go in Dowd A because I didn't want my children anywhere near the carpeting. We all huddled in Dowd B for most of our stay to avoid the Dowd A. I can't imagine anyone would like to stay there--especially for a vacation.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Coast vacation
A guest from Eugene, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
Very pleasant
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Waldport 2012
Jack T. from Nampa, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2012
A great time was had by all. We hope to stay again next year. Thanks for everything!!!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Had a great time and hope to return
Charlie T. from Boise, Idaho recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
Had a great time and hope to return
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We love Dowd!
Anna W. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2011
Thanks for providing a great place for our family to gather.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Waldport Beach Front
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 9 days in August, 2011
Great view from the property and close to the beach access. Subsiding area of the coast, a little bit scary over the edge of the yard. The house was comfortable enough, but the cooking equipment and the kitchen facilities left something to be desired. We had a great time anyway, but I would not rent this property again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bayshore Rentals LLC
Well, the kitchen in the "older" A side is very small. We have added some more pots and pans and pyrex cookware which should help.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Ristic
Katherine B. from Dillon, MT recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Property was advertised to sleep 10, but when we got there the sleeper couch had a note that said not to use. The little BR has
Donald M. from Eugene, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2011
The property is on a cliff that gives it a very good view. When we arrived the view was interupted by growth of untrimed bushes. A call to the manager resuted in a prompt response and the trimming was accomplished. Result great view returned. A bed and a working sleeper couch would make it great.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Eugene, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011
The vegetation surrounding the cottage is starting to take away the view of the ocean. It could stand to be cut back some.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

we had a wonderful stay, we will rent again from bay shore, great experience very clean and also felt very private even though w
A guest from klamath falls, oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011
house because i was told their was nothing between us and the beach and since i am slightly handicapped i was very excited to think i could walk to the beach with little assistance, as to my surprise we were on the edge of a cliff about 80 feet straight down and i was not able to get to the beach from our rental, but believe me all in all, we had the most wonderful time and will rent from bay shore next year, they are a wonderful company to work with.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Anna D. from WA, US recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in February, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Melanie H. from Spokane Valley, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2010
The house was very comfortable and in a great location overlooking the ocean. My only complaint is that some of the bed linen was obviously not clean prior to us arriving.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Absolutely amazing home. Makes me wanna move to Waldport, OR.
Derek W. from Yakima, Washington recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2010
Only problem with the place is that it would be nice to have a light above the stove in the smaller portion of the home. Other than that I will be coming back to the Dowd House in the future for sure! I loved this place and I think my family and friends did too...a wonderful view of the pacific and beach too. This home makes me want to move to the Oregon Coast in the very near future!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

LIGHTING: B Kitchen's lighting is inadequate. one bulb burned out and no replacement bulb available so had to use table lamp f
Richard F. from Bend, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2010
no dishwasher in A unit/ B's is small so we had to hand wash dishes because of small quantity of plates, etc.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Prefect Place to Stay
Suzanne W. from Winter Springs, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2010
We loved the Dowd house. We had a group of 12 stay there recently. So we had both A & B sides. We liked B side better as the kitchen was open to seating area. Overall the house was great. No complaints. Loved waking up to the ocean view every morning. The sunsets in the evening were amazing. Perfect. We would definitely stay here again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Rhonda G. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Older Oregon Coast Charmer. This to our family is what Coast rental property should be older with lots of characeter.
A guest from Springfield, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2010
Our family enjoyed out stay at the Dowd house. We used both sides A and B. We found the house to be well equipped and in good condition. A few things could have been improved so these were mentioned to the rental agency for consideration. This house has fantastic views of the ocean and Alsea Bay. Beach access is very close and easy to access. Fires on the beach are allowed and we enjoyed making Snores and sitting around the fire at night. If you like old world charm this is the place for you.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Meridian, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

AWESOME PLACE
BETH J. from Albany, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2010
We have rented the dowd house 2 times now our kids thats all they talk about so we will definately be back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great view!!
Shirley S. from Aurora, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2010
The kitchen in the A section was poorly furnished. There were 4-5 lids for glass bake dishes...but no dish that the lids went to.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties