Romantic 1 BR Pigeon Forge Cabin in the Wears Valley Area...

1 br Sevierville Cabin


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Cabin

Bed/Bath:  1 / 1.5

Sleeps:  4

Pets:  Yes

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$132 - $283 per night

$687 - $1,689 per week

$3,866 - $5,745 per month

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Romantic 1 BR Pigeon Forge Cabin in the Wears Valley Area with Jacuzzi

Cedar Creek Crossing near Pigeon Forge, TN
Beautiful log cabin with open floor plan that offers a gas fireplace, in-room jacuzzi, covered hot tub, & King bed in the loft. This log cabin is in a romantic wooded area just 4 miles from Light #3 in Pigeon Forge. This romantic getaway cabin offers premium furnishings, big flatscreen TV with Netflix capability, mountain views, wifi internet access, and a pool table too! Call and book your vacation today! You will LOVE Hidden Romance cabin!

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Other

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Convenience: Pet Friendly
* Entertainment: Satellite TV, DVD Player, Pool Table, Internet, Wi-Fi
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Stove, Dishwasher, Utensils
* Living: Central Air, Air Conditioning, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, Central Heat/Air, Fireplace - Gas
* Outdoor: Hot Tub, Decorated for Christmas

Owner/Manager last updated on 12/04/2016

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  December   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  January   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  February   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28        
  March   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  April   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  May   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  June   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  
  July   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  August   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  September   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  October   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  November   2017  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Air Conditioning
  • ·Jacuzzi
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
Activites
 
Property Reviews 
Hidden Romance
A guest from Greenwood, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2016
Very nice vacation only thing bad was the remote for the TV in the bed roomdid not work.....

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

never again payed alot of money for hot tub not to work??????
A guest from Cedar Lake, IN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2016
cabin was fine until we called about the hot tube not working!...said someone was goning to come and fix it...never showed!...should have been check before we got to cabin...will not recommend anyone here or go back

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our stay at Hidden Romance #1404
A guest from Sun Prairie, WI recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2016
Had a good time in the Smokies! Lovely cabin in a nice and quiet area. We found the bed kinda hard and would have loved some more pillows to choose from (hard/soft)We had everything we needed and the hot tub was great to relax in after a long day out in the Smokies.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

BAD VACATION WITH AUNT BUG CABINS
A guest from Ardmore, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2016
WILL NOT STAY AGAIN, TO MUCH OF A PRICE FOR WHAT DONT WORK , BOTH TVS DIDNT WORK COULDNT WATCH TV, BATHTUB UPSTAIRS LEAKED IN FLOOR BELOW , BEDS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE, WILL NOT STAY HERE ANYMORE, WE WILL STAY WITH ANOTHER CABIN RESORT.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Smokey Mountain Getaway
A guest from Fairdale, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2016
We had a great time staying at Aunt Bugs . The cabin was great. It was in a great location, close to many attractions but far enough away to feel that country feeling. We could see a mountain from our front yard.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cabin Review
Lisa E. from Chapmanville, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2016
The Cabin was clean, neat, and cozy. The only problem we had was with the TVs. Hard to get them to pick up a channel and then the signal would be lost when the channel was changed. But, overall, it was very nice and quiet. Would stay again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved it!
Kenneth H. from Mustang, OK recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2016
Very clean cabin. Good comfortable bed.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

one ****** up place
William C. from Kingsport, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2016
our stay at your cabin was horrible, when we arrived the pool sticks for the table were broke so someone from maintenance brought some new ones... then we went to get in the hot tub and it kept throwing the electrical breakers in the box. the air conditioning was not working and you folks sent people to our cabin 4 times to fix the problems. lastly the tv did not work in the cabin and you sent 2 more people out to fix that. i have stayed at eagles ridge and hidden mtn. for years and their cabins and service far outweigh yours. i reported all this to your officw manager and was told they would make it up to us but have seen no attempt to do so. my nuber is. if i havent heard from you folks soon I promise you an anti aunt bugs cabin campaign to include facebook,blogs, comments, newspaper, BBB, etc. I have never been teated like you folks treated us in any lodging reservation. thank you for your time and effort in ths matter
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Can't wait to get back
A guest from Cheasney, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2016
Awesome

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful weekend getaway!
Kara J. from Loretto, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2016
This is the second time we've stayed with Aunt Bugs and it is always a laid back stay with an easy check in/out process. Staff are very accommodating they even called to ensure we would make the check in deadline!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Enjoyed the experience in the Mountains
Larry P. from Crofton, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2016
We enjoyed the cabin, it was a beautiful cabin really enjoyed our stay.We would recommend this cabin too anyone.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Best relaxing vaction ever
Dennis B. from Allen Park, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2016
Very relaxing beatiful cabin

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Little Getaway
A guest from Saint Peters, MO recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2016
We had such a lovely time! We were just pleased with everything! We plan to do it again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hidden romance
Braeloch Log H. from Logan, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in January, 2016
Keep in mind I am log home builder and may be more critical than others1. windows and doors need sealed cold air gushes in around jams to the extent curtains billow and furnace has hard time keeping up2. couple boards on ceiling loose and hanging3. need pressure tank installed ? water splatters when first turning on faucets4. not enough hot water supply could not fill jacuzzi tub 5. hot tub water cloudy and smelled6. seriously buy some silverware and glasses that match just reflects badly7. layers of dust and dead insects mainly on windows and corners and in cabinets8. little un-nerved about direct view from street into bedroom upstairs mainly at night, the screens helped but we constantly moved them for our privacy9. curtains mis-matched10. very dark in upstairs shower felt like closet lighting issue ?All in all we were comfortable , location was great and close to all attractions and amenities and quiet neighborhood comments are merely to help owners address small issues others may be concerned with

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Christmas 2015
Richard S. from Simpsonville, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in December, 2015
Overall a very nice cabin and very nice people. We enjoyed the stay and would definitely return but there were some items in disrepair inside and outside the cabin. Some of which appeared to be things that were damaged by a previous guest's pet (front door drapes, pool table pockets). We were charged $150 in advance for our dogs to stay in the cabin so I feel if you are going to charge someone a pet damage deposit you should at least repair the damage from the previous guests' pet before the next guest arrives. Also we dropped a dvd behind the TV and when we rolled the TV out to get it there was a huge amount of dirt, debris, food crumbs and hair under there. Again overall it was really great but you asked so I am telling you.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing feedback about your experience with our rental company. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you, during your stay! Your information is greatly appreciated and will be very helpful to us in creating a more positive experience for future guests of this cabin. We appreciate you, and hope you enjoyed your trip to our area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great cabin and location
A guest from Cincinnati, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2015
Cabin was very neat and clean. The location for us was great. Not too far from town. The only fault was we do a little cooking and the had no knifes for cutting. Only steak knifes. The other thing was no sport channels. Really need espn. Otherwise, very nice. Would come back.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Vacation Cabin clean with easy acess to Pigeon Forge
William J. from Kirksville, MO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2015
Perfect location wooded property in the back off the deck quiet for relaxation.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Surprise Get a Way
Steve L. from Jefferson, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2015
Pet friendly, Quiet, Excellent trip.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

May 2015 Stay at Hidden Romance
LINDA M. from AKRON, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2015
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Hidden Romance Property. The upstairs was like a suite and the layout of the floor plan was good. The bed was a little more firm than we like but overall we enjoyed our stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

1404 Hidden romance
A guest from Woodville, FL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in March, 2015
The cabin was ok. I t had cobwebs in the corners and mice in the walls that you had to listen too especially atnight. The view is not as described on website so we did not use back deck and the jacuzzi did not hold water. Location was close to everything and the staff was excellent I would xontact Aunt Bugs again but not for this particular cabin. I paid a lot of money and should have got my monies worth. This cabin is not worth what I paid and that was disappointing.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience with our cabin rental, and the services you received from our rental office. We are sorry that this cabin did not meet your expectations, and for the issues with the jacuzzi! Call us when you are ready to plan your next trip, and we will find you a cabin that you will be more happy with. We appreciate you, and look forward to seeing you for future visits!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Positive Experience
Reviewed by: Jessica H. recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2015
Overall this was an awesome retreat. The first night there were wasps in the cabin but after killing them we didn't see any more during our stay. Only petty complaints outside of that. Pillows on the bed were really, really flat. Overall it was an awesome experience.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Honeymoon weekend
A guest from Rome, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2015
I enjoyed my stay at the hidden romance cabin. It was overall clean, great location.We were satisfy with the quality of the furniture.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at "Hidden Romance", and found the cabin to be clean and in a great location! Thank you for staying with us, and for providing us with feedback about your stay. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice and relaxing
Kim C. from Lizella, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in January, 2015
The cabin was clean and relaxing.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you enjoyed a clean cabin and relaxing time during your stay! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

House of Mouse
Todd N. from Morristown, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in November, 2014
This property is in dire need of an exterminator. We had a constant battle with wasp which was an obvious problem since they had 3 cans of repellent in the closet. Every night we had the displeasure of being awaking by rats or squirrels in the walls. When I checked out early on a Sunday I left a message with maintenance to report these issues and didn't get a response. I received this email for a review and called to give Aunt Bugs a fair chance. The lady I spoke with could care less. The cabin itself was in a good location and perfect for a couple or small family. Overall it was clean and fairly equipped for light meals. I just hoped the owners take care of their critter problems.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry for any issues you experienced during your stay with us! Our records do not show that you reported any issues during your stay, and when you contacted us after your departure, you were asked to submit an email, so we could address this. A "fair chance" would have been to report this during your stay, and not prior to posting a negative review. All of our cabins participate in a routine monthly maintenance program for pest control. While we do our best to minimize issues, we cannot completely eliminate all issues and is probably why the cans of repellent are available for the guest's convenience. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

bees, non helpful staff, do not recommend
A guest from Sebring, FL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2014
bees infestation outside of cabin and INSIDE the cabin (staff said it was a nature problem, not their problem), non helpful staff, bad service do not recommend

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback about your stay. We are sorry for any issues that you experienced with bees and that you felt the staff was not helpful to you. This information will be forwarded to management to address this issue. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hidden Romance
A guest from FINDLAY, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
We have used Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals before and will again. Great service. This particular cabin didn't live up to our expectations for a couple in our sixties. We didn't like going upstairs to the only bedroom. It seemed like we were up and down all day long. It was only a couple of miles from Pigeon Forge so that was convenient. I would say a great cabin for a young couple with no kids.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us, again and providing feedback about your cabin rental! We are sorry that you didn't like the floor plan of this particular cabin. Call us when you are ready to make your next reservation, and we will help you to find a cabin more accommodating for you! We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Weekend getaway
MITCHELL L. from BLOOMINGTON SPRINGS, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014
Great place to stay! Will be back

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your cabin rental with Aunt Bugs! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you, and look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

geeat cabin but very poor management service
BRENDAN H. from Springfield, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2014
Cabin was great overall but a few minor problems and complaints went unaddressed by aunt bugs. Pull out couch was broken and another air mattress was requested three times but not even a reply! Pool cues were broken as well. Finally there were no chairs as listed so we couldnt all sit on the patio. The only reply from aunt bugs was that they dont own the cabins so the owner must have done that. No efforts whatsoever to improve our stay and we called twice and emailed three times. The hot tub and Jacuzzi were great as was the grill. A dresser or something upstairs wouldve been nice...nowhere to unpack clothes. The view was somewhat disappointing off the back porch.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
I am sorry that you were not happy with your cabin rental! Additionally, I am sorry that there were no longer any chairs on the deck for your to utilize. The removal of the chairs, was an owner decision and that is what you were told on the phone when you called about that. One of our staff members did try to contact you regarding the bed situation, and noted on your reservation that she was not able to leave a message on the phone number you gave us. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your rental experience with our company. Thank you for your business, and your feed back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great
David A. from Sterrett, AL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2014
Great!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are glad you enjoyed your cabin rental stay with Aunt Bugs! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your business, and your feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great getaway
JOHN B. from DALLAS, WV recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2014
Employees very polite and professional. Cabin very neat and clean. Everything was as advertised and more. My wife and I enjoyed this vacation very much. Thumbs up to the staff at Aunt Bugs.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Mr. Bungard, we are so glad you were happy with your Aunt Bugs cabin rental experience, and enjoyed your vacation! Thank you for your positive review! We appreciate your business, and look forward to your next stay with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Needs some TLC
A guest from Clarksville, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in January, 2014
Cabin is nice, just needed a bit of cleaning (spiderwebs, dusty) and also needed some repairs. Electronic door lock was difficult to lock, door handle loose, tiles coming off on tub. If they address these issues, it would be a very nice cabin.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Marty, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your rental experience in one of our cabins. I apologize for the issues you experienced, and will forward to the appropriate person(s), so we may correct this for future guests. Thanks, again! I hope you will consider Aunt Bugs for future cabin rental stays.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Goats on a Roof
A guest from FAIRFAX, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2013
Overall this was a pleasant visit. Close to everything yet far enough to be secluded.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your cabin rental stay, and look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Privacy??
Terry D. from Gatesville, TX does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
When we arrived at our cabin we were very surprised to find other cabins so close together! When we viewed the online photos we had no idea. Sure the place was clean...very clean in fact but when you rent a cabin and go out on the back deck to enjoy the hot tub you would think it would be private! Not so! Anybody in the cabin next door could see us and no privacy wall or anything to put around hot tub for privacy. When you think of a cabin getaway you think privacy away from all the big city stress. Although it was relatively quiet when you walked outside and could see so many cabins so close....you got the feeling of being in the city. We will do more research next time for this area. Love the area but the cabin locations could use some work...maybe advertising that you will have next door neighbors would help!!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am sorry your cabin was not in the location you were hoping for. Thank you for your business and your feedback!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Vacation
John S. from Valley Mills, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
The cabin was very nice and very clean. The name of the cabin was not the right name for this place. "Hidden Romance" was expected to be more secluded than what it is. Other than that everything was great and we would stay again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback about your cabin rental stay. We are glad you liked the cabin, and look forward to your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Quiet
A guest from VERONA, Pennsylvania recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2013
Quiet area. Wish it was closer to the Mountain as not interested in the "Vegas Strip" of Pigeon Forge. Employees should know cabins (visit) so they can recommend location and amenities. However, cabin was very clean and area was quiet and peaceful.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you Ms. Schall for your much appreciate feed back on your cabin stay. We look forward to assisting you with your future visit to the Great Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Had a wonderful stay.
A guest from Clayton, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
The staff were helpful and professional. The cabin was in great shape. we had all the conveniences we needed. The cabin was conveniently located and easy to get to from all directions. We had a blast.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your very Kind Words. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you on your future trips to the Smoky Mountains. Most of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Wonderful Place
A guest from Eupora, MS recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
We liked every thing except the tv collection on channels had no movie channels

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Hidden Romance!!! Come back and see us again soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

I'm from Spartanburg, not Spartenburg
A guest from Spartenburg, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
Relaxing. As another reviewer said, the pictures on the website need to be changed. Half of them are for the cabin next door.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We will address the issues with the pictures of the cabin with the maintenance on the website. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The perfect getaway
A guest from MEMPHIS, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013
The house was beautiful, we love the way it was decorated the scenery was breathtaking had a change reconnect with each other,relaxing it was so peaceful we truly enjoy ourself.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you taking the time to offer us feedback about your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Have a talk with your cleaning staff!
A guest from Moline, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013
We asked for a private cabin and was told it was very private. Not at all! We had other cabins all very close to us. Then when I picked up the broom out of the closet to sweep,( many, many cobwebs,) I had a surprise guest who maybe stowed away in the bristles of the broom. A small scorpion! I had never seen one and was quite shocked! We didn't call management though, I just swept him out the back door and into the woods. The power went off every morning and we didn't have much of anything but local advertisements to watch on the television. The dish had nothing to offer but pay channels! Meaning if you wanted to watch any movies, you had to pay for them! The coffee tables had loose legs on them, a vase was chipped, and the hand rail on the back porch was quite loose. Also the coffee pot had mold in the bottom where it hadn't been cleaned. The end tables and other furniture had seen better days. Needs updating. I would definitely have a talk with your cleaning staff! They need to keep you informed of the state of the cabin! All in all though it was a pleasant get away.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced while staying with us. We will address these issues with maintenance and housekeeping. Thank you for staying with us! We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice for the price, but has privacy issues!
Gregory C. from Boonsmill, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay but the cabin needs a deep cleaning and updated d├ęcor as well as some new patio furniture and grill outside on the back deck. The only other thing I would suggest is a better way to block the view from outside into the cabins bedroom, the screens that are used can be seen through and you have NO privacy! I would recommend some type of remote blinds in the window or a curtain across the balcony part that can be opened and closed at night You have to make sure the lights are off before undressing to get in bed BIG THUMBS DOWN on privacy!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us. We will address the issues with housekeeping and maintenance. We hope to accommodate you again on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. We will address the issues and improvements with maintenance and housekeeping. We hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the Smoky Mountains.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

distrespected manger
DOROTHY N. from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2013
the pull out was broken,and the gave a air mattress,without fixing the pulloutknowing i informed them before i rented that my husband and myself was in our late 70,with two greatgrandchildren,one boy,one girl,and we had to sleep with them .and i called the manager,and she was acomplete *****.she said it was my problem after i rented the cabin,so do not advise anyone to rent from aunt bugs .

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Wow I am so sorry this must have transpired on my days off. My name is Steven and I am the customer service manager, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the desk staff. The procedure for the broken pull out sofa was right on, all we can do is provide you with a blow up air matttress whcih in my opinion is by far the more comfortable option. We do not own the properties when something like that happens with any of the properties we do the best we can do but with major fixes like that its up to the owner. Thank you so much for your feedback and I will speak with Jeannie, we hope you change your minds and gives us a second chance.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Expected more for that much money I felt like I got ripped off.
Larry B. from Old Hickory, TN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2013
First Day I sat down in the rocking chair on front pourch it broke called and this guy came and got it waited and two days later he came back by and said he threw it away i thought he was going to bring one back. TV was terriable wont be coming back

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We are sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced during your stay. Thank you for staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice Cabin
James D. from Allenton, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in May, 2013
The cabin was in a beautiful location and away from all the touristy stuff.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you so much for staying with us! That is one of the great things about our area; you can be away from it all but still have access to all of the attractions. Thanks for your positive review, we look forward to helping you plan your next visit! Please mention that you've stayed with us before and we can offer you a repeat customer discount.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Decent Cabin
A guest from Beckley, WV does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
Overall the cabin itself was in good condition. The furnishings were nice and of good condition. The bedroom is on the second floor with a huge picture window. There is no blind or curtain covering the window. Included is 2 privacy panels that can be arranged to create privacy. However, there needs to be a third panel for optimum privacy. Upon arrival the cabin seemed to be cleaned and in good order. However, when using the hot tub later that evening it had a green tint and a stale smell. Later while eating dinner, we discovered two cockroaches. When going to bed, we turned down the covers and discovered hair all over the sheets. Even the extra sheets for the pullout sofa bed that were in the closet had hair all over them. We ended up going to a Family Dollar the next day to purchase laundry detergent so we could wash the sheets ourself. When checking out we called the Aunt Bugs office and informed them of the problems we had with our cabin. The lady on the phone did not seem to care and tried to get us off the phone as quickly as possible. She informed us that the sheets are taken to a professional laundering service. If this is true, either the sheets were never changed at our cabin prior to our arrival or Aunt Bugs is getting ripped off. I don't think we will stay with Aunt Bug's again. There are plenty of other rental companies in the area.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the mountains and liked the cabin. We do apologize for the issues you reported. Our cleaners guarantee their work and would have been happy to address your concerns had you notified us prior to checking out. Unfortunately we have no way of correcting problems if they are not reported to us. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hidden Romance
DAWN C. from HAWTHORNE, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in May, 2013
Loved the cabin even though the pics we seen were to the cabin next door. The loft bedroom was VERY exposed. Need tint on the windows for privacy. Everything was very clean and smelled nice, that is always important. We absolutely loved this little cabin and would rent from Aunt Bug's again !!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed the cabin. We hope you will come visit us again soon.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Vacation 2013
DAVID T. from MISHAWAKA, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in April, 2013
Loved the cabin! No issues what so ever. Everything was clean and organized when we arrived.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you for posting your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time and loved the cabin. We hope you will visit again soon.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Weekend Getaway
Vicky T. from Lexington, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2013
The cabin is beautiful and very well taken care of. It was very clean and comfortable. We will definitley plan on renting from Aunt Bug's in the future. Overall a great stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

No need to look any further !
David M. from morris, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2013
This cabin was everthing we wanted and more.Very clean,and a very short drive to pigeon forge.Had a great time!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Come back and see us soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Getaway Weekend
A guest from West Carrollton, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2013
Overall very happy with the experience. Only wish the shower was a bit bigger and there was more privacy with the hot tub on the back deck. The neighboring cabin could see us from their windows.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for staying with us. Please give us a call when you are planning your next Smoky Mountain vacation and we will be happy to help you find the perfect cabin.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Hidden Romance #1404
A guest from DEERFIELD, WI does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2013
We ended up in Hidden Romance after our initial cabin was so high up the mountains that there were roads we had to back up and then go foward to just make it up to the cabin, no one's fault except whoever designed the road! Stupid! Everytime we would want to leave we would have to put up with that ridiculous road/driveway. When we walked in the floors were dirty, pool table was disgusting and miniture. I realize most people could care less about a pool table, especially when you have kids, but we enjoy shooting pool and were looking very much to playing. Hidden Romance had good roads and location. The place was filthy, there was dirt and hair along the walls in the bathroom, jelly on the table and underneath by the legs of the table. Pool table had dog hair all over it. Maybe my expectations are too high but when I'm spending over $100 to stay in a cabin for enjoyment and relaxation, I except it to be it tip top shape! Plus, the air condioner unit kept making this god awful sound the entire time, the front lights were burned out, helpful when you are loading/unloading your car in the dark, the fan on the fireplace didn't work, the TV channels were pitiful! Talk about disappointing to want to soak in the jacuzzi and have basically no movie channels to watch or DVDs to watch like the binder said.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your issues with the property. We greatly apologize for any inconvenience you and your family may have experienced with one of our properties. We do hope to see you and your family again, and in attempts to make it up to you we will be sending you a VIP card for a future free night stay. We have over 180 unique properties for you to choose from. Again we apologize and thank you for your
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Place
Jason S. from Blue Ash, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2013
Hidden Romance was a great cabin to rent for a getaway. Literally 7 minutes to the Pigeon Forge strip. Private and comfortable living conditions. Cabin was very clean. Best Valentines Day i have ever had.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Aunt Bugs Cabin Rentals
We want to say Thank You for staying with us over Valentines Day in 2013 and we hope that you will be back to stay with us again for Valentines Day in 2014!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties