Poolside Cottage Efficiency

1 br Sanibel Island Cottage


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Cottage

Bed/Bath:  1 / 1

Sleeps:  4

Pets:  Yes

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$163 - $281 per night

$1,029 - $1,771 per week

$3,930 - $6,750 per month

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
The Kiwi Cottage is a one room efficiency unit that sleeps up to 4 with one queen bed, and one queen sleeper sofa. The unit includes a fully equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, apartment-sized stove and coffee maker, dining nook, flat screen TV, DVD player and free Wi-Fi. The Kiwi offers easy access to the pool and is just a short stroll to the beach. Both units are ground level and are approximately 308 square feet. Unit 110 is also a handicap accessible unit which allows wheelchair access in the bathroom.

Bedding Configuration: 1 Queen

Pets: Cats Allowed, Dogs allowed

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank
* Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Outlet Shopping, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
* Culture: Big Arts Center and Theater, Shell Museum, Ding Darling National Preserve
* Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player
* Geographic: Secluded, On Beach, Close to Town
* Kitchen: Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Oven, Range, Dishware
* Living: Air Conditioning, Linens, High Speed Internet, Wi-Fi, Handicap Accessible
* Outdoor: Gas Grill, Shared Pool, Beach

Owner/Manager last updated on 09/28/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Air Conditioning
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Gas Grill
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
  • ·Golf
 
Property Reviews 
A Trip to Paradise.
Milita D. from Pembrooke Pines, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2014
This was our first trip to the Waterside Inn on the Beach and it won't be our last. It was a perfect beach vacation. I am disabled and our little Kiw cottage #110 was very useable. There was plenty of room in the bathroom, a roll-under sink and a stall shower with a fold down seat. The seat in the shower was too high for me to transfer to independently. There is a handyman, John, who bent over backwards to see to fullfill our every need. He is a true gem of the property. In fact we were so pleased that we plan to come again next year with a few more couples. My only recommendation is that they covert one of the newer condos to be wheelchair accessible as well.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful!!
Sharron J. from Lakeland, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014
We absolutely LOVED our vacation experience at Waterside Inn!! The little cottage was perfect for our needs. Literally 15 steps from the pool and only about 100yards from the beach...this is as close as you can get to the perfect little getaway! Grounds were well kept, cottage was clean and well-stocked. Housekeeping staff and office staff were very attentive and flexible. Absolutely loved every little bit of it. Only drawback to the whole weekend is that we were unaware of the issue with the No-See-Um bugs and were terribly bit up the first night. I even live in FL and never have had that kind of attack from the biting bugs down here! I realize the staff cannot do anything to eliminate but maybe a little info upon check in to warn the visitor. We were way out on the beach with no protection and it was awful that first night. However, with that being said, we will definitely be staying here again!! Thanks!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Extraordinary RetroFlorida Escape!
Ron S. from Gulf Shores, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014
Waterside Inn is a beautiful example of Sanibel past and present. We loved the quaint cottages set among towering palms. We loved stepping out the door of Kiwi cottage and walking right down the sandy lane to the Gulf beach. Our dog was also welcome here. The pool is a refuge surrounded by lush landscaping--very intimate. The cottage and property is immaculately cared for and managed. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice
A guest from Muskego, WI recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014
Kitchenette handy to eat some meals in. Service and desk personnel friendly.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

replace shower hose
John D. from Plantation, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2014
everything was very nice. I would recommend you change the shower head hose in this unit as it is very rusty.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Kiwi Cottage
A guest from Sedona, AZ does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 1 days in June, 2014
I was expecting it to be a lot nicer then it was. Out dated interior, air conditioner got on my nerves, very noisy, but nice location and people were nice.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Relax Yourself
Robin & Sandy F. from Tampa, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 1 days in June, 2014
Had a few days off, needed a rest. Waterside Inn was the Place! We were able to bring our Springer Spaniel,also. We All loved the beach and water. Baily's General Store, Sanibel Grill, Cip's Restaurant and Doc Fords Restaurant all close by and delicious1 Also, The Lighthouse for breakfast, the Best!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Playing and Relaxing on the beach at the Waterside Inn
A guest from Naples, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014
Very laid back feel, our stay was loads of fun. I recommend to use bug spray, we were chewed by no see um's or sand flees I believe at the beach. But our overall stay was good.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Peace and quiet on the beach
Steven S. from York, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in May, 2014
We have stayed here 3 or 4 times and enjoy it more each time. It's peaceful and quiet. We enjoy the Kiwi beach cottage. It's just a few steps from the beach and the pool. Great restaurants are only a few minutes away. Reminds us of the what the Keys used to be.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Best escape
Julio G. from Miami, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in May, 2014
The best
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Love the Location!
A guest from Cheboygan, MI recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2014
This property was expensive for what we received...very basic and dtd in decor. It is small and we had to stand on the couch to read the air-conditioner controls. Between that noise and the motor on the refrigerator next to the bed, I had a hard time sleeping. We requested a second luggage rack so we wouldn't have to put suitcase on floor and were told not possible so that took up couch space which was annoying. This cottage has no screened in area for outside sitting except on the gravel driveway in a busy area.Once settled in, we came to enjoy the property location on the beach and the staff were very friendly. Just a few changes would make it right. Glad to move into condo next door!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

LOVE this place
Libby S. from Hollywood, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 1 days in March, 2014
I am a repeat guest and would recommend Waterside to anyone that wants to just walk out their door to the beach or pool.The staff is always very accommodating.The beach is beautiful, and the shelling is great. The restaurants are close, you have your choice of least expensive to most expensive. You can shop till you drop. There is wildlife refuge, is a great vacation.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Warm up at Sanibel
Thomas L. from Denver, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
On the beach, away from traffic and crowds nice neighbors and staff. What else do you need? Well, a few new beach chairs would be nice.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our stay at Sanibel
A guest from Bynesmille, MO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in February, 2014
We were surprised to see how spacious the room was. We reserved the smallest cottage and expected something smaller. It was beautiful. We were just a very short walk to the ocean and great shelling.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stayed at Kiwi 1 nite till Rasberry open.
A guest from Senecaville, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 1 days in February, 2014
Kiwi was fine altho only one nite there. Changed to Raspberry for 3 nites. Both were clean with nice mattress which is very important. The mantance man brought us champagne as it was our anniversary .He was very friendly and took time to chat a little each day .He is quite an asset to the resort and hope they reize that! He's also a Steeler fan!!!We did miss out on the Friday nite get together due to not being notified by anyone. I suggest a welcome package with info and tips like the wonderful fRmers market on Sundays and sunset get together with neighbors.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Old Florida Charm
A guest from Lewis, IA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in February, 2014
great location, Old Florida charm with one story duplex units. Perfect for relaxation without the crowds of large resorts. Close to restaurants and Ding Darling Refuge. Pool area includes a handicapped chair lift which we did not use but could be essential for some guests. Units were well maintained and attractive.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Friendly Mom and Pop Inn
A guest from Ft. Lauderdale, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2014
The owners of the Waterside Inn are lovely folks whom we've been getting to know over the years. Great location, sadly due to bad weather we left a day early despite paying the extra night.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Spot to Relax
A guest from Suffolk, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2013
My traveling partner and I absolutely loved the Waterside Inn and our stay on Sanibel Island. The beach was literally right outside our door! The cottage was well maintained and the staff were extremely helpful. We had originally planned to stay a week, but after being there for just a few days, I know seven days was not enough and immediately extended my stay for another week! I would highly recommend the Waterside Inn
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

October is the Best
Matthew W. from Ft. Myers, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 1 days in October, 2013
Enjoyed the stay in the cottage very much. Oct is a great time. Not busy at all. Beach to ourselves.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great
A guest from Elgin, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 12 days in July, 2013
see you next year
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Love this place!
Marc Z. from San Jose, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
We came to the Waterside almost every summer while living in Florida. Now that we live in California, we truly missed these relaxing getaways. We had to come back--I know I can always relax and disconnect here.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great price for a place to stay!
A guest from Estero, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013
My family stays at the Breakers West condos each year for 1 week, which do not allow dogs. My husband and I rented Kiwi 110 at the Waterside Inn for 2 nights and brought our dogs with us. The main complaint is that the room gets so sandy, we had to sweep 4 times a day. Bring a couple cheap rugs you can throw away. Otherwise everything was just as expected for the price! We will be returning.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great experience
John D. from Leeds, AL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
Loved the atmosphere and being close to all the family we had staying there in different cottages/condos.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Waterside Inn/June 2021
A guest from Pella, IA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in June, 2013
Relaxing!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Waterside Inn is the Only Inn on the Island for the Handicapped
Kim R. from Saint Petersburg, FL does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
I have been vacationing at the Waterside Inn over the past few years. The Waterside Inn provides minimal/adequate accommodations for the disabled vacationer.During my recent stay, the air conditioner went out in the cottage in the evening. I needed air in the cottage to get me through the night. My husband and I immediately called the office to report the problem and left messages. Unfortunately, no one from the Inn was able to help us that evening. My husband was finally able to get the air conditioner working again. The air conditioner in Kiwi #110 needs to be replaced. The unit is loud and the unit barely keeps the cottage cool. The next morning at 8 a.m. The maintenance person, John, was finally at the cottage to help. I don't feel good that if we have problems in the evening at the Waterside Inn that you can't call anyone and no one is there on the property to help.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Waterside Inn On The Beach
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, however, I must say, we were disappointed with this review and I would like to go over it and see where we went wrong.
After numerous email correspondence with you about your requirements prior to your arrival, we addressed each expectation and had your room inspected several times before check in. Upon your arrival, we also had you inspect the room to make sure it suited your needs. There were no complaints from you at that time. You have stayed with us several times, so it was surprising to see a complaint stating ?The Waterside Inn provides minimal/adequate accommodations for the disabled vacationer.?
Our Kiwi cottage provides a nice gradual ramp with adequate space for a wheelchair to enter this ground floor cottage. The room is equipped with a roll in shower and has a drop down handicap shower seat with a hand held showerhead. We even placed a carpeted mat at the entrance to the doorway to make the transition into the cottage easier for you.
Our swimming pool has a handicap ramp and we will soon be installing a handicap chair lift to the pool deck. We believe we?ve done pretty well at accommodating our older or handicapped guests.
You also mentioned the air conditioners lack of performance during your stay. We experienced a power surge while you were here and that triggered the plug on the A/C to ?trip?. When this happens, all you need to do is press the reset button which your husband did and the unit was fine. These units also do not perform well when the doors or windows are left open and if this is done, the unit will not cool properly.
Your concern that no one was available after hours does not have merit. Our office has always had an after-hours phone number posted next to the office door on a big sign in case of emergencies and we also have a night manager that lives in the office with a door bell to ring to alert him of an emergency. We truly do not know how we could have made your stay
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties