New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Prov...

2 br West Jefferson Cabin


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Cabin

Bed/Bath:  2 / 2

Sleeps:  4

Pets:  Yes

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$140 - $170 per night

$840 - $1,020 per week

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
New River Cottage - Fishing - Swimming - Inner Tubes Provided - Fire Pit

"DOVE COTTAGE II ON THE NEW RIVER"

? Located on the New River - Fishing and Swimming at Your Door Step!

? 15 minutes to New River State Park and Canoe Outfitters

? 20 minutes to West Jefferson

? 30 minutes to Grayson Highlands State Park

? 50 minutes to Boone

This sunny, quaint and modern cottage is located right on the banks of the New River, offering fishing, kayaking and tubing right from the back yard. The single-story cottage features an open floor plan with vaulted ceilings, wood floors throughout and plenty of natural light from the numerous windows that face the New River. The well-equipped kitchen offers all the amenities of home with a flat-panel electric stove, full-size dishwasher, microwave, and coffee maker. There is plenty of seating in the great room around gas stove fireplace and the 46-inch flat screen featuring Satellite TV and a DVD player. A couch/daybed offers additional sleeping options. Dine at the antique farm table in front of the window overlooking the expansive backyard and the river beyond.
The master bedroom features a metal canopy queen bed, luxury linens, custom built cabinets and a lovely window seat with river views right out your window. The attached master bath has a stand up shower stall and tile floors.
The guest bedroom offers a metal canopy queen bed, luxury linens and more river views out the back window.
An additional full bath featuring tile floors and a tub/shower combination is off of the hallway. Right next to the bathroom is the laundry room featuring utility sink, tile floors and front loading HE washer and dryer.
The large covered deck offers plenty of seating with a classic picnic table, a bench and chair seating area and a charcoal grill, all overlooking the backyard, firepit and the river beyond.
Offering over 200 feet of gorgeous, private riverfront access, you will find plenty of on-site fun geared towards the entire family. Relax by the firepit the water?s edge, cool off with a dip during the day or drown a worm?.all right in your own backyard. Tubing, canoeing and kayaking rentals are all available nearby.
Escape to this perfect river cottage today!

Bedding Configuration: 2 Queen

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Entertainment: Satellite TV
* Geographic: New River Frontage
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Full Kitchen, Ice Maker, Microwave, Toaster Oven, Dishwasher, Charcoal Grill, Well Equipped
* Living: Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, No Phone, Washer & Dryer, Covered Porch, Outdoor Furniture, Fireplace - Gas, Charcoal Grill, Satellite TV, HD TV
* Outdoor: New River Access

Owner/Manager last updated on 04/12/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  April   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  May   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  June   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  July   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  August   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  September   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  October   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard Discover
 
Amenities
  • ·Air Conditioning
  • ·Charcoal Grill
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·Charcoal Grill
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Phone
  • ·Toaster
Activites
  • ·Boating
  • ·Fishing
  • ·River
  • ·Swimming
 
Property Reviews 
Hidden but most enjoyable
Joel W. from Indianapolis, IN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in November, 2013
Ended up here when our B & B cancelled and we were lucky enough to get a cancellation ourselves. Two bedroom, two bath cottage with all the amenities. Large, comfortable rooms all with views of the river. Grill, fire pit, big deck made for a comfortable stay no matter what the season. A little isolated but still a good location especially if you want to be by the water. Would return if in the area.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Cozy and charming
Tony B. from Clayton, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2013
Enjoyed our stay at this cozy cottage. So charming and just enough room for the four of us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Beautiful small cottage along the river - relaxing
A guest from Ellicoot City, MD recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
While we enjoyed our stay and the small cottage with quick access to the New River for swimming and fishing, I was not very impressed with the rudeness and audacity of the neighbors. Instead of having the courtesy / courage to confront me face to face regarding property lines along the river bank, they instead call the property management to complain we are trespassing. I grew up in this county and most people I know would walk out to greet you and politely request not to trespass. As if this was not enough, they then complain to the property management about the dogs, which we had permission and paid a pet deposit. Then they also called the County game warden to verify that I had a fishing license to fish in the New River from the bank. My comments - mind your own dang business.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
We ask that guests stay within the property lines and keep dogs leashed at all times when outdoors. Typically we have few issues with neighbors so this was a rare circumstance.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fun Week
A guest from Fuquay-Varina, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2013
We had a fantastic time on our vacation. This was a wonderful cabin-very peaceful and relaxing. We were able to cook our meals in the fully furnished open-area kitchen, and enjoyed roasting marshmallows at night by the fire pit. The location was near Jefferson and West Jefferson, and we even took a scenic trip to Virginia. The layout of the house was perfect for our family of 3, or for 2 couples. We would definitely stay here again!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A river view
A guest from Southern Pine, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
The house and location were very nice. However, if you are use to renting properties with electronic amenities this is not the house for you. It would have been nice to have a radio and a few more options on the TV.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
This is one of our get away from it all rentals. Perfect river location and a perfect place to unplug!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely family getaway
Elizabeth J. from Roanoke, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2013
Our family of four was looking for a place to get away for a few days before the chaos of the school year, and this was a perfect location. We tubed down the river, kayaked from a nearby outfitter, and did a LOT of deck sitting. Perfect size for a family of four (two were teenagers)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

great cottage; expansive open feeling
Larry L. from Bloomington, IL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2012
This cottage was impeccable; we really enjoyed the openness, windows, etc. I noted some previous occupants had written about popping sounds, probably from the new flooring - this did not occur while we were there. I'd recommend this to friends & will stay again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good
A guest from Jacksonville, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2012
Everything was good except for some banging noise at night only which made it difficult to sleep for all of us. The place needs a sign it was difficult to find.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Weekend Stay
Linda G. from Cary, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in October, 2012
Loved the cottage,area and river. Two problems that we noticed with house. The flooring pops at night, this is not normal. It sounds that someone is throwing lg rocks on roof. Whomever put floor down made it look pretty but did a poor job. Also when refrigator runs bath light dims. Other than this it was great.Also like reality company that helped me but contract company "Flip" is worthless and contact people are rude.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Ashe High Country Vacations LLC
After talking with the renter we learned the low service rating was about FlipKey not Ashe High Country Vacations, the renter was satisfied overall with the house and our services, so please don?t let this review stop you from enjoying this beautiful river home through our company. Also this is a brand new cottage, finished in 2011 so the house is still "settling" however first we have heard of the floors popping, more common too for wood floors as the weather cools. Along around a top rated rental on the New River.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful place!!!!!!!!
Carolyn M. from Archdale, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012
We went with my sister and her husband. We had a great time. The house and location wasjust what we were looking for - right on the river with very nice view and very neat. Wedefinetly will be going back to this place.We went canoeing two days and very close to canoeing rentals. Loved it!!!!!!!!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Furniture review
A guest from Indian Trail, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in August, 2012
The only complaints we had were the following: livng rm. couch & chairs were not very comfortable or functional; mattress in master bedrm. was too soft.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great river cottage
A guest from Harker Heights, TX recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2012
We rented this house on short notice and couldn't have been luckier. The location is a bit of a drive from Boone, but pretty close to West Jefferson. The house is right on the New River and the owners provide some high quality tubes to play in the river. You can also walk upstream from the house on a little road and hop in the river a little over a mile from the house and float back to the house. All-in-all, this was a great place to stay and one we will definitely come back to.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect place for a small family with a Lab!
Karen B. from Cary, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2012
Our stay at Dove Cottage could not have been better. It was clean and cute as can be. We were in the river daily so the 4 tubes were perfect. We brought our own kayak and bikes. Just up the road was a great place to put in. We love the Jefferson area and didn't feel that Crumbler was too far off the beaten path for our exploring. We can't wait till we can come again. I already miss waiting up to the beauty and peacefulness of the river. BIG THUMBS UP!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Possible
A guest from Cameron, NC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2012
The house is very nice,yard as-well...The problem we had, we felt like we were being watched the whole time, and the owners have a fee for everything..5 mins in or out late, ya get charged,,for many different things in the house, if you dont do it,The book says they do anyway....The owners kids live next door, and when we called the property manger, they said the kids had called the owners about a 4 year old child being there..{{Too many people}}..We were told there tubes for the river ,but there were none..its on the river but very mushy banks, no where to get in to swim,[[u sink to ya knees in mud, if u step in] We dident get charged any extra,but we were sure not to do anything out of the way... Would be a great place for older cpls...We had fun but we have a better, more homey place down the river..for alot cheaper..Thanks...
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Gorgeously decorated cottage
A guest from Miami, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in December, 2011
Just perfect. I definitely would stay here again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Quiet, Peaceful, Clean
A guest from Johnson City, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in November, 2011
This is a beautiful house that is very nicely decorated. If you want a get away and are not concerned with being close to a city for your entertainment, then this is the perfect place.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties