Sitka House

5 br Manzanita Home


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Home

Bed/Bath:  5 / 3

Sleeps:  12

Pets:  No

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$275 - $375 per night

$1,925 - $2,625 per week

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Manzanita - This Beach House is perfect for coming in and letting your hair down. Downstairs there is a sitting area with a couch and TV where you can cuddle up on the couch and relax. There is also a master bedroom and two more bedrooms, making this home perfect for large families and lots of friends to stay in comfort. The upstairs has 2 more bedrooms, each with their own skylight to star gaze out at night. There is more room than you can imagine in this home! The upstairs bathroom has a Jacuzzi tub where you can sit and have your stress melt away. The upstairs living room is big and roomy enough for everyone to sit around and visit; the wood burning stove will keep you warm on those chilly evenings. There is an entertainment center with a 40' TV/DVD/VCR/ and stereo to keep you entertained. The dining room and kitchen are all open to the living room and have great views. On the top floor, there is a wrap around deck with a barbeque. This house can accommodate a large gathering and has a fantastic location and is steps from the beach. This is a great house to spend some time in and relax. Bring the whole family and sit out in the hot tub or just walk across the street to the beach!

**Holiday Premiums will apply over all July 4th reservations**

Bedding Configuration: 2 King, 2 Queen, 1 Bunk 2 Other

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office
* Convenience: Area FitnessCenter, Golf Course, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services
* Entertainment: Books, Cable TV, DVD Player, Stereo System, VCR, WiFi
* Geographic: Near Beach, Near Hiking/Biking Trails, Near State Park, Close to Golf Course
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster
* Living: Jacuzzi Tub, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Wood Stove
* Outdoor: Beach, Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Patio, BBQ Grill Seasonal Only

Owner/Manager last updated on 10/25/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard American Express Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Jacuzzi
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Deck
  • ·Gas Grill
  • ·Patio
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Stereo
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
  • ·VCR Player
Activites
  • ·Golf
  • ·Hiking
 
Property Reviews 
Pros and Cons of Sitka House
Kathie C. from Agassiz, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in October, 2014
The best thing about Sitka House is it's location and the wall to wall front windows that allow for a theatric view of the ocean. The house is large, roomy and easily accomodates four couples. The kitchen was well stocked and fundtioned well; the table was ample enough to sit ten adults and two children. This main living area was the best place to be.We definitely enjoyed the proximity to the beach and ocean.The bedrooms were smaller and less attractive than expected. The beds need to be replaced - uncomfortable mattrasses and one bed propped up with books! The house has a general feel of neglect - this is no one's home. Mould can be found along base boards and sink counter trim. There is no attempt to baffle sound between the two floors. If your bedroom was downstairs and you retired to bed early, it was difficult to sleep.We felt that the cleanliness and working orderof equipment such as coffee grinders, BBQ, tea kettles should be checked on a regular basis.If these issues are addressed, I would be able to recommend Sitka House to others. If not, my recommendation would come with reservations.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

flea bites included
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014
Great location and beach, but flea infestation, unwashed bedding and dirty cabinets made cooking and sleeping a challenge.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
This is a non pet home. They were sand fleas brought in from the beach. We have gotten rid of them.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

An enjoyable stay!
Ellie H. from Post Falls, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in August, 2014
Everyone in our group was pleased to stay at the Sitka House. We had been there several times before. The long table in the eating area, looking out on the ocean, is our favorite part of the house. I have 2 recommendations: the refrigerator needs more shelves and the north bedroom upstairs needs a rod in the closet to hang clothes.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sitka House Review
Kathleen H. from Tulsa, Oklahoma recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2014
The Sitka House was exactly what we expected--a large house sleeping many people in a comfortable environment, close to the beach, with a hot tub, grill, deck and beautiful view. The house was clean, extremely well supplied with towels, sheets, and kitchen equipment. It was the best rental I have ever made for my large, multi-generational family. We were pleased with the location and the services of the town of Manzanita. I would love to return to this house and would recommend it highly to anyone interested in spacious accomodations.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location-Great time-Great view!
Margi J. from Bellevue, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014
Easy to locate, private, great access to beach good distance from town- needs a dust pan
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very Nice Beach House
A guest from Des moines, IA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014
From this house there is a nice view of the beach from the large living room and dining areas. The kitchen is very roomy and well equipped. Plenty of room for all and three baths is nice. The hot tub is great after a day in the surf (with a wet suit of course).
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great vacay stay!
Andrea W. from Pit Meadows, BC recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at the Sitka house! Lots of room for our extended family, never felt crowded. Great, large seating area. Very close walk to the beach. Had a great time, would defiantly stay here again. The only thing it was missing was seating area outside and no yard for kids to play.... But then again u can walk to beach.....
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

stay
Peni B. from Damascus, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2014
We have always had a great experience at this house. Have stayed at the Sitka for several year. It was clean, step from the beach. Always to leave the home the way we found it. Be there next Year!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Stay a few steps from the Beach!
James L. from Porltand, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014
Excellent location away from the tourist traps of Cannon & Seaside. Great space for multiple couples &/or family. We will be back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sitka House review
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2014
Easy access to the beach and to a good walking path to the State park. The house was not as nice as I expected for the price, and the dishwasher was broken and the oven door would not close without a fight. Otherwise, a very nice stay, beautiful ocean view from the upstairs living room.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
Both appliances have been repaired.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Retreat
Raymond F. from Wood Village, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2014
12 of us had a weekend away and enjoyed our stay. There was plenty of room for everyone. the kitchen, dinning and living room were open and spacious. Other houses blocked much of the ocean view, but there is still a section of the ocean and bluff in view from the living room. Overall we were pleased with the house and the location.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sitka House New Year's Stay
A guest from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2013
We really enjoyed the nearness to the beach, as well as the view. House was comfortable, but the mattresses really need to be updated, as well as linens. Great covered patio too, but more outdoor furniture would help us enjoy it more. Overall, a nice house with some nice updates, but a great view makes it all the more enjoyable.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful view
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in December, 2013
Such a perfect location - right across the street from the beach. The dining area is perfect -- a big table with ocean views, opening up to the spacious kitchen and living area. We had a great few days in this home. It is set up well for big groups, with lots of dishes and towels. Now the odd things: there were lots of burnt out light bulbs. Many of the electrical outlets don't work. The heater in the downstairs main area doesn't work. The downstairs lamp had no shade. There's a nice looking audio system that didn't work. I'm not sure what the $50 non-refundable damage deposit is for, but seems like it could be used to fix some of these things. Overall, a great house with some odd exceptions.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good for groups
A guest from Sherwood, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2013
I thought this was ocean front, it's not but is just a short walk. Good size table/chairs for groups. Good mattresses and comfortable furniture always a plus for senior groups. Ample parking. Well stocked kitchen.Quick response from management for requested window cleaning.Only negative is the price....more than similar houses even with winter rates in effect.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sitka House - September 2013
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2013
The Sitka House is good for larger groups and is very conveniently located. Access to the beach is great and the views are lovely.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Rundown vacation rental
Heather B. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2013
The description for this house is misleading. Considering the high price and the online description, we expected more. This house had a number of issues: The walls are scuffed and dirty; all the kitchen cupboards are sticky; windows are dirty; there is almost no furniture in the upstairs bedrooms and no closet rod in one of the bedrooms; ?Jacuzzi? tub in the upstairs bathroom is a small tub with a sliding shower door, right next to the toilet; the third bathroom downstairs is incredibly small so as to be almost unusable; the hot tub smells very strongly of chemicals and is basically just off a road/thorough way to the beach so is not at all private; the ?the kids? room with a bunk bed is very small and the top bunk is not kid proof (no railing and shaky); the kitchen is not well equipped?chipped dishes, almost no coffee mugs, broken coffee grinder, no dishwasher soap, bent silver wear; under cabinet lights are not working and there were not enough pans; house phones do not work; downstairs bedrooms smell musty.The house was still being cleaned when we arrived at 4pm and we could not get in until 5:15pm. We did gratefully receive a refund for this inconvenience. This house does have a great view and nice open living room and dining room? large comfortable sofa and a nice large table-- a great space for family groups. The proximity to the beach is excellent; deck and table on the deck was a pleasant extra space to hang out; area is quiet and the house is close enough to walk to town in 15-20 minutes; nice to have books and games.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A perfect house for us!
Caroline S. from Butte, MT recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2013
We really loved the big table--by bringing two deck chairs in all 13 of us fit. We loved the closeness of the beach and the fact there were so many towels (we had brought extra for the kids so we wouldn't use the nice house ones but the extras were great for the hot tub). Three bathrooms were great w our 13 people. Five bedrooms gave everyone privacy. Great kitchen and we always like to add a thing or two so got a couple bread baskets, some measuring utensils and some glass wine glasses (which we brought home, however). There were a few lightbulbs missing if you need a suggestion. Thank you for having ice made for our arrival. The whole family is hoping Sitka House will be available for when we come next year.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great House but not clean
A guest from Troutdale, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2013
The house was in a great location - convienently located to Manzanita and the beach. However, the house wasn't super clean; the carpet wasn't vacuumed and the floors in the kitchen hadn't been swept. All of the plugs on the wall with the windows did not work.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

waiting to hear from you
Peni B. from Damascus, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013
I want to rent this again for next year, week of July 4th. I understood you were checking to see if it would be available and contact me. Have not heard yet, no hurry, just to want to miss out. It is a great house for our family and we all have enjoyed for a number of years. Please advise as to what is the next step. Only complaint is, again, the outlets not working on the west wall in dining and living room. You sent someone out to check it out and they had never seen where the same outlet, the bottom one works but the top one does not. Said it must be something in the wiring, in the wall and needed an electrician. Anyway, could not ask for a better house. Thanks, Peni Buckland

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
We sent an electrican and the outlsets are now all working fine.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good House, Great Location.
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2012
We originally booked another house but had to move because the owners rented it for the season and the property management company was unaware of this. They handled the situation well and upgraded us to this house. It definitely wasn't my first choice but it turned out to be nice for our group. The location is perfect, directly across the street from the beach and a mile south of town. The house needs some sounds like new carpet is on it's way...some freshly painted walls would help a lot. It's a bit outdated and the carpet in the bathroom needs to go. It's definitely not fancy but a nice, open floor plan that works great for large groups (we had 11). The upstairs furniture looks new and is nice. There is a large table that seats a lot of people, which we loved. We would stay here again in the future. Thank you!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
11/17/12~ We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sitka house. The homeonwer just installed new carpet and laminate in the bathroom. We look forward to your visit again in the near future.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Updated furniture much appreciated!
Mary H. from Bend, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2012
This is our 3rd stay at Sitka House and upon arrival we were thrilled to see the addition of a new bed frame in the MBR, a new grill outside and the new sofa which replaced the badly worn old sofa.The house was very, very clean but we could not rate it 5 stars because there were dirty sheets left in a dresser which we started to put on a bed before seeing they were not clean. (These could have been shoved in there by a previous guest.)Also,some of the blankets did not seem clean but the staff responded immediately to all concerns we had.This is a great gathering home for a large family with a table that seats 11 and lots of room in the living room. New carpeting and a fresh coat of paint would do wonders for this house. There are plenty of supplies to get you started such as soap for the dishwasher, washing machine and sinks and tp. The short walk to the beach is easy even for young children.We would book this home again if the owners continue to show an interest in the upkeep.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
The owner has just purchased all new sheets and comforters and will be replacing the carpet and getting the house painted after the summer season! 11/17/12~ The new carpet has been installed along with laminate in the bathroom and a new couch, chairs and decor.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Location but in great need of cleaning and updates.
A guest from Liberty Lake, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012
The location was a pleasant surprise with a view of the ocean The hot tub was great, enjoyed by all. The kitchen was clean and very accomodating. The beds were adequate for our large family group. The carpets were soiled and the walls were marked up. The bathrooms with carpeting gave a general feeling of uncleanliness. The lock to an upstairs bedroom door was broken and we feared being locked in the room. We taped it open to prevent the locking mechanism from engaging. It appears the property is for sale and you have neglected any maintainace for future guests.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
The owner is looking in to replacing the carpet as well as painting the interior. The owners also purchased a new couch and patio furniture. 11/17/12~The new carpet has been installed and laminate flooring in the bathrooms.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Yearly vacation for my family, 3 kids, 7 grandkids.
Peni B. from Damascus, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2012
The one of two times that the whole family gets together. One lives in Gig Harbor, the rest are here in Ptld. Everyone puts this on their priority list. Enough room for all!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Two Night Stay
Renee A. from Spokane, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2012
Overall our stay was great. I thought the house was a little on the dirty side when we arrived. The bathroom were not that clean etc. It could be that I'm just over critical on cleanliness. The location and lot layout was great. We loved that you didn't charge extra to use the hot tub!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Battered Furnishings, Felt Uncared For
Kurt A. from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2012
The location is nice, but not really "on the beach" - It was just generally a tired place that felt like it was ready to be torn down or completely remodeled. Made us feel like we were in a place no one wanted. Ripped rugs and pillows, a sagging bed (broken foot), silverware wasn't clean... was depressing. Certainly lots of room, hot tub worked, but it felt like it was in the garage... ;-(

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
Thank you for the review. The owner has currently upgraded several items and will be getting the carpet replaced and the house painted after the summer season.11/17/12~The homeowner just had new carpet installed, new bedding, new couch and chairs.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Never rent this house unless changes are made!
A guest from Seattle, WA does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011
The staff was helpful initially setting up the rental but that was the end of their helpfulness. This is the 6th year in a row my Mom and five sisters have rented a house at the OR coast. First time to use this service. The house felt "dirty", (walls need to be washed and/or painted, carpets cleaned) view windows were filthy, leg on table in BR broken as well as the closet door. No DW soap as promised. There is a step to nowhere outside the entry door that 2 of us tripped on and my 86 year old Mom tripped on and fell. She got some major cuts and bruises. We went to the rental agency and discussed these matters with them. We suggested that they paint a white or yellow area on the outside of the step for better visibility. There wasn't a sorry, how are you feeling now or even a "we will look into it". Very disappointed and will never want to use this service again. They sent us out the door with DW soap which was the same detergent in the laundry room for washing towels, etc. In all of our 6 years we have never been this unhappy with a rental. Our families rent many homes in other areas and this is still the number one bummer for all 7 of us. We will never rent this house again or use this service.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location, incredible house
Crystle C. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2011
The location is great for beach access, the large livingroom/dining area & deck were perfect for our big family dinners and breakfast. The TV/DVD/internet didn't work but we didn't mind as we were there for the beach. Great house for family get togethers! The beds/bathrooms/kitchen were very clean and comfrotable. The carpet was clean but stained, but again very comfortable.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fleabitten at Sitka house
Emilie T. from Yakima, WA - Washington does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 6 days in August, 2011
We all ended up with multiple flea bites while at this home. It was supposed to be a pet free home, and yet I saw several fleas on my feet. I did kill one, and took it to the office after our stay. They tried to make it sound like it was just the sand fleas (which I did see at the beach). These were the small red fleas that are found on pets. We were very unhappy about my nearly 30 flea bites. Every single one of us had nearly that many. We were told "sorry" and not given any discounts. I have always appreciated Sunset Vacation Rentals, but was unhappy with this particular vacation. If I spend nearly $2400 for a week's vacation, I really think I should get what I pay for, and not poor layout for lack of privacy (windward house) transfer to sitka house...which the switch to that house was troublesome also. We were told to 'hang out at the beach for an hour'. The jacuzzi cleaner came and kicked us out of the hot tub at windward house, and yet the jacuzzi at the sitka house was in much worse shape and we weren't able to use it until the next morning. I'm not sure I will ever use SVR again. We have been faithful customers for the last 6 years, and have rented through you at least 4 times. I don't think we really received good customer service through the office in Manzanita.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Togetherness at the Sitka House
Eleanor H. from Post Falls, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mixed review
Mary H. from Bend, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2011
This is our second year at Sitka House. It did not seem as clean as last year and seemed a bit more run down. One of the king-sized beds was broken last year and we had asked that it be replaced and it was not. It was broken again this year, but maintenance fixed it (the frame) immediately after learning about it. Despite these shortcomings the location is great and the common rooms are spacious and perfect for a family gathering. The staff was very attentive to requests/needs during our stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
The bed frame has been replaced and the owner has also replaced most of the furniture and has been working on fixing the home up.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011
Great location. Windy beach most afternoons. I wish there was some outdoor furniture for the deck. Dressers in the upstairs bedrooms would be great.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
Patio furniture has been purchased. Thank you for the review.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Edmonds, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2011
Great location, great beach access, and quiet area. The house had plenty of sheets, towels, and kitchen supplies. My only complaint is that the house needs a good cleanout with some maintenance. Lots of "junk" in the cupboards. The policies in the book in the house conflicted with what was given by the property management place. And the starter kits of laundry soap and dishwashing soap were very minimal. Manzanita is a great location! A beautiful beach, very nice downtown and shopping area. It resembled Cannon Beach on a much smaller scale without the crowds!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sitka House is in a great location and easy to find. We would recommend the property but feel that if it is to remain a rental
Sarah S. from Snohomish, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in July, 2011

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
The owner is currently working on doing many upgrades to the home and has already purchased new furniture.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great place!
Peni B. from Damascus, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2011
Have 3 children with grandkids too. Feel very safe there as not thru traffic to speak of. Kids could ride bikes, play catch, etc. Very easy walk to beach.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Tiffany B. from Seattle, Washington recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011
The location and views were awesome. The house itself is a little run down. But there is lots of space, a great hot tub and our whole party enjoyed ourselves for the long weekend.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
You will be happy to hear that the owner has been diligently working on fixing up the home and it will look like a new place next summer!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Mesa, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2011
They really need new beds before I would ever stay there again, otherwise nice house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good location and house for family reunions or celebrations
A guest from Woodinville, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in June, 2011
Minuses: most closets were not supplied with hangers - we had to buy more; outside deck lights not all working; was not warned about racoons at night on decks; no bungee cords for trash cans - we used ours; need clarification of "summer" - "winter" times for trash pick up; outside of kitchen cupboard doors very sticky; need new broom; ++Pluses: Covered deck was great for BBQ; new gas grill; kitchen well equiped; House basically felt clean; clean bedding; clean baths; the view of ocean was good, though blocked directly in front;
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Location, Nice Sunset view, well equipped kitchen.
Sara E. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2011
We wondered why the deck was in the back. It would have been nice to be outside looking at the ocean. We never found the BBQ.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

most enjoyable beach trip
Mary M. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011
The gals at Sunset Vacation Rentals were so helpful in upgrading us to this home. ( the house we had rented was not clean when we arrived) We had a wonderful time and would love to stay here again, soon! Thank you.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Keith K. from Battle Ground, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2011
Kitchen was NOT clean - counters & silverware especially.No salt in the house - so we had to buy some & left it for future people.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great place for complete family vacation
Anne G. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Girls Weekend @ the Beach
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2010
Extremely relaxing and enjoyable. Great house for a big get together!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2010
The property was what was advertised. We had a lot of problems getting return telephone calls for Sunset. Sunset was also rather unsympathetic after the property we had reserved was sold.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great beach house
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2010
Great house for a large group of people.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Location and lots of space
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010
We enjoyed the house. Some of the furnishings were out of date and shabby, but it is a beach house. The eating area is terrific. We had a full house and it worked well. Glad you got the new grill. You may want to get a cover for it so it will last longer.Thanks again.Louise
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010
Sitka House is a great gathering place with 5 bedrooms and a table large enough for everyone to sit together at meal times.It has a lovely ocean view and an easy walk to the beach. The kitchen is well-equipped and appliances are in working order. Our guests felt the king size beds were uncomfortable but managed okay for 5 nights.The outdoor grill is too dirty to use, but the house itself could not have been cleaner...not a grain of sand out of place!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
A new BBQ has been purchased for the house!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great stay at Sitka
Micky R. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010
A great house in a wonderful location. Perfect for a large group. Not in perfect condition but very clean. Very well equipped, especially the kitchen. Great for toddlers.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sitka 2010
Eleanor H. from Post Falls, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2010
In general, our family loves staying at the Sitka House. This is our 3rd time. I feel the condition of the house has deteriorated. The door knob of the bottom door is loose; the gate on the upper level is falling apart; the dryer could not handle average loads. We were disappointed to find the upper bunk had no railing, after having asked specifically for one. The windows are dirty, which interfers with the view. We did appreciate the lamp in the living room. We like the long table in the eating area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Gig Harbor, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2010
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great vacation/reunion, even weather cooperated. Interesting places nearby for shopping and sight-seeing.
A guest from Spokane, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2010
Everything was in tip-top condition, with a few exceptions. The BBQ was very dirty, don't know how that could be fixed without buying a new one. (It was listed as among the amenities). Showers and TV very challenging even for the techies among us. Zig-saw puzzles nice touch. Then the washing machine broke down, last day so it only involved you people. We found Sunset Rentals very accomdating, friendly and easy to work with.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Not a bad place
Kyle N. from Albany, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2010
It wasn't a bad little place that fit the 10 of us and a small dog very well. The pictures give it a look as if the beach is right outside your door but it's across the street about 30yrds. You do however have a great view from the kitchen/ living room of the ocean. The beds were comfortable and so was the rest of the furniture. The only negative thing I can really say is that the oven took a long time to heat up but once it did it cooked fine. The kitchen was large enough and there was a lot of room for us to gather. I would rent the house again the next time we head up there.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Piedmont, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2010
The only thing that concerened us was the warnings that came from the neighbors. They said that this house was known as a party house and also that the hot tub has been know to be the central party location and people have been reported to have got skin rashes and funky bugs from it. We have no idea if this is true or not but, it did make us think though and we never made it into the hot tub once. This is not something you want to hear when you rent a house. Other than that the house was overall nice. it worked for us. Unfortunitly we will not rent that particular house again...Sorry!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
We have not had any problems with this home being a "party house". We definitely would have heard about it. As for the hot tub, it is maintenanced before and after every guest to ensure cleanlines. I'm very sorry you were told these things but they are definitely not accurate.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

February weekend
Molly E. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2010
Sunset vacation rentals provided an actual sunset in the middle of February! It was wonderful weather and comfortable home - thanks
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great house, beautiful view
A guest from Hood River, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2010
Great location-thanks for the upgrade! House needs a few more lights to read by in the bedrooms and living room.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in December, 2009
we had a nice stay. Good location, nice set up for our family. We had a good stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
Glad you enjoyed the Ford house, its location makes it a real gem! SSVR
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2009
Great family home with great beach access. Loved the covered deck off the back of the house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stay at Sitka House
Eleanor H. from Post Falls, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2009
For our extended family, the layout and location of the Sitka House is ideal. It does need more reading lights in the living room and the easy chairs are coming apart. This was the problem last year too.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Oakland, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in August, 2009
the location of the house is great. The views are wonderful. but the house is now tired and needs updating badly. Stuffing was coming out of one of the chairs in the living room. we could not make the lights turn on in one of the 3 bathrooms, the carpet is stained and one the bedspreads in falling apart. Maybe little things but if improved would make a big difference in the feel of the house.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great house and awesome staff!
Tanya Z. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2009
This house is wonderful for a large party of adults - one of the few homes we've found on the beach that has multiple bedrooms with full+ beds. The location is great - just across from the beach, and the view from the deck is wonderful. Kitchen relatively well equipped, and a comfy, open dining and living area. The property managers are very nice, accommodating and helpful. All in all a great stay!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A bit of Alaska
Linda S. from Boise, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2009
Generally we found the house great, there were some problems with working appliances like microwaves and toasters along with telephones, and remote controls. Those little things were a nusence but not a hinderance to an enjoyable stay. Those things need to be looked into, probably just fresh batteries. Generally we have a wonderful time and enjoyed the location and view.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sitka House Review
Hille K. from Golden Valley, MN does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 8 days in July, 2009
this was our 3rd stay there in 5 (!) years and in those 5 years NOTHING has been done to keep the house in shape. This time some furniture was broken, the mixers and toaster didn't work, the garbage disposal was disconnected (presumably broken and not fixed) The carpet still had the same stains from 5 years ago and many more. The bathrooms with the carpet in them were disgusting to walk on. There is no where to put clothes in the upstairs two bedrooms. All in all the whole house need to be attended to and fixed. It needs new carpet and NO carpets in the bathrooms. We will not rent their again as much as the location is ideal. Oh and the jetted bathtub gave all the kids a bad rash, because the jets hadn't been cleaned.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location and view
A guest from Tualatin, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2009
If you have a large group, especially with kids, this home is great. It is right across the street from the beach access, so our kids (10-13 yrs) could go by themselves. There is a nice view of the ocean from the great room. The only problems we had should be easily fixed: downstairs bed frame broken, upstairs tv not user friendly, and no propane for gas grill. I would consider staying again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Nice house, close to the beach, a lot of broken and run down things.
Cathy H. from Tigard, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
We were unhappy with the amount of broken items, lack of toilet paper upon arrival. No dishwasher soap. It would have been nice if in the list of items to bring there was things like a sponge to do dishes, garbage can liners, non-stick frying pans and/or cooking spray. I brought a lot of personal items, I didn't realize I had to bring everything to stay in a house. Usually when I rent condo's this is all provided. Overall it was a nice house, but we were not prepared for all the extras we needed to go buy at the very expensive corner market. Many of the items that the list said would be provided were not at the house and we had to go buy those items too.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
We greatly apologize. Normally, all of those items are provided and must have gotten overlooked. Next time, please call our office and we will immediately send someone out with the supplies.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

sitka house
Chris T. from White Salmon, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2009
We loved the Sitka house, its location and comfort, especially the hot tub (once it was fixed- thanks Dwayne) One thing we did find annoying was the lack of a sponge to scrub pots with and dishwashing detergent. We loaded up the dishwasher yet we couldn't run it- we dirtied pots and couldn't clean them well enough. A few little things would have helped us help you. We'll be back, and maybe if we think about it, we'll bring our own scrubby and dishwasher detergent- Thanks- Chris

Property Manager Response:
Response from Sunset Vacation Rentals
Reminder to all guests: If you come in before the 4 pm check in time, your house won't be stocked with supplies! But if this does, happen, please call our office and we will send someone over with the needed supplies.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Place
A guest from Gladstone, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in January, 2009
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Sitka House Scrapbook Weekend
Linda H. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2008
We had a wonderful girls weekend of scrapbooking at Sitka house. The house had plenty of space for all 12 of us. Thanks for a fabulous weekend!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties