A Bright Writer's Loft Five Blocks from Downtown. Perfect...

1 br Bend Apartment


Contact Manager or Book Online

Property Type:  Apartment

Bed/Bath:  1 / 1

Sleeps:  3

Pets:  No

Smoking:  No

Rental Rates:

$115 - $130 per night

$730 - $910 per week

email friend print listing

  • Description
  • Availability
  • Rates
  • Amenities
  • Reviews
  • Map
A Bright Writer's Loft Five Blocks from Downtown. Perfect for the Hip Couple!

Tuck away in this studio loft a 5-minute walk from downtown! Bend's finest architects and artists had a hand in creating this inspiring loft for the author, who created several books here. Thus the name "Writer's Retreat.? A couple or small family will adore this bright, cheerful space. The bedroom has blackout shades that keep you in a deep sleep until the alarm rings. The sofa sleeps two smaller forms or one adult (king size) in a very light room in the a.m. ? bring your eye covers. A large collection is offered for your pleasure, during your stay only, please. Bring your journal or sketch pad to catch the inspirations your stay here will create! TV w/ DVD player in the bedroom.

Bedding Configuration: 1 King, 1 Sleeper Sofa

Additional Features:
* Business: 900 Wall Street, A Little Tavern Nearby, Alpenglow Breakfast, Backyard Coffee, Baldy's Bar- Q, Baltizars Gourmet Mexican Food, Bike rentals, Boutiques, Chow's restaurant, Close to the college, Devores organic market, Drake Park Free Concerts, Fox's Pool Hall, Les Schwab Amp. 12 Blocks, Lots of restaurants, Nancy "P"s Cafe, Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Post Office, Newport Market, NW Crossing, Pine Tavern 2 Blocks, Starbucks, Sushi Restuarant, Trader Joes, Walk to downtown!!, Coffee shop close by, Kanpai Sushi Restaurant, Headlines hairdresser
* Convenience: Les Schwab amb. 12 blocks, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services, Old Mill one Mile, Outlet Shopping, ski shuttle 6 blocks, Two blocks from Downtown, Restaurants just down the street, Coffee shop close by, Two turns to the mountain!, Old Mill w/ so may shops
* Culture: College is close by., Free summer concerts in Drake Pa, High Desert Museum, Les Schwab Concerts, Summer/Fall Festival, Downtown events backpocket, Films @ the Old Mill!
* Entertainment: Cable TV, DVD Player, Golf close by
* Geographic: River's Edge Golf Course, Secluded, Restaurants galore!!, Boutiques, boutiques, Two blocks from Downtown, Awbrey Butte
* Kitchen: Coffee Maker, Cookware, Kitchenette, Microwave, Refrigerator
* Living: High Speed Internet, Linens, No Phone, NO washer & dryer, Read it here library, Microwave & toaster oven ONLY., flat screen TV w/basic cable

Owner/Manager last updated on 08/30/2014

 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months
  September   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
  October   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
  November   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
  December   2015  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  January   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  February   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29          
  March   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
  April   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
  May   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
  June   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
  July   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
  August   2016  
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
 available     unavailable «« View previous 12 months

Start End Nightly Weekly Monthly Min. Stay
Deposits: For details please check rates and availability.
Cancellation Policy: For details please check rates and availability.
Lodging Tax: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Fees: For details please check rates and availability.
Other Policies: For details please check rates and availability.


Credit Card Payments Accepted:
Visa Mastercard 
 
Amenities
  • ·High-Speed Internet
Appliances
  • ·Coffee Maker
  • ·DVD Player
  • ·Microwave
  • ·Oven
  • ·Phone
  • ·Refrigerator
  • ·Toaster
  • ·Satellite TV or Cable TV
Activites
  • ·Golf
  • ·River
 
Property Reviews 
The Writer Retreat
A guest from Corbett, Oregon recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in August, 2014
Wonderful time, Great location. Hope to be back soon.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hi Brian:
So glad you enjoyed the Writers!! Hope to see you come back soon. Ask for the 10% return discount within one year.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Artists Loft in Bend, OR
Patricia M. from San Leandro, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2014
A delightful place to spend time in, very clean, quite and near to downtown. I would definitely stay there again if I could and would highly recommend it to others.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hello Patricia:
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you return. :)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Writer's Retreat
Ann H. from Eugene, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2014
Wonderful little spot--nice and quiet. Was perfect for our stay. Bed is a double--would recommend a Queen as stated in ad. Also, suggest window coverings/blinds for the West facing windows by the desk/kitchen as there is a street light that shines through while sleeping. Loved all the books! Overall, very nice stay! Thank you!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hello Ann:
These are good suggestions and I will pass them forward to the owner. The sleeper bed is confirmed as a Double and other bed in the bedroom is a King sized Bed. Thank you for the thoughts and stay and do come back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fantastic place
Stephanie W. from Port Orchard, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2014
I love this place it was beyond amazing and comfortable. It was a great place to rest and relax between activities. The owners are very nice considerate people. If it wasn't already book for my August trip I would be staying again.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hi Stephanie:
Delighted you enjoyed all things! Please come back and thank you for the review.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Can't wait to stay here again
Sean v. from NASHVILLE, Tennessee recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2014
I would absolutely come back here. My wife and I stayed for 4 days and it was a perfect getaway. Well located just off the beaten path but within walking distance of the downtown area and the river. Beautifully designed and comfortable it was perfect for us.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hello Sean:
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and come back to the Writers.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A Reader's Tiny Paradise in Bend
Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2014
We had a great time staying at the Writer's Retreat in Bend. It was the perfect place to unwind and get our bearings in between several days of road tripping Oregon. The apartment is located on a quiet residential street within a few minutes walk to the downtown area in Bend. The unit was clean, comfortable, and inviting. I think had we not spent the day exploring Bend, we would have been just as satisfied staying in, enjoying the ambient surroundings and reading from the library. The unit was also equipped with central air conditioning, which must be a more recent update based on other reviews I had read.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hello Laura:

Thanks so much for the review -- it was perfect to what we imagine are for our guests to experience. The A/C has always been there, it just is some confusing for
travelers to sometime use when they are out of their element. Hope it is all clear for everyone now!! Thank you again and we would love to see you come back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect location
A guest from Newport on Tay, Fife recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in July, 2014
This apartment has everything you need and is a perfect location for Downtown Bend. We enjoyed a week of daytrips and then walks down t the restaurants and bars to downtown in the evening.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Thank you for review. The Writers is the perfect spot to get all places downtown and Bend. We would lvove to see you come back when you are able!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Writer's Retreat
Carl B. from Boise, ID recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2014
Great location. We biked everywhere. Only downside was the forest fire that started while we were there.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hi Carl:
I am sorry about the timing. That fire was awful for all of Bend. My home was in the evacuation zone.
We were very lucky to have such a wonderful team of Will Fire Fighters save us! I promise next
time - clearer skies!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Delightful!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2014
This was the perfect getaway for two moms looking to relax and enjoy Bend! The retreat is exceptionally well decorated, clean and located ideally for walking to everything! I can't wait to return!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Dear Jordana:
Thank you for visiting the Writers, it is the nicest spot.
The library could hold you captive for days :).
Please come back when you have the time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Comfortable, cozy, and convenient.
A guest from Indianapolis, Indiana recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in December, 2013
My wife and I stayed at this property for five nights. It is attractively decorated and well appointed; we had everything we needed. Having the ability to browse the owner's extensive and eclectic library was an unexpected bonus. The location, within walking distance of downtown, is very convenient. If the bed was queen-sized instead of a double, the place would have been perfect.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hello Robert:
Thanks so much for the time in providing the review, it is always nice to know the WR is making folks happy!
Please come back as you are able!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

EXCELLENT
A guest from Meridian, Idaho recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2013
This was our third time staying at this great rental. Easy walking distance to many desirable locations. Great size for two.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Thank you John! Delighted to see you come back and back again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Studio Apartment in Bend
Joan B. from Brandford, CT recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in September, 2013
Very nice space. Clean and comfortable. Close to town. Easy parking.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hello Joan:
Thank you for your time for this review.
I agree, this little jewel is ideal for location as well.
Please come back next time.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Superb!
Reviewed by: Barbara V. recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2013
Would love to stay longer! Quiet, cozy, comfortable and filled with lots of great books and art! Only issue...would have loved better signage in the alley to let us know we were at the right address.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hi Barbara:
I love the idea of some signage, will pass it on to the owners!
We hope to see another time. Thank you for the review and for
staying with us.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Writer's Retreat
A guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2013
If we return to Bend, we will stay there again if it is available. Our only complaint was they need to dust under the bed.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hi James:
Thank you for pointing those dust bunnies, they are gone now.
Come back to see sometime soon!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Getaway!
A guest from Mt. Shasta, California recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2013
We loved the Writer's Retreat! Thank you!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Courtney:
Delighted you loved this wonderful spot! Come back when you are able.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great for a couple, not the best with infant/toddler
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
The location is great! If you enjoy walking, you can walk almost anywhere! The space was extremely clean and well kept and very bright and cheery.I think this space would be great for a couple, but I wouldn't recommend if you have a baby or toddler. Prior to booking, I asked if it had a separate bedroom, because it was a little confusing to me in the listing. I was told it did have a bedroom with a door that shut. What she failed to mention was that the place has huge vaulted ceilings and the bedroom walls are only normal height. So the whole space is one big open loft. Once we put our baby to bed at 7, we had to be quiet, since there was really no separation between rooms. Also, as other reviewers have noted, the garage door does go up and down frequently and is very loud. Overall, this place is great it just wasn't ideal for my family. I would return without kids.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals, Inc.
Hi Dawn:
I am sorry I did not consider the ceiling in our conversation, it never occurred to me for any noise.
Your point is a really good one to address, thank you! We try to have the garage door use take place
only during mid-day use. We hope you are able to come back when little one is older (or dare we say)
for some couple time another time! Thanks again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Stay
Constance W. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2013
Loved the Writer's Retreat. Clean, quiet, lovely and close to everything. Will stay there again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect location.
A guest from Oregon City, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013
Relaxing great time.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Karen:

Glad the vacation was relaxing and great. Hope to see you on the next visit!!
BDVR
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect Little Hideaway!!
Todd & Cynthia G. from Richfeild, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013
The right place...the right price...perfect for everything we needed.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved it!
Nicole D. from Los Osos, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2013
We LOVED the Writer's Retreat. It was so clean, modern and comfortable. I only have one complaint; we were unable to use the wifi in the property. Upon arriving and discovering that the password provided would not work I called Bend Dutch Rentals and left a message. My call was returned right away and I was told that they would call the property owner. I never heard back and the wifi never worked. Even considering this issue I would still go back!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Nicole:
Thank you for the review and my sincerest apologies in regads to the wifi. We did contact the owner and it was my understanding
from him that it was working. A 2nd call should have been made to you most definitly, I am sorry that did not occur. We appreciate
your generosity in understanding. Sincerely.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great stay
A guest from Napa, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in July, 2013
It was exactly what was described, and we really enjoyed the whole experience.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Thank you for the review and are very happy you enjoyed your visit!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved the space!!
Andrea K. from Bainbridge island, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 5 days in July, 2013
Love the writers retreat!! We will be back again next summer!! Thanks for a great week!!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Andrea: We love it too!! We are looking forward to seeing you next year. Enjoy the balance of summer. BDVR staff.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great for a short Getaway
Jessica M. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2013
Small but comfy this loft was charming and quiet. I found it a little strange that the only television in the loft was in the bedroom. Lots of peace and quiet; LOTS OF BOOKS

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Jessica:
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The owner originally wanted the
"Writers" to be just that, a place for words to be created and read.
A vacation needs some TV, so they added the TV in the closet cable
access via the bedroom. Thank you for your understanding here.
We are hoping to see you again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location!
A guest from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2013
Nice location, clean property, lots of parking, all the amenities you would need. One complaint would be when the garage door would open/close right under your feet...pretty hard to sleep through that!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Can't wait to stay here again!
Lucy O. from Loveland, Colorado recommends this property.
Stayed for 7 days in June, 2013
We loved staying in the Writer Retreat! It was just perfect,such a relaxing environment and so close to everything; we hardly used our rental car. The artwork and books were wonderful! We will most certainly book our next stay in Bend here.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Lucy:
We are here for you. You picked a great spot and there are more if Writer's is booked.
Thank you!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Bend Vacation for 2
Tom O. from novato, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 8 days in June, 2013
Close to downtown Bend, Wall Street, several brew pubs, and a good base for hikes in and around town. Quiet location. Small place, but worked fine for just us 2.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Tom:
We are delighted you enjoyed the WR. I wish we had
many spots like tihs one. It is the ultimate little treasure.
Please come back and visit it again!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

writer's loft, downtown bend
Reviewed by: Brittany C. recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2013
Our stay was awesome! Super cute, clean little loft, perfect for two people. Within walking distance to everything downtown. Private, quiet, lots of books. I will definitely rent this place again. Adorable.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Brittany:
Come back very soon, we loved having you visit the WR. Isn't it
just the perfect lcocation and spot!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome place
Scott L. from Yakima, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in May, 2013
Perfect for a couple getaway

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Scott:Thank you for your review. We hope you return to the Writer's Retreat on your next visit! BDVR
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awesome place!!
Lindsey D. from Irvine, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in May, 2013
This was a great place to stay. We had a lovely time and the place was located in walking distance to the breweries, downtown, riverwalk, and coffee shops. Our toddler loved the place too.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Lindsey:Thanks very much for your review and for staying wth us. We hope to see you again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Luke warm recommendation w/ caveat
A guest from Spring Valley, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in May, 2013
The unit and location are fine, but there are 3 problems, that if fixed, would yield 5 stars:1. Remove the large painting and put TV in living room where all can easily enjoy. (Painting does not work in that small unit.)2. Upgrade garage door opener/closer to silent type. Current opener causes one to jump, startled, out of one's seat/bed.3. Relo the trash cans - smell was wafting into unit by Thurs.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

My fine Mother's Day mini-vacation!
Lynette H. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in May, 2013
My two 3o-something sons and I had a great time in and around Bend. The Writer's Retreat provided us with a great place of rest and relaxation after we had driven down from Portland on Friday, walked all over the Lava Butte Cinder Cone and the Trail of the Molten Land and then rode in the car over to Mt. Bachelor on Saturday. We slept so well that you'd have thought we were at home! And on Sunday, the day we left, we had plenty of energy for a nice walk around parts of Smith Rock State Park. Oh, and by the way, positively the best place to eat breakfast on the weekends in Bend is Brother Jon's Public House on NW Galveston--not too far at all from The Writer's Retreat. We liked it so much on Saturday that we returned on Sunday. Both days our breakfast at around 9:30 a.m. kept us going for hours and hours. Thanks, Bend Dutch Rentals!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Dear Lynettee:What a prefect weekend and description of all things Bend. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, excursions and the great food from BrotherJon's.Please come see us next time. BDVR
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Mostly Good
A guest from Salem, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2013
Pros: Clean, good location, fair value, nice shower & tub, okay bed.Cons: Freezer door comes off in your hands when opened, freezer not de-iced; no stove, just hotplate, toaster oven & microwave; above garage, noisy when garage door opened & closed; no window shades except bed & bathrooms; bedroom heats up during the day and slow to cool down at night w/ no instructions for using thermostat; wifi instructions were false.Would recommend this property but with mention of above.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Thanks for your review here as well.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great Stay!
Reviewed by: A guest recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in March, 2013
We had a great experience at the Writer's Retreat. Excellent central location in the city. Clean, modern, beautiful retreat. Will definitely visit again!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Thank you for your review, please do come back!! We would love to see you.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful Stay!
A guest from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in February, 2013
This was the perfect place for my wife and I. It was clean and easy walking distance to downtown.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
We are delighted you enjoyed staying us and at the wonderful Writer's Retreat. Please come back as you can.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Lovely
Emily S. from Portland, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in December, 2012
Perfect! Cheery and bright :)

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Emily:Thank you! We love this retreat too. Emily, come back and remember the 10% returndiscount. :)
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Perfect home for our Bend adventure
Aaron P. from Newport, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in November, 2012
The space was warm, inviting, clean and perfectly situated near downtown. We are a family of readers so the shelves of books made great company. Parking was easy. The neighborhood was quiet, a wonderful backdrop to long walks. We ate most of our meals at the condo and found the kitchen well stocked. We love Bend and will happily reserve The Writer's Retreat for our next adventure.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hello Aaron:We very much look forward to your return! We are so pleased you enjoyed the loft! Thank you for your review.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Writer's Retreat Stay
A guest from Oakland, CA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2012
Very spotless and quiet location. Nice to be in an old and established neighborhood that is within walking distance to downtown.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Thank you Maggie, we agree and enjoy the huge old Ponderosa and promximity to town. Cheerful spot!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Loved it!
Larissa B. from Kirkland, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in September, 2012
Even though I booked only a couple of days before our arrival, everything went very smoothly. The property was fantastic and made our first visit to Bend even better. We absolutely enjoyed the privacy and the feeling as though we had a home away from home. We will be back!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Larrisa:I am sorry you were not able to stay longer and do stay longer next time.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Writer's.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

A week in Bend
Tom R. from Denver, CO recommends this property.
Stayed for 6 days in September, 2012
I really liked the look and feel of the loft. The parking was convenient. The bed was comfortable. The kitchen had decent utensils and the location was great. On the downside the management company lacked followup skills and there could be some kind of shade/drape on the lower part of the windows.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Fantastic Place for a Couple
Scott W. from Louisville, Colorado recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in August, 2012
Just a wonderful centrally located place! We would definitely come back. Very good internet speed at 15mbps download. We can't comment on the TV as we never turned it on. A couple of suggestions: blinds in the kitchen would be nice for the late afternoon. A wall clock would also be good; there is not one as per your picture. I think there might be a slight leak around the sink water hose. One of the reastats in the living area buzzes when the lights are not on full power. On a humous note, your place is called the "Writers Retreat", but not a pen/pencil or paper can be found anywhere. We had a great time!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Scott:Thank you for such a helpful review, so noted; sink, buzzing rheostat, shade, wall clock. We have forwarded this onto the owner and maintenance. The owner, a twice published author uses her laptop and I guess we forget about the other things!! Smiling and added to the list. Delighted you enjoyed the stay. We look forward to your return!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Charming Loft!
Claire V. from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2012
The writer's retreat was extremely charming and I would definitely stay there again! And I hope to do so in the near future! Plenty of space for two people with lots of entertaining reading material on a variety of subjects. Very clean with comfortable bedding. Only complaints are fairly insignificant: - large spider in the doorway upon arrival (plus many cobwebs on the stairs up).- refrigerator was more like a freezer and froze everything solid (incl. food). - rental forms had a number of typos and grammatical errors. Plus, the papers stated that the security code would be provided after signed forms were returned, but it was provided right away. Oops. These are just little things from a nit-picky person. Otherwise, everything about the property was fantastic and I would highly recommend it to anyone!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Planning a return visit
A guest from Klamath Falls, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2012
It is a very cozy, clean and comfortable retreat. Both my husband and I were very happy with the rental and will be planning a return visit in the future.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
And we would love to have you come back any time! Thank you for the stay and your time in the review!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Wonderful place.
A guest from SALEM, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in August, 2012
Lovely. Clean. Beautifully decorated, and thoughtfully stocked.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hello Kim:Thank you for the review. Writer's Retreat is wonderful!! Please visit it again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Writer's Retreat
Patrick P. from Amerst, MA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in July, 2012
Fabulous!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Thank you Patrick, we love the "Wrtier's Retreat" as well. Please come back!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

2 days in Bend
A guest from Tualatin, OR recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in July, 2012
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Writer's Retreat. Our only complaint is that we prefer a firmer mattress. We never sleep well in a queen. We knew it was a queen bed so this was not a surprise. A firmer mattress would have helped. The location and the place was very cute. We would come again and stay.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Thank you Joanne for your review. Sorry about the mattress, some folks love the softer ~ others not. When you are used to a King, it 's a challenge!! Please do come back again.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Excellent
A guest from Meridian, Idaho recommends this property.
Stayed for 4 days in July, 2012
Clean, well decorated, easy walk to downtown, park and river.The best place we've stayed at in Bend.

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Thank you John, please keep coming and staying @ the Writer's retreat!!
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Awkward and Overpriced
A guest from Portland, OR does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2012
Our experience was a little sullied on the first night when the permanent residents of the main house (the Writers Retreat is a mother-in-law over the garage) decided that 11 pm was a good time to hammer on a project directly under the sleeping quarters. The management was available by phone and very apologetic, but there was little else they could do (maybe they could have refunded a night?). The close proximity to the main house with minimal window/glass door coverings added to the awkwardness. We always felt like we were in another person's space when coming and going. For the premium price ($140/nt with cleaning/taxes) we did expect more cable channels, a dvd player that didn't sound like a 747 about to take off, and a clear sense of privacy. It should really be called the "Reader's Retreat" as it is filled with books and family photos but there was not even a single pen to be found. We were able to walk into town, but we like exercise. There are multiple busy roads to cross in the process, not all with sidewalks. The kitchen seemed well stocked, although we didn't use it at all. Definitely would not stay here again, and unlikely to use Bend Dutch rentals either as our only request of them was to confirm receipt of paperwork, which we did not get.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Reader's Retreat
A guest from Tucson, AZ does not recommend this property.
Stayed for 3 days in June, 2012
I enjoyed looking through many of the books in the space. Got some great ideas for books I'd like to spend more time with.One of the reasons people use a vacation rental is so they can make some meals in the space. The Writer's Retreat did not have the equipment and appliances to do that.The window situation is silly. Why no shades when the space is visible from three sides? When the afternoon sun shines in, it fries and blinds your renters. And asking renters to install the window screens when they'd like to open a window is asking for someone to damage a window or screen. Install the screens so renters can use the windows in the beautiful Bend weather.Thanks,

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hello Derek: I am sorry you found the Writer's Retreat to not be what you had wanted. We do go into detail about what the ktichen had and does not have??The window screens are a good point and I will pass it onto the owners. Thanks very much for takng the time to provide input.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

review
Reviewed by: Troy P. recommends this property.
Stayed for 2 days in June, 2012
good
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

Great location for a getaway in beautiful Bend!
Laurie D. from Ridgefield, WA recommends this property.
Stayed for 3 days in March, 2012
Such an interesting place. Loved all the books! The bed and linens were of good quality and very comfortable. Loved the location. Only thing I would add is it would be wonderful to have a deck, hot tub, and some salt & pepper since it had a kitchenette. Another plus would be a coffee grinder. Lots of light, nice blackening shades in the bedroom. We would do it again but will take salt and pepper and a coffee grinder. Lovely! Thank you!

Property Manager Response:
Response from Bend Dutch Vacation Rentals
Hi Laurie:Thank you for the review. Thank you for the heads up on the salt & pepper, we usually have it there. Coffee grinder is smart and I'll get the suggestions to our owner. Please do come back.Very sincerely.
 
Overall Satisfacation
show detailed scores

 

This map is intended to be used as a reference only. Please confirm the exact location with the property owner or manager.
 
email friend print listing
Contact Manager or Book Online

   Check Rates and Book Online: (how?)
Select your travel dates and number of guests, then click Check Rates & Book it. We will confirm availability and provide a final rate quote. You will have the option to book this property online.
Arrival Departure Adults (18+) Child (<18)
 

   Email Inquiry:
Please complete all the required fields before submitting your inquiry. The property lister, property manager or owner will contact you directly after receiving your inquiry.

Your email address is requested twice to avoid typing errors.

Information in Red is required.

By completing and submitting the information on this form you are agreeing to share this information with the property lister, property manager and owner and to the storage of this information for use by the property lister, property manager and owner.


First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Email (verify):
Home Phone:
Work Phone:
Mobile Phone:
Desired Arrival Date:
Desired Departure Date:
Number of Adults (18+):
Number Children (<18):
Additional Message:
(limit of 250 characters)
Verification Letters:
Please enter the verification letters from the image above.
Please email me a copy of this inquiry for reference.
Please save my inquiry information until I leave this site so I will not have to enter it again.
Please include me on periodic email newsletters & special offers. Always short and sweet, always deals.
 

More Getaway Locations and Properties