Every possible amenity for a dream family vacation and on...

5 br St. Michaels Home


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Home

Bed/Bath:  5 / 4

Sleeps:  10

Pets:  No

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$1,068 - $1,248 per night

$4,755 - $6,505 per week

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Every possible amenity for a dream family vacation and only 1/2 mile to town!

Located on the outskirts of the town proper of St. Michaels, this fantastic family vacation compound provides everything you need for a true Eastern Shore getaway. This lovingly restored farmhouse has a brand new gourmet kitchen, 5 bedrooms, cozy den with fireplace and a screened porch with gas fireplace to warm you on those breezy summer or early fall mornings. There is plenty of room for everyone to spread out, play games in the casual dining room or enjoy coffee and plan the day overlooking the formal garden. Enjoy the new gazebo, a perfect backdrop for capturing some treasured family photos!

The grounds are lush with mature landscaping, plenty of privacy, centuries old trees for shade on those hot summer afternoons, and room to roam for the little ones.
The newly restored barn supplies endless opportunities for your kids or kids at heart--game tables, air hockey and foosball. Work off the crab cakes and ice cream with the Vectra gym and rowing equipment!
The pool is flanked with a poolhouse, complete with changing area and two full baths for showering after a swim or a day on the water, and kitchenette for your favorite beverages. The hot tub is open seasonally for your enjoyment as well.
The deep water slip has easy access to the Miles River and St. Michaels harbor, and kayaks are included with this property to explore the smaller creeks and nature watch on a peaceful morning. Like a good Captain, the owners have taken meticulous care to ensure your enjoyment of this home--previous guests will appreciate the continual upgrades including new pool furniture, fully redone steps in the barn, and other improvements. This home offers something for everyone!
Please note hot tub has been winterized and is not open Dec-April.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 4 Twin, 1 Full

Additional Features:
* ATTRACTIONS: Nearby Library, Nearby Marina, Nearby Restaurants, Movie Theatres
* DINING_CHECKBOX: Dining
* ENTERTAINMENT: DVD Player, Cable TV, Foosball Table, Family Games, Ping Pong, Bumper Pool Table, 3 TVs
* GENERAL: Central Air Conditioning, Linens, Air Conditioning, Washer/Dryer, Wood Burning Fireplace, Exercise Room, Central Heat, Free Internet, FREE WIRELESS INTERNET, Iron & Ironing Board, Linens and towels, Phone, Bath Towels, Washer/Dryer
* KITCHEN: Fully Equipped Kitchen, Full Size Refrigerator, Stove/Oven, Dishwasher, Coffeemaker, Extra Refrigerator
* LEISURE_ACTIVITIES: Sight-Seeing
* LOCAL_SERVICES_AND_BUSINESSES: Nearby Grocery, Nearby ATM, Nearby Fitness Center, Nearby Medical Services
* LOCATION_TYPE: Riverfront
* OUTSIDE: Patio, Charcoal Grill, Kayaks, Bicycle
* POOL_SPA: Private Pool, Private Hot Tub
* SPORTS_AND_ADVENTURE_ACTIVITIES: Nearby Tennis Courts, Nearby Golf Courses, Near Fishing, Wind Surfing
* SUITABILITY: No Smoking, No Pets Allowed

Additional Notes:
Prices include bed and bath linens, and all fees. Pet friendly homes do not have additional charges for up to two dogs.
 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  November   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  December   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  January   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  February   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29          
  March   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  April   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  May   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  June   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  July   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  August   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  September   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  
 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Air Conditioning
  • ·Charcoal Grill
  • ·Fitness Center
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Linens Provided
  • ·Maid Service Available
  • ·Patio
  • ·Pool (private)
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Phone
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
  • ·TV(s)
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Washer/Dryer (private)
Activites
  • ·Boating
  • ·Fishing
  • ·Golf
  • ·River
  • ·Shopping/Restaurants
  • ·Surfing
  • ·Swimming
  • ·Tennis
 
Property Reviews 
beautiful Chesapeake holiday home
Alex M. from Midlothion, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014
Everything you could wish for. Location and facilities exceeded expectations. Lovely.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Pleasant Stay
A guest from Malone, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
We again enjoyed our family week get together. The property was everything we expected. Our four grandchildren enjoyed the barn and the pool. The only thing we found that we would want in a future rental would have been another bathroom. The pool house contained two full bathrooms , but the house contained only one full bathroom on each floor. Location was great.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

captains cove is wonderful
Kate W. from St Michaels, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
THIS IS MY 2ND YEAR RENTING CAPTAINS COVE AND ONCE AGAIN IT WAS PERFECT. ESVR HAS HELPED ME RENT HOUSES FOR 7 YEARS?THEY ARE SO EASY TO DEAL WITH AND THEREFORE IT MAKES MY FAMILY REUNIONS WONDERFUL
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Property was great, Management was not!
MARIANA V. from CENTREVILLE, VA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in December, 2013
Property was great, Management was not!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Holiday Paradise
Brian L. from Brisbane, Old Austrailia recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in August, 2013
Wonderful relaxing experience for us and our extended family while we attended our sons wedding in St Michaels. We could not wish for anything better for our group aged from 8 to 70 years. We spent 10 days there and felt we could have stayed longer time permitting
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Captains Cover
Cliff W. from Simsbury, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013
Great place. Didn't want to leave.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Family Home
A guest from Churchville, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
This is an beautiful home with so much to do that you cant ever complain about being bored. It was a little difficult to have a 2 year old there though. I believe there are 7 doors to the outside and no fence around the pool which really caused a lot of anxiety leading up to the trip but we just made sure that someone was always watching her and we bought a water alarm just to be on the safe side. Also, we were a little disappointed with the people who came to clean midweek. While the bathrooms smelled like bleach after they were finished cleaning, the floor was dirtier than it was before they came - mud and grass clippings. It wasnt a big deal but I just wanted to mention it so the owners were aware. Overall a great house, a great town and a great vacation! We hope we will be able to get there again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Many thanks for the review. It is surprising to some folks to learn that if a property is over 2 acres, County Zoning does not require a fence around the pool area. Since the other "big pool" aka the Chesapeake Bay and its waterways isn't fenced off either it is smart for all guests with kids who can't swim to take precautions for their safety. Thank you for the heads up on the grass clippings traipsing into the bathrooms, we will do better. We agree Captains Cove is a vacation experience that many ESVR customers book over and over again. Thanks for coming.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

AUNT KATIES REUNION
Kate W. from St Michaels, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
EASTERN SHORE VACATION RENTALS NEVER FAILTO SUGGEST A GREAT HOME!!MY NIECES AND NEPHEWS HAVE COME FROM THE MIDWEST FOR THE LAST 6 YEARS AND CAPTAINS COVE WAS A HUGE SUCCESS. IT WAS ONLY 4 MINUTES FROM MY HOUSE AND 4 MINUTES TO SAINT MICHAELS...WONDERFUL!! HAVE TOLD ALL MY FRIENDS TO USE ESVR WHEN THEY HAVE A LOT OF FAMILY COMING TO TOWN...THANK YOU

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Kate, you are a pleasure to deal with and thank you for your business over the past 6 years. With your large family I believe we have rented you almost every home in our portfolio near St. Michaels. Glad you found Captains Cove a winner also.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Glory Days at Captains Cove
Reviewed by: Kathy T. recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2012
We spent five glorious days at Captains Cove for our daughter's wedding at the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum on October 13th. We had a great time fishing from the pier, taking in the lovely setting from the Adirondack chairs, and relaxing on the back porch. This house is so welcoming, and we felt right at home. We especially enjoyed working out and playing air hockey in the barn game room. We highly recommend, and can hardly wait to return to Captains Cove-a great family gathering place.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Kathy, thanks for the review. Alot of customers don't realize that the historic section of St. Michaels is not zoned for short term vacation rentals which makes Captains Cove even more special since it is right outside of the historic district, making it available to the public for vacation rentals and still close enough to town for guest convenience.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Captain's Cove rental
A guest from Baltimore, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
We enjoyed Captain's Cove except for the fact that the tv did not work until Wed. Also there was no hot water until Wed. in the main house. Otherwise the house is very well equipped and decorated, with game rooms and pool house. I suggest an inspection before rental.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Arggh, it was Labor Day holiday weekend and therefore unable to even have a conversation with Atlantic Broadband (about repairing the cable line) or the fuel company to fill the propane tank until Tuesday morning. I am sure it didn't feel like it but due to ESVR's leverage we were able to have the property first on the service list when the phone lines reopened. Sometimes there are things that occur that our beyond our control but we understand you are on vacation and we try hard to solve problems at warp speed. I'm glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

very happy
James R. from Dobbs Ferry, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
great features; garden, pool, barn and yardimprovements: clean mold in bathrooms, better towels
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great spot for family. Rain or shine something for everybody
Elaine B. from Princteon, NJ recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
Great experience / location / property. A nook or spot for all ages to do anything - from barn to pier to all the rooms and corners in the house and pool house -- it is the BEST
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

a fantastic location for a family break
A guest from London, OO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
We rented this house for a stateside family reunion and the location was superb. The outside amenities such as the pool, large lawned garden overlooking the bay and dock offered many opportunities for games and relaxation. Our kids caught so many crabs off the dock during our short stay! Captains Cove had many pool toys, badminton rackets,croquet etc which offered endless fun for all the family. Similar to many other reviewers, the games room was well stocked with a wide range of games but with no aircon (only some fans) was extremely hot so we could only use it first thing in the morning, which was a shame. But on the positive note, there were enough to do outside that we didn't feel we missed the games room during our stay. Our biggest gripe was over the quality of the basic amenities you'd expect from a rental of this price range. The bathroom towels and bed sheets were very thin and as basic a range as you can get and it was clear they did not wash the quilts on the beds after each week of rental which showed signs of yellowing among other stains and were pretty off putting. Also, the beds were not very comfortable and probably due for a replacement. However, the housekeepers did arrive on Wednesday to tidy the house, but the linens do not get changed during your stay, which we knew. Overall, it was a fantastic venue and with improvements it would be without a doubt a great vacation experience.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Many thanks for the descriptive review - really helps future guests have a vision of the experience. Also, your comments on linens were well noted and Captains Cove is now one of a select group of signature properties that offers upgraded linens and towels with higher thread counts. We love guest feedback, always helps us improve.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family vacation at beautiful location!
A guest from McLean, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
We were so delighted to stay at Captain's Cove! While there enjoying the pool and air conditioning and surroundings, our home in VA had no power in 100+ weather!! Everyone loved the location and amenities !
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Captains Cove Review
Jill J. from Ohida, Wisconsin recommends this property.
Stayed for 11 days in June, 2012
Our family of 10 recently stayed at Captains Cove for 11 nights and had a wonderful time. The home was beautifully furnished and well equipped with every thing we needed to make our stay most enjoyable. The kitchen was beautifully organized. The grounds outside were lovely and the pier was great for crabbing and docking the boat we rented. Conveniently close to downtown St Michaels yet in a peaceful, quiet cove. We could relax and enjoy the whole area. The kids loved the barn attic full of games: foosball, air hockey, ping pong, and much more. The outdoor pool and patio area with a convenient pool house also was enjoyed by everyone. Overall our stay far exceeded our expectations and we would recommend to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay with family in the St Michaels area that Captains Cove is a wonderful experience!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Picture Perfect
A guest from Chapel Hill, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in September, 2011
We rented this property because my daughter was getting married in St. Michaels. The location was perfect. Our family had a great time crabbing, playing ping pong and croquet, and relaxing by the pool.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Labor Day Stay
A guest from NY, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Malvern, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

John F. from Washington, DC recommends this property.
Stayed for 11 days in May, 2011
Second year in a row over Memorial Day, this time for more than a week. Age range 2-70. Rented boat, crabbing, fishing, tubing, golf, reading, pool and family all in perfect weather made for another idyllic stay in a spectacular property. Owner even called to be sure we were happy. It doesn't get any better than this. JWF
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely home and property
A guest from Maple Glen, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2010
We had a great vacation at Captains Cove. The home is beautiful - it had everything we needed and more. The pool was terrific - it was a hot week so we used it a lot. The kids loved the game barn. Too hot to use during the day, but it was OK in the evenings or early mornings. The furnishings are beautiful, the kitchen had everything we needed and the butlers pantry came in handy for our group of 10. Landscaping is lovely.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Larry C. from Centreville, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
The only negative - the barn was too hot to use for most of the week.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Thanks for the feedback. There is a whole-room ventilation system located in the upstairs ceiling of the barn. When the windows are opened, and the unit is turned on, guests have reported a marked improvement and commented that the room is quite cool.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We were extremely disappointed to learn, when we arrived, that the "newly remodeled" game room (barn) is not air conditioned. T
Paul Cameron S. from Williamsburg, Virginia does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
Captain's Cove home is a beautiful, comfortable home with a lovely shaded pool but we will never return to this rental. We selected this particular rental home due to the additional barn "game room" that offered various games such as ping pong, foosball, pool table, etc. that we could play, along with the large flat screened tv where we could watch family movies together. While the description of this home does not specify that the barn is not air-contioned one would assume based on its description of being "newly remodeled" with sofas and entertainment that this part of the rental space would also be air conditioned. The barn was completely useless to us due to the extreme temperature upstairs. Captain's Cove is definitely not what we paid for. Our experience this year at St. Michael's was such a disappointment compared to our vacation there last year.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Thank you for the feedback iin response to this guest's concerns the owners have installed a commercial grade ventilation unit to keep the game room comfortable even on hot summer days. We hope to have the guest's return for a comfortable experience on the entire property.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Santa Maria, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
Loved the property - just wish we had a boat! One bathroom upstairs made for a traffic jam at times with 8 people in the house, but otherwise the place is wonderful!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
As a reminder this home has 2 1/2 baths in the main house and 2 extra full baths in the pool house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Far exceeds any rental property I have ever seen. an elegant home in a special setting, perfect for our extended family of three
John F. from Washington, DC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2010
The location is extraordinary, the property very large and beautiful. The house absorbed a lot of us very well.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties