2Br Upper East Luxury Craftsman Cottage, Minutes to Downtown

2 br Santa Barbara Home


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Home

Bed/Bath:  2 / 1

Sleeps:  4

Pets:  No

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$250 - $379 per night

$1,500 - $2,000 per week

$3,255 - $6,090 per month

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
"As you enter this classic 2BR, 1915 cottage, the feeling is immediately one of true Craftsman charm. This is the perfect retreat for incurably romantic couples or a small family. Located in the prestigious Upper East neighborhood, it is just a short walk to the historic Santa Barbara Mission and Rose Gardens in one direction, and the restaurants and shops of downtown State Street in the other. Hardwood floors, wainscoting, and perfectly restored original doors and windows, all combine to maintain the classic California bungalow style. Its interior is warm, bright and welcoming. Fresh paint and designer furnishings add elegance and individuality to this unique property. From the new Santa Barbara sandstone pathway, you enter the home through a porch-style foyer. This foyer includes a built-in desk, and is accented with wall-to-wall sea-grass carpeting. The living room is filled with contemporary and vintage elegance resting upon newly re-finished original Douglas fir floors. This room is the heart of the home, inviting guests to stretch out on the oversized window seat under original cottage windows, or a goose-down sofa in front of the fireplace. A 50"" Flat screen HDTV and a library of books, movies, and games complete this gathering place. Adjacent to living room is the formal dining room accented by a charming built-in buffet with original leaded glass fronts. The dining table comfortably seats six. The kitchen has been completely re-modeled with stunning handcrafted cabinetry, stainless steel appliances. The romantic master bedroom has an ultra-comfy new California King bed which offers luxurious sleeping in the finest linens, a classic built-in dresser, and a 32"" Flat screen HDTV. Natural light pours through windows overlooking the backyard below. This comfortable and romantic space shares an adorable Jack & Jill bathroom with shower/tub combo with the adjacent bedroom. The second bedroom, with a new plush queen bed, offers a quiet and serene place to rest. More sunshine enters though wrap-around corner windows. French doors open to the living room making it a comfortable sitting room when not in use as a second bedroom. All rooms feature custom drapery and window treatments, fresh paint, and newly refinished original floors. State of the art electronics including DVD/CD player, iPod docking station, flat screen TVs, and a custom stereo system bring the home into the modern era. Enjoy all this while being surrounded with traditional comfort and eclectic antiques of the finest woods and fabrics.
Outside, the backyard offers a peace-filled respite with lush grassy lawn, beautiful outdoor furniture, and a large BBQ and spa. You are invited to harvest the fruit from the trees in our small orchard. Local citrus fruits, exotic mangos, delicious apricots, avocados, tangerines and citrus fruit will be a part of your seasonal meals while on the property. In a downstairs room off the backyard, a private home gym has been created complete with exercise ball, yoga mats, stretch bands and full set of weights. No detail has been overlooked in the creation of this cozy yet luxurious retreat. This Classic Craftsman Cottage offers a peaceful place to relax and unwind. It is a unique and exceptional expression of comfortable style, in the heart of Santa Barbara's Upper East tradition.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Queen

Room Description: Master BR: 1 King, Second BR: 1 Queen

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank
* Children's Amenities: Pack N Play, Booster Seat
* Convenience: Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Outlet Shopping, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
* Culture: Symphony Orchestra, Caves, Live Theater, Zoo, Museums, Botanical Garden, Library, Winery
* Entertainment: Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Wireless Internet
* Geographic: Near Beach, Close to Town, Near Public Transportation, Downtown
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Ice Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Blender, Cooking Utensils, Pots / Pans, Dishwasher, Glassware, Stove / Oven
* Living: Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, Fireplace, Iron, Hair Dryer, Central Heat Only
* Outdoor: Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Fenced-in yard

Owner/Manager last updated on 07/04/2015

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  November   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  December   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  January   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  February   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29          
  March   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  April   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  May   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  June   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Fireplace
  • ·Deck
  • ·Gas Grill
  • ·High-Speed Internet
Appliances
  • ·Blender
  • ·CD Player
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Stereo
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
  • ·Golf
 
Property Reviews 
UCSB graduation weekend stay
Steven I. from Hampton, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2015
The Classic Craftsman Cottage is delightful. It is very handsome, in great condition and is very well equipped. The location is great-only a 10 minute walk to the heart of State Street and 5 minutes to the Mission. We'll be back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very cute house - loved it!
Sharon E. from Austin, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2015
This is a 2 bedroom, 1 bath craftsman style house in a beautiful neighborhood in Santa Barbara. It is very close to State Street, the mission, etc. It was very clean, decorated well and fully stocked with all the necessities. I highly recommend it for small families.

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Hi Sharon,
Thank you so much for the great review. I am so pleased you and your group enjoyed our home and that it met your expectations. I look forward to hosting you again!
Turnkey VR
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Want to vacation on a freeway?
A guest from Corona, CA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2015
Beautiful home, located on 3 way intersection. If traffic noise is something you appreciate, this home is for you. Terrible customer service from Turnkey.

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
We apologize that you felt your stay was unsatisfactory. Our home is nestled on a corner lot off of a slow street in Santa Barbara. In over 5 years of operating as a vacation home, we have never heard any complaint of noise. We immediately looked into the issue when you brought this to our attention and also confirmed that the location is quiet and comfortable with only the noises that are to be expected from a home in the city limits. We are sorry that we were not able to offer you a refund in response to this. Had we felt that something truly was wrong with the home then we would have.
The TurnKey Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sweet little house, well-equipped
Nancy F. from Oakland, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in December, 2014
Pros: We like to spread out a bit (2 of us) and the house was just the right size for that. It's conveniently located although a bit east of ideal for us, in a quiet neighborhood. Cons: the living room never gets much light, but there are lamps for reading, and the second bedroom is filled with light, so we read in there in the mornings. The bathroom is indeed small but has lots of cabinets to put toiletries, so one person at a time can navigate well. Ditto for the kitchen. Spa fairly private down 12 steps from kitchen. No parking out front, but narrow, steep driveway on the side of house. Nice to not need keys for house. Turnkey operates very well, although immediately starts looking for feedback and reviews and doesn't stop until a final review is given!

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Thank you for your kind words. You were great guests, took wonderful care of our home and were a pleasure to work with. We do thrive on feedback from our guests so thank you for letting us know how we are doing. We hope to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great true craftsman house
Craig N. from Honolulu, HI recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in December, 2014
The location is perfect (easy walk to hills, easy walk to State St., easy walk to Playground, no problems with parking, very pleasant neighborhood, quiet, etc.). The house is beautiful - an accurately and tastefully remodeled craftsman true to the original concept. Understand what that means - pleasantly small bedrooms (a plus for us), connected bathroom (a major plus for us), and all of the feel of an older home (small counters, built-in cabinetry, not a lot of extra space - all major pluses for us). We were a family of 4 adults and a 2-year old and had a great week of comfort, lovely mornings, and walks around town. I don't think you can ask for a more authentic Santa Barbara experience - certainly we will be back.

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Thank you Craig!
We would love to have you back!
The Turnkey VR Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely Santa Barbara Home
Shaunna S. from Chandler, AZ recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely property. The home was nicely decorated and clean and comfortable. It was a little warm during our visit but opening the windows and fans provided kept it cool.

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Dear Shaunna,
Thank you for the review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
Typically in Santa Barbara, you do not see a lot of Air Conditioning so I am glad the fans worked for you and that you could enjoy the fresh breeze.
We hope to welcome you back in the bear future!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Charming House and great location
Erin R. from Irvine, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014
We loved our stay at this charming cottage. It was beautiful inside and had everything we needed. It was quiet and very comfortable. The location was perfect for enjoying all of Santa Barbara.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time
Reviewed by: Carol G. recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in September, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Ants where still a problem when we left so maybe more effort on that part. I would also recommend a non skid tub mat.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Long Weekend Rental
Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2014
We rented this property for a couples weekend in Santa Barbara. The house was very clean and decorated nicely. The beds were comfortable and it was stocked with anything you could ask for in a rental home. The grass in the front and back yards was not nearly as plush as the photos display. It actually looked like it needed some attention. We did not use the hot tub as we were too afraid to get complaints from neighbors and incur an extra charge for it (see previous reviews on complaints even during the daylight hours.) The biggest complaint that I have was that no where in the detailed description of the home on vrbo (as well as the many detailed emails that were send after securing the rental)was it noted that the house has no air conditioning. I understand that his is customary to this area, however, when you are on vacation and you arrive in the middle of the afternoon to a home that has been shut up during the hottest parts of the day, not even the best breeze on the coolest day can drop the temperature inside the home. We were forced to get ready for dinners inside a home that was less than comfortable temperature wise. It is honestly a good thing that we had a lot of activities planned outside of the house and did not plan on hanging out there during the daytime, or it would have been very uncomfortable. There are fans in the home that help. However, had this detail been noted, I am not sure I would have chosen this house for this time of year. Overall it was a great experience. I would likely return but in a cooler season.

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Thank you for your wonderful review and yes, it is sad that the yards in front and back are not as plush as in the pictures. Unfortunately, Santa Barbara is in a severe drought and watering is rationed and we are following the rules and regulations and trying to do everything we can to help Santa Barbara through this drought. So happy you enjoyed the house and that even with the heat wave, you were comfortable with the fans and the wonderful restored Craftsman windows. We are lucky Santa Barbara is a city that does not need air conditioning.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

So nice that I wanted yo move there permanently!
Marlan G. from Irvine, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2014
It was perfect! The MasterCard bedroom was so comfortable, and the second bedroom as well. The living room was cozy. We loved the furnishings. The kitchen had everything we needed for making coffee and breakfasts during our stay. We want to return.

Property Manager Response:
Response from TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Hello Marlan,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the review. That's great the house worked out well for you, having a kitchen there is definitely an advantage.
We hope to see you again in the near future!
TurnKey
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A great home from home!
Reviewed by: malcolm j. recommends this property.
Stayed for 10 days in August, 2014
Craftsman Cottage was a delightful place to stay. Very tastefully furnished, clean and well maintained and provided with an excellent range of amenities including Wi-Fi, hot tub,ice maker and beach chairs. It also had a nice garden which provided fresh limes for our evening gin and tonics:-) The cottage location in a very pleasant part of Santa Barbara was also an easy drive to East Beach and State Street. We also found the management service prompt and helpful in responding to our occasional query. We will definitely stay again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Santa Barbara R&R
Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in June, 2014
Just what we needed. Still a bit far from the main shopping area downtown, we loved its location. We weren't there for the shopping and enjoyed the feel of,home once we entered the front door. Our first home rental and definitely won't be the last. Thank you for making our home away for home perfect.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful Property
John J. from Alexandria, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2014
Had a very enjoyable week in the "Craftsman Cottage" with my kids. The home was very well appointed and very comfortable. It's located in the middle of a well-established neighborhood so it feels just like home. The only drawbacks (and they are minor) would be the the single Jack and Jill bathroom and the fact that it's situated on a slightly busy street. It's not a major road, but it appears to serve as a "cut through" for morning commuters, so there's a bit of traffic noise. Again, these are very minor drawbacks. We would definitely rent this property again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Do not stay here.
Reviewed by: A guest does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in May, 2014
I went here with 3 of my friends for a girls weekend. We are in our thirties and were looking for a relaxing Santa Barbara weekend. The neighbors were not having that. Friday night we enjoyed the hot tub until about 11:30PM and were aware of the fact that there were neighbors, took that seriously and made sure to be considerate. I guess that wasnt enough bc I was awaken by the property manager knocking on the door at 8:00AM the next day saying that if we were not quieter the second night they would evict us! Four women in our thirties chatting in a hot tub until 11:30PM is not grounds for eviction. Especially if we were making a conscious effort too respect the neighbors. The next day (Saturday afternoon around 2:30PM) we were sitting in the back yard. My friend yelled a question from the house. Our converesation with the friend from the house went back and forth maybe 4 times and then she went back inside. A neighbor lady came over and yelled at us to keep it down! Speaking to us like we were children. If it was a family with children playing in the yard at that time it would have been MUCH louder and carried on MUCH longer. Basically if you are looking for a relaxing weekend with family or friends this is not the house for you. If you are looking to be scolded at for anything other than being quiet inside the house it might be a good fit. Will not be using turn key again after the way the property manager completely spoke down to me and threatened an eviction. No thanks.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful home - very nicely decorated and had nice amenities.
Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2014
Enjoyed our stay - very nice home and well cared for. There was street noise that was a bit loud at night, but the neighborhood was quiet otherwise. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would consider staying there again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties