Stone Ground - Eclectic Beach Front Home On St. Helena Sound

4 br Edisto Beach Beach Front Home


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Home

Bed/Bath:  4 / 3

Sleeps:  12

Pets:  Yes

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$216 - $283 per night

$1,295 - $3,095 per week

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
Stone Ground offers eclectic style and overwhelming character in an amazing, beach front location. This home is almost hidden on a one of a kind lot graced with a magical oak and its stretching branches welcoming you home. This perfect spot is ideal for family photos to enjoy for years to come. Feel worlds away at this classic cottage and enjoy amazing views of the world famous sunsets over the St. Helena Sound from the expansive second floor living room-dining room combination. Once the day turns into night a 42? flat screen television will light up your evening activities. The kitchen is outfitted with a gas stove and bar stools so that everyone in your group can help with the meals. The downstairs is accessible by a spiral staircase or exterior entry and features a small kitchen, two bedrooms, and access to the screened patio. Every bedroom has a view and access to decks or porches, each with a different take on the landscape. Your private walkway leads to a wide, flat, sandy beach with low rolling waves. Remember your vacation as the most charming time you?ve every enjoyed on Edisto. No Smoking. NO PUPPIES.

Bedding Configuration: 2 Queen, 4 Twin, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Other

Pets: Dogs Allowed

Additional Features:
* Business: Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office
* Convenience: Golf Course, Nearby Golf Cart Rentals, Nearby Grocery
* Entertainment: Wireless Internet, Cable TV, DVD Player, 3 Extended Cable TV's
* Geographic: Beach Front, Close to Town, Ocean View, On the St. Helena Sound
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster
* Living: Central Air, Central Heat & Air, Fireplace, Free Long Distance, High Speed Internet, Land Line Telephone, Linens Not Provided, Pets Allowed w/ Fee, Washer & Dryer, Wireless Internet Access, 2 Night Minimum In Off Season, No Smoking
* Outdoor: BBQ Grill, Covered Deck, Deck, Outdoor Shower, Patio, Screened Patio, Screened Porch

Owner/Manager last updated on 11/22/2014

 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»
  November   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
  December   2014  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
  January   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  February   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
  March   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  April   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  May   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  June   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
  July   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
  August   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
 available     unavailable View next 12 months »»

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard American Express 
 
Amenities
  • ·Fireplace
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Full Kitchen
  • ·High-Speed Internet
  • ·Deck
  • ·Patio
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·Dishwasher
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Phone
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
  • ·Golf
 
Property Reviews 
Great view of beach, soiled sofa
A guest from Honea Path, SC does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2014
Amazing view of beach and easy walk to beach however, the sofa had a very strong odor of animal and urine. We were unable to relax on furniture. We had to sit in wooden chairs and stools. This was not relaxing. I think the sofa needs professional cleaning and have animals stay off furniture .
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great
A guest from Chapin, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014
Great as usual

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Patricia,
We have just received your review. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are thrilled that your group had another great stay at Stone Ground on Edisto Beach. We look forward to being your family's host on Edisto for many years to come. See you soon!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stoneground
Elizabeth B. from Johns island, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
This is at least the fifth time we have stayed at Stoneground - we love it. The location is ideal the porches and beach access are perfect, and the changes to the furniture have made it even more livable! We will be back next year!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Elizabeth,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so happy to be a part of your Edisto tradition at Stone Ground. We will let the owner know about your positive comments regarding the new furniture. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great house, fantastic location on a beautiful beach.
A guest from Breckenridge, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2014
Excellent.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Alicia,
We have just received your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so thrilled that you had an excellent stay at Stone Ground on Edisto Beach. We would love to have you back anytime. We are always a phone call away!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stone Ground
Richard S. from Charlotte, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in February, 2014
Fantastic lot and location.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Richard,
We've just received your review. Thank you so much for spending you weekend at Stone Ground on Edisto Beach. We appreciate you sharing your review with us. We'd love to invite you back anytime for some wonderful, warm winter weather!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

First time staying at Edisto
A guest from Rock Hill, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2013
Great place to stay. Very clean. Love the layout of the house and the beautiful trees. Lots of windows to enjoy all the views. Had a small issue with the downstairs bathroom and the owners and rental agency were very responsive and took care of it quickly. We look forward to staying here again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Julie,
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your excellent feedback. We hope that you fell in love with Edisto during your visit over New Years. We're always just a phone call away to make any necessary repairs so that you can keep enjoying your visit. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

GREAT STAY!!!
Reviewed by: William W. recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in September, 2013
AN ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY. PLENTY OF ROOM FOR ALL, LOTS OF KITCHEN AREA, BEAUTIFUL SCENIC LOOK AT THE BAY. SUNSETS AND SUNRISES ARE OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! LARGE ANGEL OAK IN THE FRONT YARD WAS PERFECT FOR FAMILY PHOTO OP!!! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY TO EVERYONE!!!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
William,
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your choosing to spend your vacation time at Stone Ground. We are so pleased that you found a new home away from home on Edisto. We would love to see your family photo too! We would love to invite you back anytime for another vacation to remember.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Vacation
Jill T. from Greer, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2013
Second time here. Very enjoyable. Wish the walk was finished to the beach. All amenities were great. Will come back again. Using Atwood agency is a pleasurable experience

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Jill,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your sharing your feedback. Thank you for your comments about the walkway. They will be communicated with the home owner. We look forward to seeing you again next summer.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Third Time
Carol C. from Summerville, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 14 days in July, 2013
Our family gets together once a year. We have stayed at StoneGround for the past three years. This year we extended our vacation to two weeks and it was wonderful. So we Mage reservations for two weeks next year. The owner always calls to make sure all is to our liking and Atwood is great! See you next year.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Carol,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your great feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful vacation at Stone Ground. A two week vacation is perfect! Thank you again for staying with us for several years. We look forward to seeing you again next year if not before!
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great house beach front on the sound at Edisto
A guest from Johns Island, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
I love the open layout of this home and having its own walk to the beach is perfect with small children. The porches are invaluable - we spent most of our time there. This is our 3rd stay in the house - the upfits were nice but need to be continued downstairs. The sofa bed has a broken frame and is not usable (luckily we did not need it). Fancy is not necessary but newer/ cleaner is in my opinion. Otherwise we had a wonderful expereince and would recommend the home to others!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Elizabeth,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The owners of this home are always improving its decor and functionability. Your comments are invaluable. We will take a look at the sofa bed. Thank you for making us aware of this. We hope that spending a week at Stone Ground will continue to be part of your family's tradition. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family vacation
Joy W. from Chattanooga, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
This was my first beach vacation as a grown up with my brothers and their families and this house was PERFECT. We loved it, the location is great for little kids and the house is spacious with tons of porch space. I highly recommend it. We had six people and room for probably 2-3 more.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Joy,
Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will make a vacation at Stone Ground part of your family's tradition. We would love to be your host for your next visit to Edisto.
Regards,
Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Good Times!
Angela C. from Round O, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at Stone Ground over the Memorial Day weekend and hope to come back next year!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Angela,Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to send in your feedback. We would love to be your host during you next stay on Edisto Beach.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Trip
JW J. from Snelleville, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in April, 2013
Wonderful house on the sound, nestled in the trees with a beautiful live oak out front, great beach views and very private. Loved it.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
JW,Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your great feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Our goal is for you to have a vacation to remember! We would love to invite you back for another great getaway to Edisto Beach.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Review on Stone Ground
A guest from Lexington, KY recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2012
It was in a good location and the vegetation added some privacy.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Great Low Country Experience from a Pacific Northwest Visitor
A guest from Bend, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2012
This is my second trip to Edisto Beach. The property is a great location unless you want to see the wide open Atlantic. Some blinds and some windows were covered with blown in dirt (sand). One garbage can had stuff in it, not much of a big deal. Well appointed for a rental (enough stuff for Thanksgiving dining without hassle). New appliances and tile. Noisy heatpump? A bit of confusion over linens in rental agreement. Bottom line.... Very good time. PS - Too many twin beds.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Rob,Thank you for your review of Stone Ground. We appreciate your time in providing us with this feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Before your stay, there was some construction work. This home's housekeeper may have overlooked a few details while trying to get the home ready for your vacation. Otherwise, the suggestion for less twin beds is noted for when it is time to replace the mattresses. We hope that you will continue spending your Thanksgiving on Edisto.UPDATE: The appliances has been replaced at this home. Thank you!Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stone Ground
Carol V. from Tega Cay, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 9 days in September, 2012
Stone Ground has spectacular views. The porches were not in good condition. The boards were warped and very far apart in some areas. The windows on the ocean side in the late afternoon made the inside of the living area impossible to see outside when the sun was going down. The house itself was not clean. We were told that there were 12 people staying in the house the week before us and the cleaning lady was so overwhelmed with the condition of the house, she did not have enough time to clean the whole house. We cleaned bathrooms and was shower curtains and mattress covers ourselves before we put any of our belongings in the bathrooms and on the beds. We spoke to Mr. Addlestone and told him of the conditions. He had the cleaning lady come by but she made no effort to rectify the situation. Also, the stove was so erratic. You could not use the burners when the oven was on. Otherwise, we love Edisto and enjoyed our stay.Carol Venable
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful rental
A guest from Woodruff, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
My family has been coming to Edisto for many years and often go 2 to 3 visits a year. This is the first home I would consider rebooking. Finding a suitable pet friendly home is difficult and many are not very well maintained . Stone Ground has a wonderful wrap around deck that we could close off the exits and let the furry kids dry all day with no worries. The home was well maintained and clean with plenty of parking. The home was very comfortably furnished and stocked! My family has already asked if we could rent this house again! Plus we always enjoy the Atwood staff!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation here on Edisto Island and we look forward to seeing you again next year at Stone Ground.Atwood Vacations Staff
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great family vacation
Rita O. from Augusta, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
We had a wonderful time. The weather was perfect. The location on the beach was great. The privacy afforded by the trees and foliage around the house was relaxing. The sound is just right for small children to enjoy the beach.Everyone seemed to enjoy the time. Stone Ground is a very comfortable house!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and looks forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

beach trip
Jill T. from Greer, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2012
great home and lay out of bedrooms and bathrooms were perfect. staff at atwood were very helpful. we definitely plan to rent again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Our Favorite Place
A guest from Chapin, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
We have stayed at Stone Ground for at least 6 years. It is perfect for our family.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your continued visits. We look forward to assisting you with your accomodations for your next visit.The Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Vacation
Elizabeth O. from St Matthews, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
Had a wonderful time. House was clean and very nice. The owners are improving it every year.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and will pass them on to the owners. We look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

super would like to stay another week.
Carol C. from Summerville, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2012
great vacation wish we could have stayed longer..

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
We wish you could have stayed longer as well! Thank you for your feed back. The Atwood Vacations Team looks forward to the opportunity to assist you with your accomodations for your next visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Very nice get away!
A guest from Blackville, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2012
We were only able to stay a weekend and atwood rentals helped us find a home to rent on short notice. The home was perfect for our large multi family. This house has almost a second home down stairs with two kitchens and multiple bed rooms. We hope to return one day. The children loved finding so many shells and things that had washed up. The house was very cozy and like home with plenty of seating for all of us. The only thing they could add a note to renters there wont be bath towles ,tissue or paper towles so they know to bring them. But there is a store right down the strip to get what you need we went there often. Thankyou for such a wonderful vacation we are grateful for you sharing such a wonderful home with our family!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Amanda,Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Stone Ground. We appreciate you choosing Atwood Vacations for your vacation on Edisto. When anyone makes a reservation with Atwood, we send over a confirmation welcome package. There is information about what you are expected to bring (sheets, towels, perishable items, etc.) and how to check in to your dream home. We would love to see you again for a great experience on Edisto Beach.Regards,Kelly Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

My 50th bash at Edisto with family and friends.
Leigh W. from Ravenel, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in May, 2012
Needs rocking chairs on the porch. Wonderful view of the ocean! Great open floor plan. A tad out dated but worth it for the location/view.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and will pass them on to the owners. We look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.The Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

lasting memories
A guest from Washburn, MO recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2011
we had a wonderful time with our family and the location of the house was fantastic! we were able to watch the dolphins from the deck mornings and evenings!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your stay with Atwood Vacations. We agree this is the perfect location to Dolphin watch. We look forward to the opportunity to assist you with your accommodations for your next visit. The Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Big Tree Review
A guest from Savannah, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2011
Great Location! Great Tree!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your stay with Atwood Vacations. The tree is so awesome! We appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you with your accommodations your next visit to Edisto.The Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stone Ground
Merrilyn L. from Summerville, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2011
We liked the house, especially the view. The mattress covers and coverlets on the single beds were dirty, but it was nice to have the washer and dryer to wash them. We would rent this house again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and will pass them along to our head of housekeeping. We encourage our guest to contact our office anytime during their stay with issues they may be having so we can address them within 24 hours. We look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.The Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stoneground Review
Wes J. from Ravenel, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in October, 2011
House has one of the best views on the East Coast. Rivals that of many we've stayed at on the Florida Gulf. Atwood was extremely professional.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.The Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

experience
Melissa C. from Watkinsville, Ga. recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in October, 2011
Very nice and quite. Home was in need of some repair. Deck boards were leaning and needed to be replaced . But were still safe. At arival home had an odor. Basement had an even stronger odor. I had brought a plug in air freshener which helped some.The odor was still in basement when we departed.Basement in kitchen needs to be updated. Bath showers on the main floor are very small. Need to clean up brush on walk to beach. Very over grown. Over all the house was acceptable. Plenty of hot water all time. Ac worked great and was very quite. The kitchen had any thing you needed for preparing and eating meals.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your stay with Atwood Vacations. We appreciate your feed back on our rental property and apologize for the issue you had during your stay. We will address these issues with our maintenance staff and the owner of the property to have them quickly resolved. Thank you and we look forward to the opportunity to accommodate your next stay!The Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stay at Stone Ground
A guest from Hollywood, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.The Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family Vacation
Katie B. from Willmington, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011
We are repeat visitors of Stone Ground and again it was wonderful. The location is perfect and the home inviting. We can't wait till next year!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.The Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great view of St. Helena Sound; direct access to the beach!
Sheila T. from Granville, OH recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011
If you're looking for a comfortable, family-friendly house on the beach, this is it! We stayed at Stone Ground in August, 2011 with two kids and grandma, and had a blast! The girls had their own room w/twin beds, their own bath and "living room." Grandma stayed downstairs with her own bedroom, bath, kitchen and living area. The master bedroom has its own bath and access to the wrap-around deck. Pros: great view of the sound, screened porches up and down, wrap-around deck, two kitchens, and you can see the beach from deck. Wonderful old oak tree out front draped with Spanish moss--great for climbing! The owners called us early in the week to make sure everything was to our satisfaction--very nice touch. Cons: older kitchen appliances and mismatched pots/pans make for challenging (but acceptable) meal preparation. Small, older shower stall in master bath should be updated or replaced. Overall, this was, by far, the best placed we've rented at Edisto (and we've been there 8 times!). Will definitely return.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and will pass them on the the owners. We look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.The Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Chapin, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in August, 2011

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Best vacation ever!
Carol C. from Summerville, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2011
My Father passed away in May 2011.We needed to get my Mother away and this house was perfect!We reserved it for next year..

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
We are sorry to hear of your loss and glad we could assist your family in having a great experience. We look forward to the opportunity to assist you with your accommodations on your next visit to Edisto.The Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Stone Ground 2011
Randy P. from Casselberry, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2011
Master bath shower could be largerElevator would be nice

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and will pass them on the the owners. We look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Tamara D. from Elkton, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in April, 2011
Too many roaches-dead & alive, no toilet paper on arrival,the home has a smell as if there may be mold, not enough towel racks in the bathroom to hang towels properly to dry, especially with 6 - 8 people. Otherwise, for the price it was fine and we had a great time. The plus side is the bay and all the sea life, dolphins, sharks, birds, etc. that you can sit and watch. The neighbors, the couple of them we ran into were friendly and talked to us for quite a while. The local restaurants and shops were all fine for us. We especially enjoyed the beautiful canopied road (164) that you drive on into Edisto, beautiful. King's Farm was great for food, vege's, plants, and we love the gourds! We plan to go to Key West next April, but we will return. Thank you so much and may you have a successful summer season! Tammy

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dear Tammy,Thank you for your review of Stone Ground. We appreciate your feedback. Stone Ground is set on one of the best lots on Edisto Beach. We are so pleased that you got to enjoy the beauty of the sound. All of our homes are sprayed regularly by professional exterminators. We strive to make sure the homes are free of bugs. We do not provide disposables at our homes, such as paper products. We want your stay to be comfortable. We make every effort to ensure that your experience is great. We look forward to seeing you soon.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Paradise in Carolina!!!
David M. from Spartanburg, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in November, 2010
Our family stayed at Stoneground for 1 week. We loved the house the spectacularviews and the owner was just great!The rental agency were very nice and helpful.We loved the peace and quite!! We spent hours watching the dolpins from the house.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dear David,Thank you for choosing Stone Ground and Atwood Vacations for your stay on Edisto. We value your time in providing us this great feedback. The views and breeze are just wonderful from this home. We invite you back anytime.Regards,Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Edisto
A guest from Aiken, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in October, 2010
I have already emailed my comments, suggestions, observations to the Atwood email address.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dear Ernie,Thank you for choosing Atwood. We apprecite you providing us comments and feedback. We have sent your email to the owner and are having many things repaired. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you a beautiful Fall.Regards - Atwood Vacations
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Family Trip A++
Katie B. from Willmington, NC recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2010
The Stone Ground was the PERFECT home for my family to come together. It was a quaint beach cottage covered by the most beautiful Live Oak and lush. It felt like you were miles away from the rest of the world. The view was amazing and the general feel of the house was like an old friend. The layout was perfect for spending time together and there was plenty of room to spare if you needed a quiet place to retreat, with the lower and upper levels being separated...The porches were huge and the view priceless. The dogs were in heaven... We even received a check in call from the owner Dave to make sure we enjoying our stay.(Very Impressed) Atwood agency was extremely helpful...This is the first time we stayed at the Stone Ground and it definitely won't be the last! Thank you Dave and thank you Atwood Agency for providing my family with a little taste of the Lazy South! See ya'll next year! :)

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Dear Katie,We've just received your review. Thank you for such great feedback. We appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again very soon for another great experience in Stone Ground!Sincerely,Atwood Vacations
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

We were overall quite happy with this rental.We called in when there were a few maintainence issues and they were very quickly h
Donna F. from Atlanta, GA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in September, 2010
Our only major complaint is that the floors were filthy, baseboards very dirty.I mopped the floors three times and still didn't get all the dirt up. I do not think the vacuum cleaner is picking up much dirt.I do like this house and if the cleaning issues are handled I may well rent it again.The views were fantastic and the spaces large enough to handle a group of 10 very comfortably.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your stay with Atwood Vacations. We do appreciate your feed back on our property. We will address the issue and resolve the issue you experienced. We encourage out guest to contact our 24 hour maintenance department if you have an issue during your stay so we can respond quickly and work to resolve. We look forward to the opportunity to assist you with your accommodations for your next visit to Edisto.The Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Jerry W. from Fort Worth, Texas does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2010
We had to check out early on Sunday and per the instructions in the rental agreement, we were to drop off rented linens to teh office. The office is closed on Sundays so we had to leave the linens bags by the door outside. You may want to consider having a linen return of some kind for off hours.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach. We have added a linen drop box at our office shortly after the date of your stay.The Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great ocean view, beautiful sunset, awesome oak tree - see ya' same time next year !!!
Laurie C. from Columbia, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2010
Needs attention:Sliding door behind dining table hard to open & closeMissing remote to TV in liv roomFan doesnt work in liv roomOutside door downstairs(streetside) hard to open and stay closedPorch furniture not comfortable

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your stay with Atwood Vacations. We appreciate your feed back on our rental property and apologize for the issue you had during your stay. We will address these issues with our maintenance staff and the owner of the property to have them quickly resolved. Thank you and we look forward to the opportunity to accommodate your next stay!The Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bathrooms
Randy P. from Casselberry, FL recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in May, 2010
The only complaints about "Stone Ground" is that the bathrooms and, in particular the showers are way too small.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you like Stone Ground as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you next summer!KellyAtwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Knoxville, TN recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2010

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for staying with Atwood Vacations. We look forward to assisting you with your next stay on Edisto Beach.Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

The answer to the question above should be maybe.
Deborah W. from Mechanicsville, VA recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2009
I completed the written survey and turned it in the day we left. This was the first time we stayed in Edisto as we usually vacation in Emerald Isle, NC. The properties seem more expensive in Edisto compared to the quality of homes we used at Emerald Isle. It would have been helpful to have the linens and access code for the internet with the key at pick up or already at the house (which was the operating proceedure when we rented other houses). There were a few (5 - 6)large live Palmetto bugs inside the house. Also it would be VERY nice to have at least one bathroom with toilet paper available upon arrival! Edisto itself is quite nice and so uncommercialized which is great. We ate at the restaurant at the golf course which was very good. We had a wonderful week and great weather.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
We are happy that you enjoyed Edisto Beach. We are sorry that you had a few issues with the ?typical? rental procedures here on Edisto. If linens are ordered we do leave them at the house the day of your arrival before your check-in. Internet information is usually included on the information sheet posted on the refrigerator of each individual house. Since bugs are a big issue in our region we always encourage the guest to give our 24 hour maintenance service to report any issues so we can respond quickly and take care of these type issues during your stay. We look forward to assisting you with your next visit.Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Laurie C. from Columbia, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
Downstairs mustyNeeds better chairs on porch (2 were broken)

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
Thank you for your stay with Atwood Vacations. We appreciate your feed back on our rental property and apologize for the issue you had during your stay. We will address these issues with our maintenance staff and the owner of the property to have them quickly resolved. Thank you and we look forward to the opportunity to accommodate your next stay!Atwood Vacations Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A guest from Chapin, SC recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2009
We enjoy staying at Stone Ground. The location is perfect and we are so used to the house that it feels like home. Thank you

Property Manager Response:
Response from Atwood Vacations
The Team at Atwood Vacations appreciates your comments and look forward to accommodating you and your family for your next visit to Edisto Beach.Atwood Vacation Team
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties