Haywood House (Id 1071)

1 br Savannah Home - Ocean nearby


Contact Manager

Property Type:  Home

Bed/Bath:  1 / 1

Sleeps:  4

Pets:  Yes

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
Centrally located in the heart of Savannah's Historic District, the Haywood House is adjacent to Colonial Park Cemetery and footsteps to Savannah's squares, shopping, fine eating, St. John's Cathedral and all popular attractions. Our home is rated 98, a walker's paradise, on Savannah's walk score.

Built in 1872 by Alfred Haywood - a British merchant - he established an ice empire in Savannah prior to the Civil War - remained an active participant in Savannah's history and served multiple government positions including Mayor of Savannah. During Sherman's infamous March to the Sea, Haywood is quoted in a Union soldiers' memoirs Love and Valor, about a memorable dinner in occupied Savannah:

"But I must tell you &. We had a very nice civil time. Mr. Haywood was an ice merchant, was worth $100,000 before the war. He lives in a three-story brick, one of the finest residences in the city. The furniture is the nicest I ever saw. He is an intelligent and sociable man, but a full-blooded rebel. But we talked politics all day without getting "excited".

Love and Valor

The Haywood House is now divided into Individual home-owner units with a private tenant/guest courtyard in the rear. Our apartment is on the main level, secured with a tenant keypad-access system on both the front entrance and the apartment door. Recently remodeled with an old-world French influence, the apartment features 4 lovely rooms with 11-foot ceilings.

There is an office nook with desk, high-speed internet, recessed lighting and shelves to store the many historical brochures we've included. A custom-built island in the kitchen allows for additional countertop space, pots & pans shelving, coffered tin backsplash, butcher-block cutting station, table, and comfortable seating for six adults. All cooking, small appliances, spices, cooking essentials, table and glass ware is provided.

The main living room features a coffee bar with parlor seating, fireplace, detailed molding, antiques, and a chase lounge sectional that transforms into a pull-out bed for additional guests. Entertainment needs are met with a flat-screen LCD TV, full digital cable selection, Sony DVD player, and coffee table to play board games. (But only after taking in the multiple historic Savannah sites within walking distance - check our brochures basket for special savings!)

The Master Bedroom is positioned behind a barn-style pocket door from the main living quarters and features a queen bed with European-style down duvet and pillows. There is a matching wrought-iron bed frame and bedside tables, and "princess" style chandelier lighting centered in a canopy of netted lace - intended to make everyone feel like Savannah royalty. Matching chandelier sconces, tableside lamps, and plenty of hanging/storage space in the large Master closet adds to your total comfort. Immediately off the bedroom is access to the bathroom's full-size tub, shower, towel rack, swimsuit and clothes hangers, granite vanity, and luxuriously appointed accessories. There are plenty of thick towels, an 1875 watt hairdryer and storage for your personal toiletries.

The home's washer and dryer, full-size ironing board and iron allow you to minimize time spent away from the many historical and fun activities that surround you.

Notes:

Parker's: This local market is located kitty-corner to the Haywood House and is an excellent resource for any and all shopping requirements - with an eye for gourmet pre-cooked meals, breakfast, beer & wine selection, cheeses, snacks and Savannah guide maps. A large Kroger is several blocks away for full shoppings.

McDonough's Pub: Across from Parkers, it provides casual dining and an Irish pub atmosphere. For fine dining, we recommend both the 1790 Inn & Restaurant and The Pink House, only a few steps further, providing the best of historic Savannah eateries with great food in an historical setting. Great wine list.

Ghost Watchers: Located across Abercorn St. from the Colonial Park Cemetery built in 1750, the property is rumored to be built over the South-East section of the original cemetery and countless stories of ghosts, graveyards, and sightings persist. Particularly, when Abercorn Street was excavated during recent sewer renovations, multiple unknown graves were discovered. The Pirates House is also within walking distance. Pick up the trolley directly across from our home.

St. Patrick's Day: Parade route is directly down Abercorn in front of our home, Don't miss the horses, costumes, and week-long celebration!

St. John's Cathedral: attend services Sunday morning in Savannah's most historic and beautiful church.

Please note that a longer nightly minimum may be required during peak season dates, holidays or special events.




Additional Notes:
Bedroom 1: Queen size bed
Queen size sleeper sofa in Living Room

 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  November   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  December   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  January   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  February   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29          
  March   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.
 
Amenities
  • ·Air Conditioning
  • ·Cooking Utensils Provided
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Linens Provided
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Iron and Board
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
  • ·TV(s)
  • ·Washer/Dryer (private)
Activites
  • ·Boating
  • ·Cycling
  • ·Deep Sea Fishing
  • ·Fishing
  • ·Golf
  • ·Hiking
  • ·Live Entertainment
  • ·Mountain Biking
  • ·Paragliding
  • ·River
  • ·Scuba/Snorkel
  • ·Shopping/Restaurants
  • ·Surfing
  • ·Swimming
  • ·Tennis
  • ·Walking
  • ·Water Skiing
 
Property Reviews 
Great Trip and Perfect Place
Keukabird from Rochester, New York,
Stayed for 0 days in October, 2012
We loved our visit to Savannah and this was the perfect place to stay! We had heard wondeful things about Savannah and wanted to explore the famous "squares" in the city center ; visit some of the incredible historic sites ; and enjoy some of the shopping and resturants. We did everything and all within walking distace of this perfectly placed condo . Cute as can be ; fresh and clean ; with all the updates and amenities! 'Forty paces' to a convienient upscale/gourmet deli for top shelf wine and lots of tasty goodies. High marks from us ... this is simply a great place to stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation

Location, period.
Iristhetraveler from Atlanta, Georgia,
Stayed for 0 days in June, 2012
It's a great location. If that's all you want, go for it. We found the agents to be unresponsive to details and felt we had to fend for ourselves - even to the point of going out to refresh the toilet paper supply! Bring your own soap, too. The entry instructions we were given were not accurate - the entry code does not work. We also lacked sheets for the sofa bed as promised. The space is very small and the door between the two rooms does not close, so don't plan on privacy between the sleeping spaces. The decor is "early Ikea". Looks good, but no comfortable place to sit, put your feet up, read. Go for the location, period.

Property Manager Response:
Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your stay with us in Savannah.

Savannah Getaways offers self-catering homes, condos, apartments, carriage houses, etc. in the historic district of Savannah. You were told in the confirmation letter that you received when you booked that you would need to bring any and all personal needs such as soap, shampoo, hair dryers, food items, etc. and that basic amenities are supplied. Savannah Getaways was never contacted by you during your stay. If we do not know about it, we cannot fix it. We would have been glad to assist you with any and all concerns.

We do have a dedicated person who answers an emergency line (which I’m assuming you called). If for any reason that person was not able to assist you, our phone number is also listed on your instructions so you certainly could have called us as well. Our apologies if there were issues getting you what you needed in a timely fashion.

The entry instructions for this property are the same that were given to the guest before you and the guest after you and they were able to get in with no problem, so I’m sorry if you had trouble with this. We have confirmed via e-mails that were sent to you that the instructions were correct.

Regarding the sheets for the sofa bed, they may not have been put on the bed as they are not typically left on the bed because when people spill things or drop crumbs into the couch it would get them dirty, but they were in the property.

We’ll certainly check on the issues with the door not closing, though we haven’t heard complaints from any guests that stayed after you regarding this.

We appreciate your feedback.
 
Overall Satisfacation

Romantically beautiful
WorldTraveler from Canada,
Stayed for 0 days in November, 2011
I stayed at the Haywood House for a long weekend with a significant other. When I first opened the door, I was so surprised by how warm and cozy the house is. I have traveled many places, and when I look for accommodations, I typically like to stay at a place that has the "feel" of the location I am visiting. In other words, when I was looking into visiting Savannah (for the first time), I was looking for a place that would scream, "Savannah!" I think this is the perfect place. If you are looking for something that is just like every other place you have seen before, then perhaps look into the hotel chains. The location is absolutely wonderful. We arrived, parked our car, and never used it again the whole time we were there. The condo is walking distance to everything. I loved Parkers (mentioned in another review), which is a mix between a small grocery store, special foods store, and restaurant. We walked over one afternoon and picked up a lovely bottle of wine and some nice chocolates, which we enjoyed back at the house. In terms of the accommodations inside the house, we did not use the kitchen much although it looked clean and fully equipped. The bedroom is on the smaller side, but the bed was so comfortable that I actually lifted the sheet to see if I could find enough information to buy the same linens. =) The house is perfect for a romantic getaway. I would also recommend it for a girls weekend.
 
Overall Satisfacation

Perfect Location
fleuryla from Athens, GA,
Stayed for 0 days in December, 2010
We stayed here this past weekend for NYE and had a wonderful time! The rental is an apartment inside the Haywood House off of abercorn St. It was lovely! There were 4 in our party. There is one gorgeous bedroom and attached elegant bathroom, and the sofa folds out into the largest sofa-bed I have ever seen- our friends told us it was extremely comfortable. But, there is no privacy at all. The bedroom is seperated by a glass window pocket door, with not curtains or anything, and there is about a foot gap from the bottom of the door to the floor- so literally no privacy. We were staying with very close friends so this wasn't an issue. They also accepted our 2 small dogs and left water bowls, which was a lovely touch. The kitchen is gorgeous as well- the house is decorated in very clean manner and everything seemed rather new. The location is perfect. Halfway from River Street and halfway to Forsyth Park, everything we wanted to do and see was a 10 min walk or under from the front door. The price was reasonable for NYE, and the courtyard (no direct access from the house-but the windows in the kitchen face the courtyard) was quaint and cute. Overall a wonderful place to stay with a perfect location! Next time though, we would not invite other guests to stay so we could have it all to ourselves! (Parkers market is almost directly behind the apartment and a wonderful place to get gourmet pre-prepared foods, and beverages, open 24 hrs!)
 
Overall Satisfacation

 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager

   Telephone Inquiry:
Toll Free: (888) 566-1862

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties