Cabin in the Birds Creek area Sunset Ridge 234

2 br Sevierville Cabin


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Cabin

Bed/Bath:  2 / 3

Sleeps:  8

Pets:  No

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$124 - $297 per night

$700 - $1,608 per week

$4,234 - $6,332 per month

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Location: East of Pigeon Forge (10 minutes)
This log cabin is a real Smoky Mountain treat. It's perched on a beautiful piece of land in the Foothills. Sunset Ridge is the perfect cabin for your visit to the Smoky Mountains! Conveniently located just minutes from Dollywood, the Arts & Crafts Community, Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg. Come & enjoy the great amenities of this cabin, including a gas fireplace, 3 TVs, fully equipped kitchen, mini bar on the second floor, darts, pool table & horseshoe pit. Featuring 2 bedrooms with 1 jacuzzi, 3 full baths & plenty of room for everyone! Enjoy the mountain views from the deck and fire up the gas grill as you enjoy a glorious sunset. Book this beautiful home today! Enjoy NFL Ticket.

Rate is based on 4 adults, each additional adult is $12.50 per night.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 2 Sleeper Sofa

Additional Features:
* Entertainment: Pool Table
* Geographic: Mountain View
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher, Utensils
* Living: Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, Fireplace, Central Heat/Air, Fireplace - Electric
* Outdoor: Gas Grill, Hot Tub

Owner/Manager last updated on 12/13/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  November   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Jacuzzi
  • ·Fireplace
  • ·Gas Grill
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
Activites
 
Property Reviews 
great family vacation
DAVID H. from CHUNCHULA, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2014
Was a very nice rental does need a new grill, one on site not very functional.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you liked this cabin rental, and had a great time! Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay. Your suggestion will be forwarded to the owner of this cabin, for consideration. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice
A guest from Owensboro, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2014
Great cabin.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear that you liked "Sunset Ridge" and found it to be a great cabin! This is a great cabin and has many wonderful amenities to offer the guest who stay in it! Thank you for giving us feedback about your rental experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Little Disappointed
A guest from West Alexandria, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014
Once we arrived we saw a number of things wrong broken blinds, broken outlet covers, food under the end table, broken chair out side , broken spindles on porch, the outside motion light didnt work which was a pain at night, and the driveway wasnt the best it had a tree in the middle which was a pain. The master bed room had a hot tub in it that we couldn't fill because we would run out of hot water and the showers had no water pressure, when we called the office they didnt seem to care.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are sorry about the issues that you experienced during your stay and we will address those issues with maintenance and/or housekeeping. We hope to accommodate you again on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

I Was So Very Thrilled
A guest from Nauvoo, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2014
The cabins on the website were beautiful. We finally decided on Sunset Ridge and the reservation process was no trouble at all. Upon arriving at the cabin we discovered that the pictures/description on the website were 100% accurate and we were not disappointed. It was fantastic and we will be going back again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time with us and we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The Smoky Mountains
GLADIS G. from THARR, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2014
For this being our first time in the outdoors. I would have to say it was an awesome experience. Just wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the beautiful things Gatlinburg has to offer. And we will definitely be staying with Aunt Bugs Rentals, they are the best!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Stay
A guest from Windsor, Ontario, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014
This was our first time with Aunt Bugs. We really enjoyed the customer service and helpful information provided by Aunt Bugs. The cabin is in a great secluded location with a great view (a little obstructed with trees). Book this cabin!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are happy to hear that your first time staying with us, was great! Thank you for your positive review of the cabin and our services. We appreciate your business, and your feedback! Call us when you are ready to plan your next trip, and we will help you with reservations!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Tomlinson's review
Lotis T. from Benson, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014
Our experience was enjoyable and satisfying.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are glad to hear that you experience an enjoyable and satisfying stay in one of our cabin rentals! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

wow ...amazing!!!!!!!
Milind S. from Richmond, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2014
amazingly beautiful

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you you enjoyed your cabin rental stay, with our company! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Call us when you are ready to make your next reservation. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Another great experience with aunt bugs
A guest from Sikeston, MO recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in May, 2014
Excellent experience

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your cabin rental experience with our company! Thank you for your continued patronage. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not what I expected
A guest from Blacksburg, VA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014
We had stayed with you company last year in another property that was not available. This cabin was ok but.... We will stay in the Legacy properties when we come back.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Lintz, thank you for sharing feedback about your stay in one of our cabin rentals! I am sorry that you did not care for the cabin you stayed in, this time. We have so many great cabins to choose from, and are more than happy to find you a cabin that you would be happy with. Thank you for your business, and your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

I will never ever stay at Aunt Bug Cabins again.
A guest from Beavercreek, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2014
I stayed at this cabin for 2 nights only. We arrived there around 9 pm and as soon as I stepped I smelled something like a dead body or a dog, it was smell so nasty. I couldn't stay any longer nether my friends, so I tried to get a shower to go out, and the water was cold so I just tried to get ready and run away from that smell. When I came down stairs to change, the bed and my clothes were full of water because the selling was leaking water from the shower. Plus the cabin was dirty and they were so rude and races. They charged me $300 for deposit and I got $155 back after aweek because I checked out two hours late they took $100, and $45 for extra cleaning and the place was so messed up. I don't recommends this cabin to anyone that I know. I'm suing them.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for giving us feedback. I am sorry that you were upset about having to pay a security deposit, and paying extra fees for cleaning and checking out 3 1/2 hours after check out time. Thank you for your business, and your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We had a wonderful stay and will do again.
Buford M. from Danville, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
Fun just wish we had more time. Next time the visit will be longer.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your cabin rental stay with our company! There is so much to do in this area, and never enough time! We appreciate your business, and your feedback! Call us when you are ready to plan your next trip, we look forward to your return!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Relaxing Weekend Getaway
A guest from Franklin, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
Very pleased that everything was in working order. It was located a bit farther away than we expected.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ms. Fisher, I am glad that you were pleased with your Aunt Bugs cabin rental! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We have many cabins to choose from, and are happy to find you a cabin that is located closer to where you would like to be. Call us when you are ready to make your next reservation. We appreciate your business, your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Would not recommend Aunt Bugs!
Stephanie P. from Loranger, LA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2014
The tub had a black slimy residue ikn the jets. There was not enough hot water to fill the tubs and a cup on the table had brown stuff on the bottom of it. Told a gentleman at the reservation desk of this and he said "oh, ok" could not recommend Aunt Bugs. Originally asked for a cabin not in the mountains because we did not have a 4 wheel dr. Was told we weren't. It had snowed a couple days before our arrival and we had a hard time getting to the cabin. We were sliding all over the road.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ms. Perret, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your cabin rental experience. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations, and for the inconveniences you encountered. The weather, unfortunately, can cause difficult driving conditions regardless of the location. We appreciate your feedback, and your business!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Service
WENDY C. from CLAIRMONT, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2013
We enjoyed our experience staying in Pigeon Forge. Aunt Bugs Cabin Rental was excellent. Love the app that I was able to download to help us get familiar with the area. I would recommend anyone giving this Company a try.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your positive cabin rental experience with Aunt Bugs! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sunset Ridge 234
A guest from Mandeville, LA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2013
Overall great stay. Nice cabin with a good location that is fairly secluded. Staff super nice and helpful. Issues were: cabin was extremely dusty with cobwebs and spiders (this was our biggest issue). Several lights were burned out. Heat went out during our stay, but it was fixed within a few hours! :-) Beds are terribly uncomfortable (we stayed 1 week). Could not get volume controls to work on any TV remotes. No batteries or darts for the electronic dartboard. Also would be really nice to have Wi-Fi. We will definitely consider staying with Aunt Bugs again next time.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your cabin rental experience with Aunt Bugs! We are sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay, and will use the information given to us, to address these things. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your next stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our stay in the mountains
PETER B. from TENNESSEE RIDGE, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
We had a great exsperance. We'll be back. Cabin location was perfect, it was clean and well kept up.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals! We look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Long Needed Vacation
A guest from Piedmount, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
Cabin was not as secluded as we had hoped for but was a quiet, relaxing place to stay. Very nice inside and out, thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub, sitting on the deck first thing each morning looking out over the mountains without having any kind of schedule to keep. Renting a cabin is definitely the way to go. Looking forward to going back soon. Price was very good.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. For future trips our company does offer secluded cabins which you seem to have been searching for on this trip. When you are ready to make your travel arrangements again, if you would like to give us a call and mention that you would let our agents know specific details you're looking for in your cabin, our agents would be happy to assist you in locating a cabin to fit your requirements. We look forward to accommodating you on your future trips to the Smoky Mountains. Most of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sunset Ridge cabin - lack of maintenance
A guest from miami, FL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
Good location and nice view. Disappointed with cleanup and maintenance of the cabin. Master bathroon sink clogged, layers of dust and dead bugs under the beds and behind sleeper sofa. Sticky dinner table and greasy kitchen cabinets to the touch,few pots. You could see the layers of dust in the dark colored night lamps in the master bedroom. Curtians all dusty and old. I would expect all of these things being checked before client arrival. This is the first time I rent with Aunt bugs and i am dissappointed. I have visited the smokies in two other occasions and plan to return but think will look for other rental options.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We greatly apologize for any inconvience you experienced on your vacation with our property. We manage over 180 unique and individually owned properties, we have vendors on call for our properties 7 days a week. We ask all of our customers to please do a walk through at the property at the beggining of your stay and let the office know of any houskeeping complaints or maintence issues in case the contract cleaners looked over something. Again we apologize and we hope you give us another chance. If you have any questions please feel free to give me a call and ask to speak with Steven.
Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We greatly apologize for any inconvience you experienced on your vacation with our property. We manage over 180 unique and individually owned properties, we have vendors on call for our properties 7 days a week. We ask all of our customers to please do a walk through at the property at the beggining of your stay and let the office know of any houskeeping complaints or maintence issues in case the contract cleaners looked over something. Again we apologize and we hope you give us another chance. If you have any questions please feel free to give us a call.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Peace of the Mountains
DIBBIA C. from CONROE, TX does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. Had a few minor problems, but nothing that would keep us from coming back.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

My first trip
A guest from West Alexandria, Ohio recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
We had a very good time and will come back.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sunset Ridge
A guest from SPENCER, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
This is the second time we have stayed at Sunset Ridge and it seems a little run down from the first time, several years ago. We love the location but the cabin is in need of a thorough cleaning and some maintenance, however that is our choice of location so we will probably return.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The cabin hasn't been dusted or really cleaned in a while.
SHEILA H. from PAGELAND, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2013
The property wasn't in walking distant from anything we didn't have wifi like they said we didn't have pool ascess that we were suppose to. The cabin was nice but wasn't worth what I paid for it, it was really dusty cob webs everywhere, wasn't any extra sheets for the pull out beds and no blow up mattress.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Clean and cool mountain breezes..
robert w. from ST. JOHNS, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2013
View was good and your away from the crouds.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

very Dirty cabin
DONALD T. from WARSAW, KY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
We were looking forward to this cabin after weeks of trying to pick the right one for us. We arrived to what looked to be a nice place: Although, its was pretty far from pigeon forge and Gatlinburg. We went in and to our surprise it was a mess, it looked as it had been locked for years and never rented... There was dust on everything, and cob webs absolutely every where, bugs covered then floor, there were spiders alive everywhere, and scorpions. I understand it was in the mountains but a tent would been nicer this was making my children feel safe!! We called and they sent the cleaning crew who swept the bugs in the hallway but forgot the rest. We went out and came back late were ready for bed until turning them down (should done earlier) they were covered with hair from top to bottom including pubic hair, covered in stains, and looked like people used pillow cases to blow their noses!! We called the woman said I'm just an "answering service I'll forward you're message when they open at 9am!". We ended up renting a hotel that night kids weren't staying there! Returned to Aunt Bugs to hear that their cabins are professionally cleaned and that could be hair falling off their cleaners!! We showed pictures we took, to be told calm down before they call police and the contract says "NO REFUNDS!" Not wanting to loose more money we went to Walmart spent $70 on cleaning supplies and laundry detergent and cleaned the cabin so we could stay!!! Stayed that night and decided to leave the next day stayed there one night out of our three day rental, spent $70 on hotel room and $70 on cleaning supplies and still came home a day early because DISGUSTED!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for posting your review. The photos you finally showed us, after claiming your phone was dead every time we requested to see them, did not show what you are reporting. Upon inspection, we did not find the property to be as you described. I suspect that is why you did not want to show them to us. Our staff had to deal with profanity and threats from you twice, and twice ask you to leave our office. We provided a beautiful cabin for you and did everything we could to satisfy you, even though we were unable to legitimize your claims. We are sorry we were not able to satisfy you.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

sunset ridge
A guest from CARLISLE, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in March, 2013
Me and my family stayed at aunt-bugs the firt week of march. The cabin was clean and very nice,the drive to it was steep so make sure you have 4x4 for winter. We lost power due to storm theres no flashlights,candles you might want to take both. No power for like 4 hours.also theres horse u pits with no horse shoes. The bigge is its a 8 person cabin but the hot water dont last to fill the tub so plan to take showers in shifts.. over all the cabin has most everything you need beautiful location and private....

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed the cabin and am sorry you had to endure the ever changing Tennessee weather, but that's just part of it's charm. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back again soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice place-pricey
JOI W. from TN, 37920 recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2013
It was a really nice cabin with a beautiful view. However, $389 for two nights is absurd. I think you all had the special buy 2 get the 3rd night free for February, yet nobody mentioned this to me.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback. Most of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you on your future trips to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties