Centrally located historic cottage with screened porch an...

4 br Oxford Cottage


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Cottage

Bed/Bath:  4 / 3

Sleeps:  8

Pets:  Yes

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$457 - $598 per night

$1,735 - $2,282 per week

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Centrally located historic cottage with screened porch and patio garden

We love this cottage for many reasons - the great location - you can walk to everything, particularly our favorite ice cream store - Victors, when there you have to check out the birthday cake flavor, it is to die for. The eclectic kitchen is wonderful for cooking - who needs a center island when you have a big farm table? Perfect for preparing meals from local produce purchased at the Wednesday Oxford Farmer's Market. If you don't feel like cooking no worries, you can bike or walk over to Schooners for a drink and some seafood waterside - check out the local bands every now and again, you'll feel like you are in Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville. Cozy enough for a couple but you may want to bring friends. The dining room is perfect for a big meal with friends and you can slink off to the screened porch with your drinks if you want to avoid doing dishes. The first floor master is ajoined with a fabulous master bath - you don't typically find these in historic homes.

Bedding Configuration: 2 Queen, 2 Twin, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Full

Room Description: This home does not have a landline

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* ATTRACTIONS: Nearby Marina, Walk to Restaurants, Movie Theatres
* DINING_CHECKBOX: Dining
* ENTERTAINMENT: DVD Player, Cable TV, 1 TV
* GENERAL: Central Air Conditioning, Linens, Air Conditioning, Washer/Dryer, Central Heat, Free Internet, FREE WIRELESS INTERNET, Iron & Ironing Board, Linens and towels, Phone, Bath Towels, Washer/Dryer
* KITCHEN: Fully Equipped Kitchen, Full Size Refrigerator, Stove/Oven, Dishwasher, Coffeemaker
* LEISURE_ACTIVITIES: Nearby Outlet Shopping, Sight-Seeing
* LOCAL_SERVICES_AND_BUSINESSES: Nearby Grocery, Nearby ATM
* OUTSIDE: Patio, Charcoal Grill
* SPORTS_AND_ADVENTURE_ACTIVITIES: Nearby Tennis Courts, Nearby Golf Courses, Near Fishing
* SUITABILITY: No Smoking, Dog Friendly

Additional Notes:
Prices include bed and bath linens, and all fees. Pet friendly homes do not have additional charges for up to two dogs.

Owner/Manager last updated on 09/20/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Air Conditioning
  • ·Charcoal Grill
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Linens Provided
  • ·Maid Service Available
  • ·Patio
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Phone
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
  • ·TV(s)
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Washer/Dryer (private)
Activites
  • ·Boating
  • ·Fishing
  • ·Golf
  • ·River
  • ·Shopping/Restaurants
  • ·Swimming
  • ·Tennis
 
Property Reviews 
Review
Wilmer V. from Morristown, NJ recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2014
Great
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A peaceful location, a serene house.
A guest from Lutherville, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014
We just used the first floor, which is the renovated part of the house, and enjoyed its comfort and ease, with nice decorative touches.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice Place for a Family Vacation
A guest from Novelty, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014
We stayed here during the last week of July, 6 of us including 2 kids and 2 dogs. Very family friendly location and great for dogs. Walked to the beaches, park and shops. Did a lot of biking, kids had a great time fishing and caught crabs, fish and even a sting ray! Oxford is a very small town, but it was perfect for a relaxing getaway. Most sidewalks are brick and just walking around town looking at all the houses was enjoyable. We took the ferry to St. Michaels one day. Drove 1.5 hours to Ocean City one day. But, the most fun was just hanging around the town of Oxford and enjoying the sights, swimming, fishing, etc. This house has a great dining room/table, had nice family meals. AC worked great in the house, was hot outside during our stay, so we weren't able to open windows, but didn't notice any noise distractions. House is in a perfect location. House is in need of a deep cleaning, saw cob-webs, soiled area rugs, etc. Eastern Shore Rentals is a great company, very polite and answered all my questions. We had a non-usable grill and within a couple of hours they had a replacement delivered. Would definitely book through this company again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great property, but ants!
Gary M. from Washington, DC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014
This is a neat old house, lots of charm and character, little spaces and nicely remodeled - well maintained and appointed. The sleeping arrangements worked great for our group of six adults and two kids and one little dog. There are just a few things that need to be fixed to make this a great stay. Ants! It was very hot over 4th of July weekend so no doubt the ants were more active, but, pretty much everywhere in the kitchen, there were ants. You couldn't put any food down on any location without the ants finding it. There were traps out, so clearly it is a known issue, but then we had to make sure we moved all the traps from where the dogs and kids would play. The ant issue really needs to be resolved, I wouldn't stay there again so long as it had this issue.Doors stick - a number of the doors are really difficult to open or close properly, including the one to the patio and the one from the guest room to the bathroom. It loses its charm once you spend 5 minutes trying to get a door open or closed. Guest room bed ist kaput. The mattress is really saggy and uncomfortable, frame is old and bent plus it is right against the wall and makes sleeping for two uncomfortable. The family room could use a big wrap around sofa rather than the small love seat and chairs - with more than 4 people we found it uncomfortable to hang out together in the family room - people had to sit on the floor.Despite these minor issues, we had a great stay at Red Shake and suspect you will too - just make sure the ants aren't joining you for the weekend.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Thanks very much for the response. We had Arnesens Pest Control visit the property after your stay to spray for ants. I am so sorry they were a pain during your stay, had you reported while you were in property we would have happily sent out a pest control service to treat while you were there. I will bring up your comments regarding the furniture to the homeowner for consideration. Thanks again and we hope to see you back on MDs Eastern Shore!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Labor Day Celebration
Judy G. from New Castle, DE recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit in this home, that was full of character. The rooms were spacious. We congregated for family dinners around a large table in the festive dining room. We had 3 generations together to celebrate our son's birthday. Everyone loved the town of Oxford. We were able to walk everywhere. The water scenes are relaxing. We took a day trip to St Micheal's. We have many, many happy memories. Thank you for allowing our dog. I would definitely recommend this house. It would be a geat place to share a holiday with family.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

QUIET AND HOMEY--A GREAT HOUSE
Don and Jenny k. from Lutherville, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013
Secluded in the very secluded Oxford, this house is comfortable, and quiet, conducive to relaxation. The management company is very good, quickly responsisve to any questions, and all-around first-rate.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Weekend at the Red Shake Cottage
Thomas C. from Springfield, VA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2013
I think the house was charming and interesting, but there are maintenance issues inside and out that need to be addressed. In particular, the furniture was damaged; i.e. the structure on the main couch is compromised (armrest) and the leg of a recliner broke when my mother sat on it. It appeared to us that the recliner had been fixed before.While the yard was charming and appealing, there was very little yard maintenance and the shrubbery was overgrown. The wood trim on the house is rotting and should be replaced.This house has a lot of potential, but I think some work needs to be done to bring it back to its original splendor. All in all, we had a good time and appreciated the pet friendly atmosphere.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Red Shake
Dmitriy S. from Staten Island, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
Loved the location and lazy atmosphere. Great place to relax with the most delicious seafood nearby.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Title
Donna P. from Ellicott City, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in April, 2013
House needs some attention. No outdoor light at door, broken porch furniture, kitchen in need of supplies and clean junk from usable cabinets, paint has been missing from above the fire place for 3 years. Brown arm chair when guest sat on it. Sofa arm broken and needs to be replaced

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Thank you for your feedback. We have brought these items to the homeowner's attention and will follow up when these items are complete. We are also reviewing these items with our property management staff, as items such as broken furniture and burnt out lightbulbs should be remedied prior to a guest stay during the inspection process. We appreciate your past business at Red Shake Cottage and hope you will return next year and give us the opportunity to earn back your approval.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Oxford is still a great 'get away' spot in the spring...
Dick M. from Hackettstown, NJ recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2013
This vacation brought a little of everything, snow, sunshine for walking around town, good friends and family! After a rough start ( no cable for NCAAs or internet) Jessica got everyyhing settled and we really enjoyed The Red Shake Cottage. If you have animals be aware that the property is not totally fenced as advertised.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Thanksgiving Memories
Jacqueline B. from Mendota, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2012
We had a wonderful time and the house was very nice. The large downstairs bath was a nice surprise! We had an incident the very first night. Our party arrived after sunset. The pole light in the street was out and no exterior lights would work on the house. One of our party tripped and fell hurting her knee because it was so dark. By Friday night the street light had been fixed but we never were able to get exterior house lights to work. The exterior doors had a tendancy to stick but we realize it is an old home that has been very nicely maintained. The beds were comfortable and the supplies that were available helped make our stay comfortable.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
So glad you had a nice time. We are sorry that Oxford experienced an unexpected power outage. Please note our property management team is on call 24/7 to help with any maintenance issues you may be having. We had our maintenance crew check out the exterior lights and we believe it was simply a tripped breaker due to the outage. We appreciate the feedback so we could take care of this for the next guest. Thanks for using ESVR and hope to see you again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Red Shake Cottage, Oxford, Maryland
A guest from Normandy Beach, NJ recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2012
An interesting property and centrally located in Oxford.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Red Shake Cottage
Ashley M. from Arlington, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2012
The house is great! i've stayed there before. Only complaint about the house is the mattress in the master bedroom. Megan at ESVR is always great, and good at what she does. I think there is a new hire that seemed a bit overwhelmed so there were a few hiccups, but nothing that would make me stop renting w/ ESVR.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time in Oxford
Kathleen B. from Allentown, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
Oxford is a lovely,quiet town - the small market just up the street from the cottage was very convenient - the house we rented was large enough for our two daughters, and their families, to stay for a long weekend - it was clean and well stocked with dishes, glassware etc. - we did often travel into Easton or St. Michael's for entertainment (loved the beer and wine tastings in St.M) but also enjoyed the quiet time in Oxford. We had a great time!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

One-of-a-Kind
Don and Jenny k. from Lutherville, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
Our second stay, and every bit as wonderful as the first. The cottage has terrific airconditioning (important for hot humid August, when we stay); comfortable furnishings, a location great for walking to that famous Highland Ice Cream place, the little country store (with great meatloaf on Fridaysi), and so much more. Love this place, and will return next summer (and many more , too!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Couldn't have asked for a better weekend!
Amy G. from Washington, DC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012
The house was really wonderful, the large windows downstairs, all of the natural light coming in and doors leading to the outside spaces was so nice. The master bathroom is absolutely wonderful! I had a small issue with the refrigerator, but I called the 800# for after hour emergency and received a call back in 10 minutes, everything resolved immediately. All of the staff is extremely professional and highly organized! Thank you!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Quiet and Relaxed
Judi E. from Coatesville, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
Loved the character of the house...mixing old with the new. Yard was lovely and since most was fenced in was great for our dog. Were there over July 4th and the weather was extremely hot, but the central A/C did an excellent job of keeping the house cool. Especially enjoyed sitting on the screened-in porch in the morning and evening. Sorry we couldn't utilize the french doors more because of the hot weather. Oxford is a step back in time and we liked the quiet and peacefulness of the town. Suggestions would be: (1) Elderly father uses a walker and there was a shrub over-growing in the walkway that made it difficult for him to navigate part of the walkway. (2) Remote for TV in master bedroom only turned TV on and off - could not change channels. (3) Sound would go off on some channels on TV in great room. (4) Another TV in house would be nice. Would definitely go back to the Red Shake Cottage. Think fall in Oxford would be lovely.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great time
Peter W. from Longboat Key, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2012
Enjoyed my stay, would come back
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Comfortably quiet
Trina W. from Williamsburg, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2012
My Vacation was wonderful, it was quiet and peaceful. I enjoyed the local Church Waters Methodist on the corner. It was truely a blessing, I would love to return this summer.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Excellent Holiday
A guest from Zug, Zug recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2011
Had a great visit to Oxford over the Xmas holidays. Very relaxing and peaceful house and town.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful family visit
A guest from Arlington, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2011
Our family gathered in this property for Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. The house was spacious and in good condition; The large family room, kitchen, and dining room with bench seating let us spend time together comfortably. Everything was exactly as depicted. My two suggestions for improvement would be to (i) get rid of the small appliances which don't work (there were three coffee makers around, only one of which worked), and (ii) find a way to level the bed in the small upstairs bedroom (the floor tilts slightly, presumably because the house is old, which is fine, but we felt like we were going to roll out of the bed at night).

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. As a result, we have had our property management services level the bed and will be certain to have a working coffee maker in the property for the next guest.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

It was perfect
Martha C. from Cazenovia, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2011
Having the house in Oxford made the whole trip a huge success the house was the highlight of the trip. My son loved the house so much he wants his next house to look just like this one.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice experience
Lawrence M. from Kearny, NJ recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2011
Enjoyed our stay in Oxford -- lovely little community. Great Ferry service also.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful week in Oxford!
Patricia G. from Media, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011
Property and location were exactly as described. How often does that happen? We loved the little town of Oxford and can't wait to return. Our only complaint was the mattress in the master bedroom, which was very uncomfortable. The property manager contacted the owner, and it was replaced the very next day. Now THAT's service! Can't recommend the area and ESVR highly enough. Thanks for a wonderful week.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Red Shake Cottage
A guest from Davidson, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2011
A wonderful house for 8 people..nice outside courtyard to entertain...wonderful master bath...great kitchen...lots of linens...only thing...needs more outside lighting by front and especiaaly back door...easy bike ride to all restaurant and yacht club...ample parking
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great House, great vaction
A guest from Yardley, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
Red Shake lived up to our expectations based on all the other rave reviews we read. With 2 small kids, the house was ideally laid out and the fenced in yard gave us peace of mind while outside. Oxford as a whole was a little remote but the Strand beach and Victor's ice cream more than made up for it!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

One-of-A-Kind Wonderful
A guest from Lutherville, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
Location, comfort, style--this cottage has it all, and the management staff were wonderful. Only complaint is the bed in master bedroom: uncomfortable and noisy (no box spring). We'll be definitely back to a charming house in a quaint, tiny hamlet of Oxford.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Wilmotte, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great rental house
A guest from Norwalk, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011
The Red Shake Cottage was the perfect house for 7 adults visiting the area for 4 nights. The house is very spacious and comfortable and the area is beautiful. I'd definitely return.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Lancaster, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

.
Barbara W. from Columbia, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2011
The only problem was with the downstairs bed. The mattress made so much noise,especially getting in and out of bed, that we were uncomfortable with it the entire stay. We don't know if it's just the mattress or the bed itself is part of the problem.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Red Shake cottage was one of 4 houses to be rented by our large extended family.
Donna P. from Ellicott City, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2011
It was not by accident that we stayed in this one. My husband, myself and our grandaughter made a trip in January to see multiple rentals. Red Shake was for us. We came for Oxford Day weekend and had a wonderful time with our children, grandchilren and is a beautiful, thoughtfully decorated, appointed and comfortable home. We hosted a party for 30 family members on Saturday night and what a great house to gather in.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Ashley M. from Arlington, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in March, 2011
The house was great, but the beds were not comfortable, especially the downstairs bed (noone could sleep in it because it was so bad). They need a new can opener and coffee maker. These minor adjustments would make a really big difference. Porch & kitchen were great.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
Thanks for pointing these items out to us. The downstairs bed is a brand new mattress, but ESVR will look into providing a padded mattress cover to help. The home will also be supplied with a new coffee maker and can opener as a result of this review. Thanks again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Washington, DC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Thanksgiving Getaway
A guest from indiana, PA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2010
Great location. Very helpful staff from Eastern Shore Vacations. House was very nice. Improvements would include more televisions,upgrade to HD on the existing televisions and a DVD player that worked.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Eastern Shore Vacation Rentals LLC
We have replaced the broken RCA chords to the DVD player, and it is in working order. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful Stay!!
Sindy S. from New York, NY recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in September, 2010
Thank you very much for everything! My family rented this house for the week leading up to my wedding at the Combsberry Inn and it was great. It was missing a music/CD player, but they brought one right over.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties