Large Secluded 2 BR 2bath log cabin Smoky Ridge Resort Th...

2 br Sevierville Cabin


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Cabin

Bed/Bath:  2 / 2

Sleeps:  8

Pets:  No

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$113 - $301 per night

$734 - $1,748 per week

$4,234 - $6,332 per month

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Large Secluded 2 BR 2bath log cabin Smoky Ridge Resort Theater/Game Room

This beautiful mountain rental offers luxury, charm and privacy! If you truly just want to get away to the mountains, this is the right choice! Your kids, friends and family will love the large game room with air hockey, stereo and pool table! Your hot tub is enclosed, which makes it available no matter what the weather conditions! The master suite has a TV, private balcony, and jacuzzi. The kids will love the bunk-bed room. Take a break and spend a quiet evening snuggling up next to the gas fireplace. This 2 bedroom cabin has a large family picnic area and gas grill. Located in Smoky Ridge II, just minutes from Pigeon Forge and Dollywood. Book this relaxing mountain getaway today! Price is based on 4 adults, each additional adult is $12.50 per night.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen, 2 Twin

Additional Features:
* Entertainment: Satellite TV, DVD Player, Games, Pool Table, Air Hockey
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher, Utensils
* Living: Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, Central Heat/Air, Fireplace - Gas
* Outdoor: Gas Grill, Hot Tub

Owner/Manager last updated on 11/22/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Jacuzzi
  • ·Gas Grill
  • ·Games
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Stereo
  • ·Toaster
Activites
 
Property Reviews 
awsom and great family time
Jessica T. from Bristol, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2014
Very Private! Even in the winter. Relaxing, but great family time! Defeatly would stay agine

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your trip, and found some time to relax during your stay! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely, comfortable cabin to vacate or live in.
A guest from Marion, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2014
Everything about this cabin was accurate. It was clean, comfortable, well stocked with basics (actually all you need to bring is food,clothes, & a 4wheel drive vehicle). It was about ten minutes from town so it was the best of both worlds.Beautiful views, comfy hammock & outside seating. Can use the hottub without fear of nosey neighbors looking or getting sick! Needs new poolsticks because the ones there are older and not straight, but still usable. Air hockey, darts, popcorn machine was fun too. Projector was amazing just hard to put movies in dvd player the shelf is too high for short people. Driveway is rutted and your car could drag, we didnt have that worry since we have a large truck. Everything is clean, comfortable, & well maintained.Its affordable for a family on a tight budget (cheaper than 2midpriced rooms with little to do). We will definately stay again!!! We cant forget Donna, she helped with the reservations and was wonderful!Thank you so much!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at "Woodhaven" and all the wonderful amenities this cabin has to offer its guests! Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not a Retreat....
A guest from Highland, IN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2014
I wouldn't say this cabin is a nightmare, but it is not as well maintained as the pictures show. The cabin was surface cleaned, but was dirty. A few examples are holes in the furniture and mold on the doors that lead to the hot tub. When we called Aunt Bugs to tell them we were not happy, we were told that if we wanted a different cabin we could move for an extra $131 a night or leave and not get our money back. We thought by using a bigger named rental company, we would be safe with our rental. Guess not!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry for the issues you experienced with this cabin rental! We have left a couple of messages for you to call us, regarding these issues. Thank you for giving us feedback about your stay. We appreciate the information you have given us, and are trying to get these corrected for future guests in this cabin. Again, we do apologize for these issues.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Woodhaven
Rose S. from Savana, GA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 9 days in July, 2014
The Woodhaven was spacious. there was recent construction which was unfinished. There was only a porch light that worked. The bathrooms were very clean and ample towels. The kitchen lacked tools ie one dishtowels, colander, working toaster, baking pans. Furniture was in need of repair. The mattresses were like straw. The property management gave us some of the kitchen tools but they were limited because the owner was responisible for the other repairs and furniture.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We do apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay and we will address those with housekeeping and/or maintenance. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Had a great time!
A guest from Raleigh, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2014
Woodhaven is in a nice location. Close enough to everything but back enough that you have some space. I think the owners must be in the process of fixing it up as some projects were in progress. The kids enjoyed the game room. The cabin was quite clean though some of the furniture was pretty beat. That was easy to ignore as we were too busy having fun and really enjoyed our stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We appreciate your stay with us and thank you for taking some time to tell us about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

it was ok...
A guest from MOORESVILLE, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2014
It was ok...I think the cabin could if had better furniture in it. The we're holrs in the couches and chairs in the living room and game room. The basketball game was broke the popcorn machine was very dirty..the front deck was half stained..a window in the kitchen was recently replaced but not finished...the picture showed several bored games but there wasn't any!!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback about your rental experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the cabin rental you stayed in, and some of the amenities offered. Your information will be forwarded to the owner of this cabin. Thank you for staying with us, and giving us your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Baker family vacation
Georgette B. from Coal Center, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
Everything was good except the grills. The gas grill was unusable and the charcoal grill was rusted and broke. Other than that everything was great.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are glad you enjoyed your cabin rental stay with our company! We apologize for the grill issues that you encountered! This grill has been replaced, since your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us, and providing feedback about your stay! We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

dirty property
A guest from nashville, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014
the property had mt stain cans all over the outside and paint sticks laying all over there was a bucket with stain in it left by the woods there were stain marks all over the concrete blocks outside and on the concrete bench that was just the outside the furniture on the inside in the game room that should be replaced like the couch and the chair the basketball game did not work . the air conditioning kept freezing up, the only positive was that when i called to have it looked at they were right out to fix it . i would probably recomend it to a friend but if i do i will tell them to ask to see if the property was cleaned up yet .

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
I am sorry that there were issues with the outside of the cabin rental, you stayed in. We aren't showing that any of these issues were reported to the rental office, except the air conditioning. Which we did fix for you. If we had known about any other issues, we would have been more than happy to take care of them. Thank you for your business, and your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Ready To Come Back
A guest from Lagrange, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Woodhaven. The kids had a great time in the game room. A few things were broken, but nothing major. The cabin was clean and neat when we arrived. We were pleased with this cabin.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thanks you very much for coming and enjoying the Great Smoky Mountains with Aunt Bugs Cabin Rental. We will take a look at the game room to make sure that it is perfect for your next stay.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Needs work!
Lakeashia A. from Chattanooga, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
The rental was very out dated the furniture had holes in it .The rental smell like cigarette some even though the sign said no smoking and also most of the games wore tore up and worn out pool table etc . Would recommend fixing before renting this cabin out

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ms. Akins, thank you for your feedback regarding your cabin rental experience with our company. I am sorry that you were not happy with this cabin. All of our cabins are non-smoking, as stated on our rental contract. We appreciate your business, and hope you will consider Aunt Bugs for future rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Like the cabin overall.
Joe G. from Pleasant Shade, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in March, 2014
Furniture needs help. Not enough kitcken wares. Grill sad.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Green, thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your rental experience with us! We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice Location, Poor Condition
A guest from MONROE, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
The property looked like it had not been cleaned in quite some time. There was a layer of dust/filth on the ceilings, walls, and furniture. There were lightbulbs missing in lamps and light fixtures. Those that were in the fixtures did not work. The pilot light in the fireplace was not lit and would not stay lit, so we could not use it. The level of water in the hot tub was too low, so we had to fill it continuously. There was no toilet paper in the cabin anywhere upon arrival. Needless to say, after a long trip, we had expected otherwise. Sheets were not clean. We have rented here in the past and had the same problem with cleanliness. We will not be back to Aunt Bug's.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ms. Godfrey, I am so sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay! Did you report these issues to the office upon checking into your cabin? We would have gladly corrected these issues for you while you were here. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry it was a disappointment for you, and do hope you will give us another opportunity to assist you with your cabin rental needs.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

woodhaven
Angela R. from fort lawn, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2014
Started out firplace didnt work, hot tub didnt work tvs didnt work in one of the bedrooms.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ms. Railey, I am sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay. I am showing that we sent the maintenance staff out, after receiving the notification from you of the issues you were having. Were they able to fix these things for you? Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your rental experience. I am sorry that you were not pleased. I appreciate the information you have given us, as it will help us to correct these issues for future guests in this cabin. Again, I am sorry about the issues! We appreciate your business, and hope you will consider us for future cabin rental stays!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

unhappy camper
JOHN R. from surgoinsville, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2014
Jacuzzi tub didn't work very well. When you would turn on the jets dirt and hair clouded the water due to them not being cleaned regularly. The hot tub outside didn't work very well. It would not hold temperature and the jets barely worked on it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Roberts, I am sorry you had issues with the hot tub, and Jacuzzi tub during your cabin rental stay. Did you report these issues to the office? We would have gladly sent someone to correct this for you, if we had known you were having trouble. Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback about your experience.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Had fun- but a little disappointed.
A guest from Canton, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2014
The access and views from this property were great! We were disappointed that there no board games as shown in the pictures of the cabin. The cabin has an awesome tub in theater but there is not enough hot water to fill the tub above the jets to use the tub. We were disappointed with the game room couch. It sank in when you sat down, but were pleased with the large movie screen and selection of movies.The kitchen was great for our family of four. We cooked a lot and found there was no baking sheet to make cinnamon rolls or bread. Luckily, we brought tin foil and cooked on it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Ms. Downey, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your cabin rental experience with Aunt Bugs. I am sorry that the cabin did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your business, and look forward to another opportunity to assist you with your cabin rental needs!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

This Cabin is Up for Sale -- Owner Demonstrates Lack of Interest
A guest from Hillsboro, KY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
When we arrived we were told to look around and see if the place was clean and everything working properly. Quite frankly, we shouldn't have to do that!! The property management should not ask us to do their job for them!!!The cabin hadn't been cleaned and their cleaning person was aware of that. Knowing this, they should have either cleaned it before allowing us to enter or gave us another place to stay or compensated us in another way. The entire kitchen was greasy from cooking. The showers were filthy. Items were broken or not working properly. We have used other rental companies in the past and were extremely satisfied. NOT THIS ONE! We would NOT recommend Aunt Bug's to anyone. The garbage cans should have been animal proof -- at night the cans were knocked over and trash strewn around and over the hill -- very unsightly. The government shutdown of the Park already made our vacation stay unenjoyable, but this was the straw that broke the camel's back.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience with our company. We work alongside multiple professional cleaning services in the area, we ask all of our guest too call us if anything was overlooked to where we can make sure the guest is satisfied at the beginning of their stay. We greatly apologize for any inconvenience you and your family experienced with one of our cabins, and we hope too see you and your family again in the future. I will send you out a free night certificate in hopes to make it up too you once again for your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Service is poor
Davis S. from Pinehurst, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2013
The service was aweful. We had fleas in our cabin and were told to wait for an exterminator, rather than immediately move us. We were made to feel like the bad guys when we requested a new place to stay. We were lied to about Steven not having a supervisor (later found it is Shawn Spiezio). Check your BBB rating compared to your competition. Says it all...

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with the property. We have to verify any claim of a infestation before we can move a guest to another owners property. Anytime something like this occurs we will always move the guest to another property, once we establish that there is indeed a problem with the property. We apologize and hope to see you and your family again in the near future. In hopes that you come back we will be sending you a VIP card in the mail, once again thank you for your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

very nice but could've been cleaner and lots of stuff broken
ROBERT S. from GREER, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
We had a great time the cabin was awesome. But there where lots of things broken in the game room,poolsticks only one that worked,darts where all broke and surround sound messed up and the futon in living ro9m was aweful very worn out but besides that loved the place as well as the kids did also would like to return

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We appreciate your feedback. In many cases, we do not always know about every detail regarding furniture, fixtures, etc. until the guests give us their feedback. Since our housekeepers and maintenance workers do not get to use the cabins in the same capacity that our guests do, they don't always spot everything, which is one of the reasons that your feedback is so important to us. It gives us the opportunity to correct issues we wouldn't have known about otherwise. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your cabin experience and for allowing us the opportunity to follow up on your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

ok i gess
PAUL S. from WILSONDALE, WV does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
will we had to fix the drive way after we got there to get in to the cabin and the gas grill wes so nasty we could not use in we called mainance and they sade that there was nothing they could do about it

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback. We have full-time maintenance & guaranteed housekeeping contractors that can tend to any problem that arises. Just give us a call during your stay. We will be happy to follow-up on this issue. Thank you for your stay! We hope you come back & try another one of our beautiful vacation rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Woodhaven
Ron G. from Newton, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013
This is a lovely cabin reasonably close to all attractions and location was pretty private. Nice inside arrangement. Homey despite poor lighting and worn out couch, futon and Mattresses. Game room needs attention: Projector has no sound - would prefer simple tv and dvd to big screen that doesn't work. Hoops game has broken legs and won't stand on it's own. DRIVEWAY IS IN DESPERATE NEED OF REPAIR and has been for some time according to previous renters entries. Most Aunt Bugs personnel friendly, some not very friendly or helpful.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced while staying with us. We will address these issues with management and maintenance. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Disappointing
SARA F. from WILLOW HILL, IL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
This cabin certainly didn't look like the pictures. (I think the pics should be updated at least yearly on the website). Furniture was very old and outdated, couch pictured in front room was in game room instead. It had several rips/tears on it. There was a futon in front room that was in very bad shape, we never sat on it as it looked like it was about to fall thru. Kitchen table was coming apart, at least one of the chairs was broken. Most of the mini blinds were broken or missing. A critter had been in outside garbage can before we got there and trash was littered all around parking area and woods. (this also happened nightly during our stay). Cabin was not very clean, we found trash and food on the floors. Other than that, it was in a good location, very quiet with no traffic. Not too far from town. I definitely would not rent this cabin again, paid too much for the condition it was in. All the staff at Aunt Bugs was friendly and helpful, had no problems with them at all!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you so much for your feedback and I will pass the information along to the owner. We hope you and your family use us again in the future, we have over 180 unique propertis in our program which each and everyone of them are individuall owned. Again we apologize and appreciate your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Woodhaven 1741
A guest from Nashville, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
We had a great time - the big negative for us that would keep us from going back to this cabin was the discomfort of the beds - they need new mattresses! Everything else was great!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with us. We will address the issues that you experienced with the owner of the cabin. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

vacation 2013 july
Leonard f. from Burgoon, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013
cabin is ok just needs some tlc driveway washes out after rains (tile) rough on our car hot tub cover really no where to put it, when in wood for fire pit unless buy it in town ( 5 nights $1043.00) old appliances torn out from crawlspace laying next to cabin .note our stay was nice but a little work would go a long way ! Foos Family,ohio.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

first trip
A guest from williamstown, KY does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013
the res process was fine. but the couch was broke the cabin was not really private one above us and one below there was garbage laying on the hillside and parking area some of the games didn't work. but the cabin was a pretty cabin

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We apologize for any issues you may have experienced with the property and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you and your family reconsider, we have over 180 properties in our program and growing everyday and each and every property is unique and individually owned. Again thank you for your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

a great need for an upgrade
DAVID H. from CHUNCHULA, AL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2013
Rental company was very good to do all they could to correct problems. There were way to many for the money that we paid . Will use aunt buggs again , but dont waist your money on woodhaven #1741.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced during your stay. We will address these issues with maintenance and housekeeping. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Stay
A guest from Murfreesboro, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2013
Overall cabin was great. We enjoyed ourselves and had no major complaints. The kids loved the bunk beds and the projection TV and movie options were great. Amenities were very nice for this cabin. Only minor things not working or limited instructions on how to use, but nothing that would make me not return or not recommend this cabin or Aunt Bug's.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for posting your review. We are happy to hear that this cabin was a great fit for your family! We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

old property
A guest from Mason, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013
the blankets/sheets smelled. black big bugs everywhere in bathtub and bathrooms. grill was in a bad shape couldn't use it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for any issues you had. We offer pest control and are always happy to send them out to address any concerns. We would have been happy to send maintenance out to fix the grill. The sheets were professionally laundered prior to your arrival. Again, our apologies, and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

good trip
A guest from Greencastle, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2013
The only thing that bothered me about the experience was the fact that our power went out and we called the emergency line to let you know and got a voice mail and never a return call.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Woodhaven #1741
Paul B. from Monroe, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013
Cabin was not clean and is need of a lot of repairs. Games were broke and/or missing parts, movies were missing, couch has holes in it, kitchen was nasty. Rental company would not compensate us for the uncleanliness of the cabin. They actually wanted me to talk to the cleaning company, which I did not because I rented the cabin from them. We will not be staying with Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals again. They do not stand behind their cabins that they rent for cleaniness, upkeep and high standards.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you dealt with during your stay. We will address these issues with the housekeeping and the owner. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not happy!!!
A guest from CINCINATTI, OH does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2013
I was very dissatisfied!! The game room was nothing like the pictures the surround sound did not work therefore we weren't able to watch movies on the projector screen and that was the WHOLE reason I choose that cabin!!! The air hockey table was one hair away from falling apart when we arrived we had to search under furniture to find missing pool balls so that we could play pool. The jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom was not cleaned well there was mold around the jets and the hot water didn't last long enough to fill it up not even enough to reach the jets so it was pointless to even get in there

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so sorry for any experience you and your family had on your vacation with our company. We try our best to make sure each and every guest is satisfied, even to go as far as to each and every guest to do a walkthrough at the property when they first arrive and let us know if they find anything wrong with their property. This way we can fix all if any issues at the beginning of the stay. We do hope that your and your family gives us a second chance in the future. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience, and in attempt to make it up to you we will be sending you out a VIP card you can use on over 180 different you Steven
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very Disappointing for the money
A guest from DANIELS, WV does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2013
The gas fire place did not work (out of propane). The hot tub was not filled and there were leaves and dirt (indoor hot tub). All of the remotes were broken/dead batteries. Game room not vacuumed. Surround sound didn't work. Water was not hot enough for showers/baths. Very disappointed. Aunt Bugs would not refund any money and were not very concerned with our complaints.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience and we do hope you and your family gives us a second chance in the future. We have over 180 unique and individually owned properties to choose from. We will send you out a VIP card in hopes to make it up to
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties